has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

LPG Sales Collective, Late-Fall Drop-ins

more
Titles per page
  • 1
    catalogue cover
    Under a Kabul Sky Short Fiction by Afghan Women Elaine Kennedy Canada
    9781771339155 Paperback FICTION / Short Stories Publication Date:January 21, 2022
    $22.95 CAD 5.5 x 8.25 x 0.69 in | 350 gr | 128 pages Carton Quantity:58 Canadian Rights: Y Inanna Poetry & Fiction Series
    • Marketing Copy

      Description

      Finalist, International Book Award for Multicultural Fiction.

      These twelve short stories dive deep into imaginary worlds where everyday life is marked and marred by war. They speak of wounded love, captured women, confinement, talismans, borders, wolves. They give expression to the voices of Afghan women who would like to change the fate of people like Nâzboo, Khorshid, Hamid and so many others.

      Originally published by Éditions Le Soupirail in 2019, this collection was the first volume of short stories by Afghan women to appear in France. This edition from Inanna Publications brings these stories-and their unique perspectives-to English-speaking readers for the first time. The collection includes stories by Wasima Badghisi, Batool Haidari, Alia Ataee, Sedighe Kazemi, Khaleda Khorsand, Masouma Kawsari, Mariam Mahboob, Toorpekai Qayum, Manizha Bakhtari, Homeira Qaderi, Parween Pazhwak and Homayra Rafat.

      Bio

      A native of Toronto now living in Victoria, Elaine Kennedy studied English literature, French language and civilization, as well as translation in North America and Europe. She has worked as a translator and editor in numerous fields. Today, she focuses on literary translation.

      Marketing & Promotion
    • Awards & Reviews

      Awards
      Reviews

      "When you finish Under a Kabul Sky, you're haunted by the spellbinding sound of the wounded voices of these Afghan women."
      -Guillaume Richez, Les Imposteurs

  • 2
    catalogue cover
    Modern Home Winemaking A Guide to Making Consistently Great Wines Daniel Pambianchi Canada
    9781550655933 Hardcover COOKING / Beverages Publication Date:November 26, 2021
    $59.95 CAD 6 x 9 x 0 in | 0.4 lb | 600 pages Carton Quantity:14 Canadian Rights: Y Vehicule Press
    • Marketing Copy

      Description

      Modern Home Winemaking describes the process of making flawless wine, consistently, from crush to bottle, using modern techniques and the latest products. Making wine is not only about fermenting juice into wine; this book details the many other processes involved in making outstanding wine--wines that will win medals at competitions.

      Bio

      Daniel Pambianchi is a well-known winemaking author, lecturer, consultant, and seasoned winemaker, both as an amateur and professional, having owned and operated a small commercial winery in Niagara Wine Country in Ontario, Canada. His bestselling book Techniques in Home Winemaking has become the go-to reference textbook by advanced amateurs and small-winery operators alike. His area of expertise is wine chemistry, in which he performs extensive studies in his wine analysis lab. He is a member of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture.

      Marketing & Promotion
  • 3
    catalogue cover
    Brine Mallory Amirault
    9781927886526 Paperback POETRY / Canadian Publication Date:December 06, 2021
    $17.00 CAD 5.2 x 8.5 x 0.6 in | 140 gr | 104 pages Carton Quantity:100 Canadian Rights: Y ARP Books
    • Marketing Copy

      Description
      Mallory Amirault's debut collection Brine is an ambitious land-metaphor; merging history and imagination, it's a work of poetry that doubles as a prose novel. Subtly unfolding character-led intimacies, it acts as an interruption to long-standing Maritime coloniality. Amirault describes Brine as an aboiteau at the shoreline of a colonial event. Engaging the elemental and political act of arriving and departing, the story is a mechanism that slowly removes salt from the Maritimes, and points to say ?wound.?
      Bio
      Born in Nova Scotia, Mi?kma?ki, Mallory Amirault is an artist whose Acadian and Mi?kmaq heritage belongs to the Kespukwitk district of Yarmouth, otherwise known as the lobster's ass when referring to the province. Their artistic practice engages in critical poetics, literary performance, and humour. As a person enmeshed in the legacy of colonization and cultural diaspora in the Maritimes, they think, read and write about the idiosyncrasies of belonging and identity, and memory as a palimpsest. They currently live alongside the Halfway River, a tributary that flows into the Minas Basin, an inlet of the Bay of Fundy.
      Marketing & Promotion
  • 4
    catalogue cover
    Go Down Odawa Way Daniel Lockhart Canada
    9781928120315 Paperback POETRY / Canadian Publication Date:December 31, 2021
    $17.95 CAD 5.5 x 8.5 x 0.5 in | 1 lb | 76 pages Carton Quantity:5 Canadian Rights: Y Kegedonce Press
    • Marketing Copy

      Description

      Go Down Odawa Way is a poetry collection that explores the physical, historical, and cultural spaces that make up the southwestern traditional territory of the Three Fires Confederacy. This is the region currently inhabited by southwestern Ontario and southeastern Michigan. Individual poems and sections of this collection explore the documented villages, history, and mythologies of the Odawa, Ojibway, Huron/Wendat, and Pottawatomi nations that were lost to the process of colonization and relocation. The project speaks to the history of the region that predates contemporary Canadian and American borders and namings as well as carves out a history that extends back past the mere couple of centuries of European colonization. The narrative focal point of the pieces find their roots in the traditional Lenape vantage point of the author and seeks to draw on the experiences of a modern day urban Indian in connection with the manner that land has changed with non-Indigenous settlement and those that inhabit it.

      Bio

      D.A. Lockhart is the author of seven collections of poetry, including Devil in the Woods (Brick Books 2019) and Tukhone: Where the River Narrows and the Shores Bend (Black Moss Press 2020). His work has appeared in Best Canadian Poetry in English 2019, TriQuarterly, ARC Poetry Magazine, Grain, Belt, and the Malahat Review among many. He is a Turtle Clan member of Eelünaapéewi Lahkéewiit (Lenape), a registered member of the Moravian of the Thames First Nation, and currently resides at the south shore of Waawiiyaatanong (Windsor,ON-Detroit, MI) and Pelee Island.

      Marketing & Promotion
  • 5
    catalogue cover
    These are the Stories Memories of a 60s Scoop Survivor Christine Smith Canada
    9781928120278 Paperback BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional Publication Date:December 31, 2021
    $22.00 CAD 5.5 x 8.5 x 0.75 in | 1 lb | 170 pages Carton Quantity:15 Canadian Rights: Y Kegedonce Press
    • Marketing Copy

      Description

      These are the Stories is a memoir presented in short chapters, comprising the life of a survivor of the Sixties Scoop. Christine Miskonoodinkwe Smith reveals her experiences in the child welfare system and her journey towards healing in various stages of her life. As an adult, she was able to reconnect with her birth mother. Though her mother passed shortly afterwards, that reconnection allowed the author to finally feel "complete, whole, and home." The memoir details some of the author's travels across Canada as she eventually made a connection with the Peguis First Nation in Manitoba.
      A memoir in the vein of Colleen Hele Cardinal's Raised Somewhere Else and Alicia Elliot's A Mind Spread Out On the Ground, These are the Stories is an inspirational and courageous telling of a life story.

      Bio

      Christine Miskonoodinkwe Smith is a Saulteaux woman from Peguis First Nation. She is an editor, writer and journalist who graduated from the University of Toronto with a specialization in Aboriginal Studies in June 2011 and went on to receive her Master's in Education in Social Justice in June 2017. Her first non-fiction story "Choosing the Path to Healing" appeared in the 2006 anthology Growing Up Girl: An Anthology of Voices from Marginalized Spaces. She has written for the Native Canadian, Anishinabek News, Windspeaker, FNH Magazine, New Tribe Magazine, Muskrat Magazine and the Piker Press. She has also co-edited the anthology Bawaajigan with fellow Indigenous writer Nathan Niigan Noodin Adler.

      Marketing & Promotion
  • 6
    catalogue cover
    Series: Conundrum25
    Maladies Henriette Valium Canada
    9781772620726 Paperback COMICS & GRAPHIC NOVELS / Horror Publication Date:December 15, 2021
    $10.00 CAD 4.25 x 6.25 x 0.5 in | 0.2 lb | 140 pages Carton Quantity:40 Canadian Rights: Y Conundrum Press
    • Marketing Copy

      Description

      Mysterious maladies and dubious doctors.

      The head sickness. The super swelling syndrome. The hallucinating hand. These are among the disturbing diseases readers will discover in Henriette Valium's Maladies. Perhaps more concerning, however, are the cures.

      Absurd and grotesque, Maladies is a tour through an impossibly monstrous landscape of disease, with Valium at the wheel. It perfectly encapsulates Valium's longstanding fascination with the human body, as well as society's cultural quirks and taboos.

      Maladies is a graphzine published in France in 1994, now available in English for the first time. Pairing blunt observations with surrealist line drawings, this offering by one of Quebec's most notorious underground comic artists will truly bend the mind.

      Bio

      Legendary underground cartoonist Henriette Valium has been active in the francophone comics scene for decades. His first book in English was The Palace of Champions from Conundrum Press.

      Marketing & Promotion
    • Awards & Reviews

      Awards
      Doug Wright Award: Pigskin 2017, Winner
      Reviews

      The Palace of Champions is a eyeball expanding, mind-dripping explosion of color and line, surrealism, and sardonic humor. Excellent, and highly recommended.-John Porcellino

Select a Market


Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.