Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

BLACK - Viking

The Punishment She Deserves
A Lynley Novel
By (author): Elizabeth George
9780525954347 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General Mar 20, 2018
$37.00 CAD
Active 6.5 x 9.5 x 2.06 in 704 pages Viking
Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley are forced to confront the past as they try to solve a crime that threatens to tear apart the very fabric of a quiet, historic medieval town in England

The cozy, bucolic town of Ludlow is stunned when one of its most revered and respected citizens—Ian Druitt, the local deacon—is accused of a serious crime. Then, while in police custody, Ian is found dead. Did he kill himself? Or was he murdered?

When Barbara Havers is sent to Ludlow to investigate the chain of events that led to Ian’s death, all the evidence points to suicide. But Barbara can’t shake the feeling that she’s missing something. She decides to take a closer look at the seemingly ordinary inhabitants of Ludlow—mainly elderly retirees and college students—and discovers that almost everyone in town has something to hide.

A masterful work of suspense, The Punishment She Deserves sets Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Inspector Thomas Lynley against one of their most intricate cases. Fans of the longtime series will love the many characters from Elizabeth George’s previous novels who join Lynley and Havers, and readers new to the series will quickly see why she is one of the most popular and critically acclaimed writers of our time. Both a page-turner and a deeply complex story about the lies we tell, the lies we believe, and the redemption we need, this novel will be remembered as one of George’s best.

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER: Elizabeth George has been a fixture on bestseller lists for nearly two decades and has sold millions of books.

BBC AND PBS: Many fans of Elizabeth George came to the books through the joint PBS and BBC television series that ran from 2001 to 2008, featuring Inspector Lynley and his partner, Barbara Havers.

MAJOR PRE-ORDERS: Because Elizabeth George does not write a book every year, her loyal fans flock to the first week on sale—she always has big pre-orders and a strong first week sale.

Elizabeth George is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty psychological suspense novels, four young adult novels, one book of nonfiction, and two short-story collections. Her work has been honored with the Anthony and Agatha awards, two Edgar nominations, and both France’s and Germany’s first prize for crime fiction, as well as several other prestigious prizes. She lives in Washington State.

Marketing: Online advertising

Social media and online promotion

Library promotions / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

Publicity: Author tour

Print and online reviews and features

Radio Interviews

Author Website:

Author Social Media: Facebook: /AuthorElizabethGeorge | Twitter: @LynleyMysteries | Instagram: @EGpix

Praise for Elizabeth George:

“[George] is an essential writer of popular fiction today.”—The Washington Post

“[George is] one of the reigning queens of the genre.”—Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

“Elizabeth George is a superstar of the crime-fiction world.”—The Seattle Times

“It’s tough to resist the pull of [George’s] storytelling once hooked.”—USA Today

“Ms. George can do it all, with style to spare.”—The Wall Street Journal

“[Lynley is] one of the great character portraits in contemporary crime fiction.”—The Boston Globe


Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field

Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.