Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan

  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Raincoast Book Distribution Limited Supplies to: CA Availability: Not yet available Expected Ship Date: Nov 28, 2017 On Sale Date: Nov 28, 2017 Carton Quantity: 24 $20.99 CAD
Weave a Circle Round
A Novel
By (author): Kari Maaren
9780765386281 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Fantasy / Contemporary Nov 28, 2017
$20.99 CAD
Forthcoming 5.5 x 8.25 x 0.01 in 368 pages Tor/Forge Tor Books

Discover your inner child once again in this debut fantasy adventure for fans of Madeleine L'Engle, Diana Wynne Jones, and E. L. Konigsburg.


When the unexpected moves in next door, anything can happen inWeave a Circle Round, Kari Maaren's debut in this YA-friendly fantasy adventure.

Freddy doesn’t want people to think she’s weird. Her family makes that difficult, though: her deaf stepbrother Roland’s a major geek, and her genius little sister Mel’s training to be the next Sherlock Holmes. All Freddy wants is to survive high school.

Then two extremely odd neighbors move in next door.

Cuerva Lachance and Josiah definitely aren't normal. Neither is their house, which defies the laws of physics. Neither is Freddy’s situation, when she suddenly finds herself stuck thousands of years in the past with her very, very weird neighbors. And that’s only the beginning.



“I adored this brilliant book from start to finish. It left me reeling with delight and I can't wait for the rest of the world to get as lost in its pages as I was.” —Charles de Lint

“I'd have loved this book when I was twelve, and I love it now.” —Nebula, Hugo, and World Fantasy-Award winning author Jo Walton

KARI MAAREN is a Toronto-area writer, award-winning musician and cartoonist, and academic. She created the webcomicsWest of Bathurst andIt Never Rains, and is also known as a musician for her popular song "Beowulf Pulled Off My Arm."Weave a Circle Round is her first novel.

"Plans: - National advertising targeting fantasy readers - Digital publicity campaign to include outreach to BookTubers & Bookstagrammers, podcasts & blog tour - Review Attention - Digital promotion; incl. sweepstakes"

“Kari Maaren'sWeave a Circle Round is deeply engaging, wildly imaginative, and frequently mindbending. Its central mystery grows ever more perplexing as the book hurtles toward its remarkable climax, with final pages that will have readers turning back to the beginning to see how the author has indeed woven her enchanted circle.” —Bruce Coville

“I adored this brilliant book from start to finish. It left me reeling with delight and I can't wait for the rest of the world to get as lost in its pages as I was.” —Charles de Lint

“Wonderful characters, masterful control of material and a refreshingly different kind of plot. I'd have loved this book when I was twelve, and I love it now.” —Nebula, Hugo, and World Fantasy-Award winning author Jo Walton

“Reminiscent of Diana Wynne Jones, what starts out as the simple tale of some wacky neighbors soon takes a far more epic turn, as Maaren leads you deep into the heart of her own fascinating mythology. Maaren understands the power of stories—and the danger of them, too.”—Marie Brennan, World Fantasy Award finalist of The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

“Kari Maaren'sWeave a Circle Round is a delightful debut sure to enchant young adults and older ones who appreciate their literature. It rings many of the same chimes asThe Phantom Tollbooth andA Wrinkle in Time, with a few notes charmingly reminiscent of Monty Python, while singing its own intriguing song. Maaren demonstrates impressive respect for both her characters and her readers, weaving challenging concepts (Kublai Khan?!] into accessible, fun dialogue and narration. I found myself feeling the same excitement I first experienced upon reading time-travel tales long ago, which is a magical thing indeed.” —Elizabeth Haydon, author of The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme series

“Weave a Circle Round is a marvelous, brainy romp throughhistory and myth. This is a true puzzle-box of a story, as fun to solve as itis to read.” —Sarah Henstra, author ofMad Miss Mimic

“InWeave a Circle Round, fourteen year old Freddy Duchamp is sent hurtling through human history, caught in time with a boy she barely knows and cannot trust. How can she find out who Josiah is, what he's hiding, and whether he poses a threat to her family? She can't even get back to the twenty-first century and her horribly boring high school English class! Kari Maaren's witty, cliche-skewering debut novel is a vivid picture of a blended family in turmoil, an intricate temporal puzzle box, and a grand adventure.” —A.M. Dellamonica, author of The Nature of a Pirate

“Congratulations, dear reader - you've just rolled a 2o!Weave A Circle Round is a trope-defying, endlessly entertaining romp. Maaren's wry sense of humour and crisp prose make this refreshing tale of destinies gone haywire an absolute must-read.” —Charlene Challenger, author ofThe Myth in the Distance

Weave a Circle Round draws the reader down a crooked pathway full of sharp turns and daunting obstacles. The thought-provoking story engages both heart and mind as we live every challenge with Freddy and her unusual companions. A real box of surprises, this novel deserves to become a YA classic.” —Juliet Marillier, Aurealis-Award winning author of the Sevenwaters series

“Impossible sand, unfinished poems, Vikings, borks, dangerous deities, grade 9: Freddy Duchamp encounters all of these and more in the headlong adventure that isThe House on Grosvenor Street.In Freddy, Kari Maaren has created an unforgettable, totally unique character: wry and scared, lonely and stubborn, angry and hopeful--but above all, determined to solve the mysteries she stumbles over, again and again, as she flits through time. The biggest mystery of them all is how she fits in--and the solution is as surprising as it is satisfying. This is a wonderful debut novel. I can't wait for Maaren's next." —Caitlin Sweet, authorThe Door in the Mountain

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.

Book Title
contibutor | format | ean

My Notes
Shared Notes

Add a note