Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan

  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Raincoast Book Distribution Limited Supplies to: CA Availability: Not yet available Expected Ship Date: Mar 16, 2018 On Sale Date: Mar 06, 2018 Carton Quantity: 20 $33.99 CAD
Girls Burn Brighter
A Novel
By (author): Shobha Rao
9781250074256 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Literary Mar 06, 2018
$33.99 CAD
Active 6.12 x 9.25 x 1.1 in 320 pages • AFP: 50000 Flatiron Books

“A definite must-read for readers who love authors like Nadia Hashimi and Khaled Hosseini...”—Bustle

“Rao’s novel should be a treat for Ferrante fans, exploring the bonds of friendship and how female ambition beats against the strictures of poverty and patriarchal societies.”—The Huffington Post

A searing, electrifying debut novel, for readers of Rupi Kaur, about the extraordinary bond between two girls driven apart by circumstance but relentless in their search for one another.

Poornima and Savitha have three strikes against them: they are poor, they are ambitious, and they are girls. After her mother’s death, Poornima has very little kindness in her life. She is left to care for her siblings until her father can find her a suitable match. So when Savitha enters their household, Poornima is intrigued by the joyful, independent-minded girl. Suddenly their Indian village doesn't feel quite so claustrophobic, and Poornima begins to imagine a life beyond arranged marriage. But when a devastating act of cruelty drives Savitha away, Poornima leaves behind everything she has ever known to find her friend.

Her journey takes her into the darkest corners of India's underworld, on a harrowing cross-continental journey, and eventually to an apartment complex in Seattle. Alternating between the girls’ perspectives as they face ruthless obstacles,Girls Burn Brighterintroduces two heroines who never lose the hope that burns within.

Shobha Rao moved to the United States from India at the age of seven. She is the author of the short story collectionAn Unrestored Woman. She is the winner of the Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Fiction, and her story "Kavitha and Mustafa" was chosen by T. C. Boyle for inclusion inBest American Short Stories 2015. She lives in San Francisco.

"Major early reader review campaign ARC giveaways online (Goodreads, social media, online reading group sites) WhiteBox Mailing Landing page designed Discussion guide available for download Flatiron/Macmillan newsletter promotions Book club outreach Library marketing campaign Digital trade and consumer advertising National and Regional NPR outreach Massive review attention, print and online Local author events, West Coast tour National print feature interview Regional eBlasts to Bookseller Associations Reading Group Coordinator Mailing"

LibraryReads March 2018
PopSugar: 31 of the Best New Books You Should Read This Spring
Goodreads: 23 Highly Anticipated Books of 2018
Bustle: 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books of 2018 To Get You Pumped for a New Year of Reading
The Huffington Post: 60 Books We Can’t Wait To Read in 2018
Cosmopolitan: 33 Books to Get Excited About in 2018
The Chicago Review of Books: The Most Anticipated Fiction Books of 2018
Levo: 21 Fiction Books by Female Authors for Your 2018 Reading List
Brit + Co: 16 of the Most Anticipated Books of 2018
Ms. Magazine’s Bookmarks: Feminist Reads for Winter
Seattle Post-Intelligencer: Fiction To Watch For In 2018
Literary Hoarders: Winter 2018 Most Anticipated
BookRiot: 10 March New Releases to Put on Hold at the Library Right Now
BookRiot: 101 Books Coming Out in 2018 That You Should Mark Down Now
Blog Critics: Fiction to Watch for in 2018
My Novel Life: Best Books for 2018

“This novel burnt up my weekend. With beautiful language, warm friendships, and vivid images, once I started reading I could not stop. It’s a story of struggle and survival. Female friendship is the lifeline.” —Claire Cameron, author ofThe Bear andThe Last Neanderthal

Girls Burn Brighter by Shobha Rao blew my heart up. Heart-shards everywhere. I am in awe of the warmth and humanity in this book, even as it explores some incredibly dark places. I’m going to be thinking aboutGirls Burn Brighter for a while, and you’re going to be hearing a lot about it.”—Charlie Jane Anders, author ofAll the Birds in the Sky

“Enchanting… The resplendent prose captures the nuances and intensity of two best friends on the brink of an uncertain and precarious adulthood… An incisive study of a friendship’s unbreakable bond.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This powerful, heart-wrenching novel and its two unforgettable heroines offer an extraordinary example of the strength that can be summoned in even the most terrible situations.”Booklist, starred review

“Highly recommended for book discussion groups, this tale of sacrifice, exploitation, and reclamation is not to be missed.”Library Journal, starred review

“Stirring…affecting…The narrative’s thematic consistency and emotional urgency will pull readers along.” —Publishers Weekly

“A confident debut novel set in India and America about the unbreakable bond between two girls. From the menacing nooks of India's underworld to the streets of Seattle, this searing novel traces the nuances of adulthood and the enduring power of childhood bonds.”The Chicago Review of Books

“Rao layers her debut novel with issues that face many young women worldwide, from street harassment and domestic abuse to oppressive societal norms.”—Ms. Magazine

“This debut novel is the perfect read for fans of Rupi Kaur.”—Brit + Co

“An unbelievably beautiful and harrowing story of friendship and devotion.” —BookRiot

“Magnificent and heart-wrenching…. Readers of Rao’s vital, vibrant novel will not soon forget these two strong, driven young women.” —BookPage

“A beautiful testament to female friendship.” —PopSugar

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.