Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Random House Publishing Group

  • Other Formats

    9780345527257 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $22 CAD 9781524798710 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $22 CAD 9780679605133 Electronic book text, EPUB 9781524783037 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $37 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: ROW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Nov 21, 2017 Carton Quantity: 12
The Story of Arthur Truluv
A Novel
By (author): Elizabeth Berg
9781400069903 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Contemporary Women Nov 21, 2017
$35.00 CAD
Active 5.7 x 8.51 x 0.93 in 240 pages Random House
A life-affirming novel about love, loss, and second chances.

Every day at lunchtime, Arthur visits and talks to his beloved late wife, in his imagination. Then a surprising encounter changes his life. Arthur meets Maddy, a troubled teenager who is avoiding school and wrestling with loneliness and feelings of abandonment. Moved by Arthur’s kindness and his unwillingness to take her teenage bait, Maddy gives him the nickname “Truluv”—and a surprising friendship develops between the two. When Arthur’s nosey neighbor, Lucille, moves into their orbit, the three begin to help one another through heartache and hardships to rediscover a sense of family, and to find again their potential to start anew.

Story Locale: Mason, Missouri

ELIZABETH BERG is the author of many bestselling novels, including Open House, an Oprah’s Book Club selection, The Dream Lover, Talk Before Sleep, The Pull of the Moon, Tapestry of Fortunes, The Last Time I Saw You, Home Safe, The Year of Pleasures, and Dream When You’re Feeling Blue. Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year. Berg has been honored by the Boston Public Library and the Chicago Public Library and is a popular speaker at venues around the country. Her work has been translated into twenty-seven languages. She divides her time between Chicago and San Francisco.

Author Residence: Chicago, IL

Author Hometown: Saint Paul, Minnesota

Marketing: Pre-pub consumer outreach and review push

Online marketing outreach

Social media campaign

Targeted email marketing

Random House e-newsletters and websites

Major book club outreach

Library outreach

Holiday advertising



Publicity: National/local review and feature print attention

Online review and feature attention

Author tour: 3 markets



Author Website: www.elizabeth-berg.net

Author Social Media: www.facebook.com/bergbooks

“For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we’re all neighbors here.”Chicago Tribune

“Not since Paul Zindel’s classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should.”People, Book of the Week

“Charming . . . Truluv is a novel for these contentious times. We could all use a bit of Arthur’s ego-free understanding and forgiveness of fellow human beings. When the inevitable happens in this heartwarming novel, good luck convincing yourself that the lump in your throat is just a sympathy response to one of Gordon [the cat]’s hairballs.”USA Today

“I thoroughly enjoyed hanging out with these lovable people in [Elizabeth] Berg’s world of unabashed optimism. Sometimes that’s just what’s needed.”Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Berg is always good, but this novel is so, so good. I could not put it down. It’s so beautiful about people and life.”Publishers Weekly

“The sweet, sentimental tale of an elderly man and a teenager coming into each other’s lives at just the right moment . . . In the vein of Fannie Flagg, this life-affirming story is a definite choice for Berg’s many fans and anyone looking for a little break from the darker novels that have been so popular lately.”Library Journal

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”Booklist

“Elizabeth Berg’s characters jump right off the page and into your heart. I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg, author of The Whole Town’s Talking

“I don't know if I’ve ever read a more affecting book about the natural affinity between the young and the elderly than Elizabeth Berg’s The Story of Arthur Truluv. It makes the rest of us—strivers and preeners and malcontents—seem almost irrelevant.”—Richard Russo, author of Everybody’s Fool

“Elizabeth Berg reminds us of both the richness of any human life and the heart’s needed resilience.”—Jane Hirshfield, author of The Beauty: Poems

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.

Book Title
contibutor | format | ean

My Notes
Shared Notes

Add a note