Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan Picador Winter 2018

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Void Star
A Novel
By (author): Zachary Mason
9781250159410 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Apr 24, 2018 Print Run: 25000
$23.50 CAD
Active 5.63 x 8.81 x 1.03 in 400 pages Picador
 
San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year 2017, Long-listed New York Magazine Best Books of the Year 2017, Long-listed

A riveting, beautifully written, fugue-like novel of AIs, memory, violence, and mortality

Not far in the future the seas have risen and the central latitudes are emptying, but it’s still a good time to be rich in San Francisco, where weapons drones patrol the skies to keep out the multitudinous poor. Irina isn’t rich, not quite, but she does have an artificial memory that gives her perfect recall and lets her act as a medium between her various employers and their AIs, which are complex to the point of opacity. It’s a good gig, paying enough for the annual visits to the MayoClinic that keep her from aging.

Kern has no such access; he’s one of the many refugees in the sprawling drone-built favelas on the city’s periphery, where he lives like a monk, training relentlessly in martial arts, scraping by as a thief and an enforcer. Thales is from a different world entirely—the mathematically inclined scion of a Brazilian political clan, he’s fled to L.A. after the attack that left him crippled and his father dead.

A ragged stranger accosts Thales and demands to know how much he can remember. Kern flees for his life after robbing the wrong mark. Irina finds a secret in the reflection of a laptop’s screen in her employer’s eyeglasses. None are safe as they’re pushed together by subtle forces that stay just out of sight.

Vivid, tumultuous, and propulsive,Void Star is Zachary Mason’s mind-bending follow-up to his bestselling debut,The Lost Books of theOdyssey.

Zachary Mason is a computer scientist and the author of theNew York Times bestselling novelThe Lost Books of the Odyssey. He lives in California.

"National Print and Online Review Coverage Select Author Events Digital Marketing Online Advertising and Social Media Campaign Targeted Outreach to Literary and Sci-Fi sites Backlist Promotion"

[Zach Mason] writes with a mathematical precision that often crystallizes into lines of clean, poetic beauty."
—Sam Sacks,The Wall Street Journal

"Elegant...written with the syntactic precision you might expect from a linguist, a computer scientist, a mathematician. Or a person who is all three."
—Charley Locke,Wired

"Zachary Mason creates a world in which the line between human and computer is completely erased, yet he still manages to make the reader feel for all the characters—both man and machine—equally. Add that to a highly addictive plot and an exploration of memory’s impact on our identity, and you’ve got one of the most richly complex novels of the year."
—Chelsea Hassler,Newsweek

“Speculative fiction has long wrestled with . . . ethical quandaries, but rarely has it done so with the power of language and prescience found inVoid Star. Mason’s prose is prodigious in scope and exultant..."
—Hayden Robel,Zyzzyva

"Gorgeous . . . Reminiscent of the work of giants like Frank Herbert, Philip K. Dick, and William Gibson,Void Star is a towering, twisting, and oracular ziggurat. Mason carries on rich science fiction traditions while saturating readers in heady prose that they may not anticipate from this sort of novel. The prose is at once intoxicating, enchanting, and mournful."
—Paul Rowe,New England Review of Books

"Imaginative, intelligent vision of a future in which the machines we build take an unusual interest in us even as we seek to exploit them further . . . [Void Staris] a richly rewarding blend of noir thriller and sci-fi in the best tradition of Dick, Stephenson, and Delany."
Kirkus(starred review)

"Mason's follow-up toThe Lost Books of the Odyssey is a complex and spellbinding tale of a future where self-preservation, in every sense of the word, is a victory."
Library Journal(starred review)

"Code becomes flesh in Zachary Mason's sentences. He shows us the near future of technological experience, where death becomes a 'stillness in memory,' and God is a pattern of numbers. This is the best and most beautiful book about computers sinceNeuromancer."
Michael Clune, author ofGamelife: A Memoir

"Void Star is an extraordinary novel. The hallucinatory beauty of the prose is matched only by the book's velocity and mystery, and the story—of mortality, memory, and what it means to be human—holds all the force and power of mythology."
Emily St. John Mandel, author ofStation Eleven

"Zachary Mason’s magisterial new novel is a passionate immersion in science fiction, sure to delight even the most hardcore devotees of Samuel R. Delany, China Miéville,and Philip K. Dick. The greatest speculative writing intoxicates and terrifies us in equal measure with the visions it offers, and in thisVoid Star is no exception. A dazzling book."
—John Wray, author ofThe Lost Time Accidents

"Readers who enjoy Cormac McCarthy and China Miéville but wished they had had more influence from Neal Stephenson might find this book is just what they’re looking for."
—Dawn Kuczwara,Booklist

of 32

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.