Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2018 Trade

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Bay of Hope
Five Years in Newfoundland
By (author): David Ward
9781770413825 Paperback, Trade English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs Apr 17, 2018
$21.95 CAD
Active 5 x 7 x 0.6 in 264 pages ECW Press

A “come from away” exploring love, loneliness, and adventure in remote Newfoundland

Part memoir, part nature writing, part love story, Bay of Hope is an occasionally comical, often adversarial, and always emotional story about the five years ecologist David Ward lived in an isolated Newfoundland community; of how he ended up there, worked, survived the elements, and coped with loneliness and a lack of intimacy. But this book is also a story about David’s 78 McCallum, Newfoundland, neighbors, the unforgiving mountain and wilderness culture they call home, and why their government wishes they were dead.

Creative nonfiction written in the tradition of Farley Mowat’s Bay of Spirits, Ward’s memoir is also evocative of Michael Crummey’s poignant novel Sweetland and Annie Dillard’s Pulitzer Prize–winning Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. A book about how great adventure tales do not always have to include dramatic, never-attempted, death-defying feats, Bay of Hope shows us that a person can travel a million miles over the treacherous terrain within their hearts, as long as they’re courageous enough to make such an arduous trek.

While he has had many different jobs, and lived in a large number of places, David Ward currently considers himself a writer/teacher who resides on the Trent-Severn Waterway in Fenelon Falls, Ontario. Author of the award-winning and critically acclaimed The Lost 10 Point Night, David is a former recipient of the Charles E. Pascal Award for Excellence in Teaching.

“It's highly descriptive of life [in McCallum], the iconography of the place, and biographies of several of its inhabitants . . . [Ward is] marvellously curious about everything from freshly published books to unexplored highways.” — St. John’s Telegram

“It is obvious right from the opening paragraph that the author has deep feelings and respect for the people there as well as sincere empathy for them as they wrestle with the life-changing decision they have to make regarding ‘resettlement’. . . To say that I enjoyed reading the book is an understatement; I highly recommend it.” — The Northern Pen

“David Ward’s Bay of Hope is what many readers want in a book . . . a many-layered love story.” — The Telegram

of 29

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.