has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Ampersand Happy Camper

more
Be Prepared
By (author): Vera Brosgol Illustrated by: Vera Brosgol
Vera Brosgol ,

Illustrated by :

Vera Brosgol

ISBN:

9781626724440

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Paper over boards
Hardcover , Paper over boards
English

Audience:

Children/juvenile: Interest age, years 10 - 14
Apr 24, 2018
Print Run: 30000
$29.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.72in x 6.4 x 0.96 in | 650 gr

Page Count:

256 pages

Illustrations:

Color illustrations throughout
First Second
JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / General
 
Parents Magazine, Best Children's Books of the Year 2018, Long-listed Eisner Award Nominee 2019, Nominated NPR Best Book of the Year 2018, Long-listed Boston Globe Best Books of the Year 2018, Long-listed

"Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can’t stand it.” —Raina Telgemeier, author ofSmile

InBe Prepared, all Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novelAnya’s Ghost was published in 2011 by First Second and won Eisner, Cybils, and Harvey awards. Her picture bookLeave Me Alone!was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She was a storyboard artist at Laika for ten years, working on animated films includingCoraline andKubo and the Two Strings. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and actually really likes camping now.

ANew York Times Book Reiview Notable Children's Book of 2018
ABoston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018
Selected as the Best Graphic Novel of 2018 byParents Magazine

"Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can’t stand it.” —Raina Telgemeier, author ofSmile


"Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale’sReal Friends (2017), this will easily lodge a place in readers’ hearts, even as it has them rolling in the aisles."—Booklist,starred

"The story, both culturally specific and universal, is a welcome addition to the growing canon of comics tales by talented women cartoonists (Raina Telgemeier, Tillie Walden, Zeina Abirached, Cece Bell, and many others) based on their own lives."—Horn Book,starred

"The dialogue rings true, the pace is seamless, and the panel artwork, in woodsy browns and greens, conveys feelings with clean, assured lines. By turns sardonic, adorable, and noble, Vera is a beguiling hero who learns how to recognize who's really on her side."—Publishers Weekly,starred

"A gorgeous, emotional memoir worthy of any graphic novel collection."—School Library Journal,starred

"While the culturally specific references will particularly resonate with kids of Russian heritage, the larger story will strike chords with any kid who has ever struggled to find a place to belong."—Kirkus

"There’s no real villainy here, just the quotidian slings and arrows carelessly shot by kids more concerned with fun than empathy. That makes Vera a character with appeal to every tween who’s ever felt disappointed by peers—or by a fulfilled wish that didn’t live up to its bright, shiny promise."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

of 54

Also Available

Anya's Ghost Vera Brosgol 9781596437135 $33.99 CAD Jun 07, 2011

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.