has_publisher_logo

Advanced Search
 

Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

S18 Macmillan Highlights for Bookstores

more
The Rose Legacy
By (author): Jessica Day George
Jessica Day George

Imprint:

Bloomsbury Children's Books

ISBN:

9781599906478

Product Form:

Hardcover

Form detail:

Dust jacket
Hardcover , Dust jacket
English

Audience:

Juvenile: Age (years) 8 - 12
May 01, 2018
Print Run: 75000
$22.99 CAD
Active

Dimensions:

8.44in x 5.79 x 1.08 in | 450 gr

Page Count:

272 pages
Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury Children's Books
JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Horses

This sweeping, emotionally-resonant fantasy from beloved author Jessica Day George is perfect for fans of Princess Academy and Black Beauty.

When orphaned Anthea Cross-Thornley receives a letter from a long-lost uncle, she wonders if she will finally find a true home. But she is shocked to learn that her uncle secretly breeds horses--animals that have been forbidden in her kingdom for centuries. More alarming is Anthea’s strange ability to sense the horses' thoughts and feelings, an ancient gift called The Way. Confused and terrified, Anthea is desperate to leave, but when her family and kingdom are put at risk, can she embrace The Way and the exciting future it might bring her?

A Mighty Girl Best Book of the Year

JESSICA DAY GEORGE is the New York Times bestselling author of the Tuesdays at the Castle series, the Twelve Dancing Princesses series, and the Dragon Slippers trilogy. Originally from Idaho, she studied at Brigham Young University and worked as a librarian and bookseller before turning to writing full-time. She now lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband and their three young children.
www.jessicadaygeorge.com
@jessdaygeorge

"Will delight readers who love a classic-feeling fantasy, as well as those who absolutely love horses . . . This thought-provoking fantasy with relatable characters is clever and heartfelt." - Booklist

"Original and taut . . . A rich story with plenty of surprising plot twists and a strong undercurrent of female empowerment." - Kirkus Reviews

"This tale will speak to readers who feel like an outsider, as well as those who adore animals . . . Readers who love Shannon Hale’s fiction, Kristin Bailey’s middle grade stories, and Megan Shepherd’s The Secret Horses of Briar Hill will be captivated by this luminous start to a new series." - School Library Journal

"Horse-crazy fantasy fans will devour this title and be eager for more." - BCCB

"A fresh, original story that will warm hearts and entertain readers of all ages." - Jennifer A. Nielsen, New York Times bestselling author of The Ascendance Trilogy

"Set in a fascinating and fantastic new world, The Rose Legacy will make you long for a horse of your own!" - Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of THE GIRL WHO COULD NOT DREAM

"Lovely and engaging, this fantasy series continues to have wide appeal." - Booklist on THURSDAYS WITH THE CROWN

"Fans of the series will eagerly devour this latest installment." - SLJ on THURSDAYS WITH THE CROWN

"A sweet, funny, sincere story in which siblings work together." - Kirkus Reviews on WEDNESDAYS IN THE TOWER

"Castle Glower is the true star of this charming story of court intrigue and magic. A satisfying mix of Hogwarts and Howl’s Moving Castle." - School Library Journal on TUESDAYS AT THE CASTLE

"This enjoyable romp turns mischief into political action and a stone palace into a cunning character. . . . These kids are clever, as is George's adventure. May pique castle envy." - Kirkus Reviews on TUESDAYS AT THE CASTLE

of 488

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.