Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Fall 2018 Macmillan Mass Market Tor/Forge September

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
Dragon Prophecy Trilogy 2
Blade of Empire
Book Two of the Dragon Prophecy
By (author): Mercedes Lackey By (author): James Mallory
9780765363985 Paperback, Mass market English General Trade FICTION / Fantasy / Epic Aug 28, 2018 Print Run: 200000
$11.99 CAD
Active 4.23 x 6.98 x 1.37 in 512 pages Tor/Forge Tor Fantasy


They thought the war was over. They were wrong.

Runacarendalur Caerthalien has been a master of battle for hundreds of years, but he found himself on the wrong side—the losing side—in the last war. Betrayed by his brother, trapped in a prophecy he does not understand, Runacar flees the battlefield.

Yet Runacar is no coward. In a twist he could never have imagined, the Elven War-Prince finds himself leading a new army into battle—a force of centaurs, merfolk, gryphons, minotaurs, and talking bears who can perform magic. For centuries they have been trying to reclaim their lands from Elven invaders. With Runacar at the helm, they just might manage it.

Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory’s first collaboration, the Obsidian Mountain trilogy, introduced readers to a brilliant, continent-spanning fantasy world of high adventure and epic battle. Civilization shimmered with magic while in the nooks and crannies of the world, dragons and unicorns hid from people who believed them to be nothing more than legends.

The Dragon Prophecy, set thousands of years before that story, illuminates a time when long-lived Elves rule the Fortunate Lands. It is a time of dire prophecy, of battle and bloodshed, of great magics unlike any the Elvenkind have seen before. It is the story of the end of one world and the beginning of the next.

The Obsidian Mountain Trilogy
#1 The Outstretched Shadow
#2 To Light a Candle
#3 When Darkness Falls

The Enduring Flame Trilogy
#1 The Phoenix Unchained
#2 The Phoenix Endangered
#3 The Phoenix Transformed

The Dragon Prophecy Trilogy
#1 Crown of Vengeance
#2 Blade of Empire

Together, MERCEDES LACKEY and JAMES MALLORY have written theNew York TimesbestsellerThe Phoenix Transformed;To Light a Candle, aUSA Today bestseller; andWhen Darkness Falls, aNew York Timesbestseller, as well asCrown of Vengeanceand other novels. Lackey lives in Oklahoma. Mallory lives in Maryland.

Praise for the novels of Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

“The book strikes the right balance between the struggles of a young girl thought to be the ‘Child of the Prophecy’ and the epic mythology that leads her to embrace a queen’s destiny with Joan-of-Arc fervor.”—RT Book ReviewsonCrown of Vengeance

“Spectacular. A fascinating and complex world.”—BookLoons onThe Phoenix Transformed (aNew York Timesbestseller)

“As entertaining as the first trilogy. Engaging characters and a tighter plot than many fantasy epics make this a must-have.”—VOYA onThe Phoenix Unchained

“Fans of high fantasy will surely enjoy this.”—SFRevuonThe Phoenix Unchained

“[A] captivating world [is] conjured by veteran Lackey and classical scholar Mallory in this high fantasy. The narrative speeds to the end, leaving the reader satisfied and wanting to know more.”—Publishers Weekly onThe Outstretched Shadow

“Lackey and Mallory combine their talents for storytelling and world crafting into a panoramic effort. Filled with magic, dragons, elves, and other mythical creatures, this title belongs in most fantasy collections.”—Library Journal onTo Light a Candle(aUSA Today bestseller)

of 8


Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field

Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.