Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

HMH General Interest Fall 2018

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
The Red Address Book
By (author): Sofia Lundberg
9781328473011 Hardcover, Cloth over boards English FICTION / Women Jan 08, 2019 Print Run: 75000
$36.00 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.25 x 1.07 in 304 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
“Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy.”—Fredrik Backman, author ofA Man Called Ove

The global fiction sensation—publishing in 32 countries around the world—that follows 96-year-old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades-old address book. But the most profound moment of her life is still to come...

Meet Doris, a 96-year-old woman living alone in her Stockholm apartment. She has few visitors, but her weekly Skype calls with Jenny—her American grandniece, and her only relative—give her great joy and remind her of her own youth.

When Doris was a girl, she was given an address book by her father, and ever since she has carefully documented everyone she met and loved throughout the years. Looking through the little book now, Doris sees the many crossed-out names of people long gone and is struck by the urge to put pen to paper. In writing down the stories of her colorful past—working as a maid in Sweden, modelling in Paris during the 30s, fleeing to Manhattan at the dawn of the Second World War—can shehelp Jenny, haunted by a difficult childhood, unlock the secrets of their family and finally look to the future? And whatever became of Allan, the love of Doris’s life?

A charming novel that prompts reflection on the stories we all should carry to the next generation, and the surprises in life that can await even the oldest among us,The Red Address Book introduces Sofia Lundberg as a wise—and irresistible—storyteller.

SOFIA LUNDBERG is a journalist and former magazine editor.The Red Address Book will be published in 28 territories worldwide.

- 75k print run
- Publishers Weekly review
- Kirkus review
- Library Journal review
- Booklist review
- book will be published in 27 territories
- received rave reviews from Fredrik Backman, Nina George, and more

A Publishers Lunch Buzz Book
A Library Reads Pick

An iBooks Most Anticipated Titles of 2019

“Charming.”Toronto Star

“Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy.”
—Fredrik Backman, author ofA Man Called Ove

“A sweet-tart Swedish romance steeped in memory and regret…The Red Address Book is just the sort of easy-reading tale that will inspire readers to pull up a comfy chair to the fire, grab a mug of cocoa and a box of tissues and gethyggewith it.”–Helen Simonson,New York Times Book Review

“An impoverished Swedish girl named Doris becomes a model in prewar Paris and meets her true love in a park. At 96, Doris sits at her laptop in a lonely apartment in Stockholm, remembering it all.Wise and captivating, Lundberg’s novel offers clear-eyed insights into old age and the solace of memory.”People

"In a reader's lifetime, there are a few books that will be companions forever. For me,The Red Address Book is one of them. It will comfort you, and remind you of all the moments when you grabbed life with both hands. It is also an homage to the wisdom of women who have lived longer than most of us. One is never too old to learn that love is the only meaning of life—let’s listen to these women."
—Nina George, author ofThe Little Paris Bookshop

"The Red Address Book is a love letter to the human heart. Full of tenderness and empathy, Lundberg has created more than just a novel—she has created a window into the soul."
—Alyson Richman, internationally bestselling author ofThe Lost Wife andThe Velvet Hours


“A warm and tender story about life, memories, and the power of love and friendship. A novel with heart and humor!”
—Katarina Bivald,The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend

“Sofia Lundberg has written a wonderful debut. The story of the life of Doris is told with a whole lot of love. It is full of warmth and compassion.”
—Jan-Philipp Sendker, author ofThe Art of Hearing Heartbeats

“You’ll be hearing a lot about Sofia in the new year if you’re in the UK, but if you’re in Sweden, France, Spain, Germany, etc, etc, you’ll already know how romantic and fabulous her novel,The Red Address Book is.”
—Lucy Dillon, author ofLost Dogs and Lonely Hearts

“Like a cozy conversation with your grandma, The Red Address Book warms your heart and soul.”
BookPage

“Doris’s life story is magnetic, and it’s her strong personality and pearls of wisdom … that drive the book….Fans of Fredrik Backman will find much to like here.”
Publishers Weekly

“A charming, fragile romance.”
Kirkus Reviews

"Readers who enjoyed Eleanor Brown'sThe Light of Paris or Nina George'sThe Little French Bistro will delight in seeing Doris's life unfold in this charming, tender tale.”
—Library Journal

“Relationships...are beautifully brought to life in this sweetly elegiac novel.”
—Bridget Thoreson, Booklist

of 118

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.