Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

September 2018 Fiction: Canadian

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
A Lane Winslow Mystery 5
A Sorrowful Sanctuary
By (author): Iona Whishaw
9781771512893 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical Sep 25, 2018
$16.95 CAD
Active 5 x 7.5 x 0.1 in 368 pages TouchWood Editions

In the fifth book of the series that the Globe and Mail calls “terrific,” Lane Winslow investigates the murder of an unidentified man she found adrift in a boat near King’s Cove.

Lane Winslow is enjoying a perfect, sunny day at the lake when she spots a gravely injured young man drifting in a sinking rowboat. Hypothermic, bleeding, and soaked in icy, bloody water, he is unable to speak, leaving Lane at a loss. What series of events brought him to this grisly fate?

Darling and Ames are quick to pick up the case, but leads are few until Angela’s young son finds an unsettling clue on the beach—a bright red swastika lapel pin—that points to the National Unity Party of Canada. When the anonymous man succumbs to his injuries, Darling and Lane are thrown headlong into a murder investigation with ties to the old country.

Fans of Maisie Dobbs, Bess Crawford, and the ever-popular Kopp Sisters will be enchanted by Lane Winslow, a clever, no-nonsense sleuth based on the author’s own mother, who was a wartime spy.

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com.

  • Features and reviews targeting Globe and Mail, Vancouver Sun as well as Canadian Mystery Reviews, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Foreword Reviews
  • Reviews and interviews on respected mystery review sites CrimeFictionLover.com, ReviewingtheEvidence.com
  • Mystery blog outreach campaign; blog tour to coincide with pub date
  • Paid advertising with Shelf Awareness Pro, Baker & Taylor, ULS
  • Online promotion and publicity via TouchWood Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and paid ads
  • Print and digital ARCs available


For more information contact
info@touchwoodeditions.com


Praise+for the Lane Winslow Mysteries


It Begins in Betrayal (#4)

  • “A tale of two murders. . . . relentlessly exciting from start to finish.” —Kirkus Reviews
  • It Begins in Betrayal has a wonderfully complex plot with threads that eventually resolve most satisfactorily. The post-war time period is particularly interesting and well captured.” —Maureen Jennings, author of the Murdoch Mysteries series
  • “Action-packed and emotionally charged from the prologue to the climax . . . it just doesn't get much better than this.” —Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews

An Old, Cold Grave (#3)

  • “A fascinating picture of a life in which many people spent every waking hour working and a disturbing look at the fate of orphaned children raise this mystery above the ordinary. “ —Kirkus Reviews

  • “Lane Winslow, the intrepid sleuth of King's Cove, is back in her third adventure and, like the first two, it's a charmer. Once again, British Columbia's own Iona Whishaw's delightful modern gloss on the venerable British cozy provides a perfect weekend getaway . . . a cleverly plotted story with a delightful setting and amusing characters. Once again, Whishaw keeps us guessing to the end.” —Margaret Cannon, Globe and Mail
  • An Old, Cold Grave—Iona Whishaw's compelling third novel—gives us a gentle rural setting, a body in a root cellar, and, of course, Lane Winslow, the best new amateur sleuth to come along in quite some time. Plot, dialogue, and place: all the requisite elements for an award-winning novel.” —Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews blog
  • “If you enjoy a puzzle set in a 1947, rural BC community, with dialogue that reaches into the soul and a sense of place that is integral to the mystery, then An Old, Cold Grave is a summer read for you . . . In short, sin, plot, dialogue and place: all the requisite elements for an award-winning novel. It's easy to imagine a fourth in this increasingly fine series.” —Bay Observer
  • “This series, with a strong and likable female protagonist . . . continues to get better and better. The novels not only use the past as a setting, but there are lessons about history—and how the consequences of past actions always catch up, sooner or later, with those involved.” —ReviewingtheEvidence.com

Death in a Darkening Mist (#2)

  • “The late L. R. Wright's marvellous mysteries set on British Columbia's Sunshine Coast remain some of my favourite Canadian books. But this second novel by Iona Whishaw, also set in BC, is every bit as good. Both writers know how to make a book's setting as important a factor as the plot line or the characters . . . [an] excellent chapter in what appears to be a terrific series.” —Margaret Cannon, Globe and Mail
  • “An absolute winner [that] moves the notch up several levels when it comes to mystery writing with a historical twinge. The highlight of the writing is the seamless blend of the sense of place into the storyline. The impact of both world wars settles into the essence of any place, and this is a sterling example of how place impacts both events and people.” —Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews blog
  • “Set in 1946, this series cleverly combines both elements of a cozy and a spy thriller, with a heroine who is tough and independent, but harboring secrets of her own . . . The local townspeople are quirky and a nice addition, reminding the reader of another Canadian writer, Louise Penny, who populates her town with interesting characters . . . a series I hope to continue reading.” —ReviewingtheEvidence.com

A Killer in King's Cove (#1)

  • “A good historical mystery with a cast of characters that will provide plot lines for the series to come. Iona Whishaw is a writer to watch.” —Margaret Cannon, Globe and Mail
  • “Exquisitely written, psychologically deft . . . If you miss Mary Stewart's sleuthing heroines, if you loved Broadchurch and its village of suspects, settle in, turn off the phone, and enjoy.” —Linda Svendsen, author of Sussex Drive and Marine Life
  • “A debut mystery from an author destined for awards. A setting that is ripe for storytelling and a convincing gift for portraying the painful and challenging life for the survivors of the two world wars . . . Whishaw is an exciting addition to Canada's fine roster of mystery writers.” —Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews blog
  • “The writing . . . conjures up nicely the ambiance of a 1940s west Canadian locale and develops in depth both the characters and their interactions.” —San Francisco Book Review
  • A Killer in King's Cove is worth a look, especially as the author intends to reprise her lead character.” —Seattle Book Review
  • “Iona Whishaw brings to life a rural country town from the 1940s . . . She's created an engaging, quirky cast of characters in the countryside who, some more reluctantly than others, welcome Lane into their circle. . . . Despite Lane's promise to Inspector Darling to not cause any more mayhem in town, we sort of hope she does!” —ReviewingtheEvidence.com
  • "A simply riveting read by a master of the genre, A Killer in King's Cove is especially recommended the personal reading lists of dedicated mystery buffs, as well as an enduringly popular acquisition choice for community library Mystery/Suspense collections." —Wisconsin Bookwatch

of 43

Also Available

It Begins in Betrayal Iona Whishaw 9781771512619 $16.95 CAD Apr 10, 2018
An Old, Cold Grave Iona Whishaw 9781771512404 $16.95 CAD Sep 26, 2017
Death in a Darkening Mist Iona Whishaw 9781771511711 $16.95 CAD Apr 11, 2017
A Killer in King's Cove Iona Whishaw 9781771511988 $16.95 CAD Oct 04, 2016

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.