Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Fall 2018 Trade

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Excluding:Sep 11, 2018 On Sale Date:Oct 02, 2018 Carton Quantity:40 $11.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Excluding:Sep 11, 2018 On Sale Date:Oct 02, 2018 Carton Quantity:40 $9.95 USD
  • Catalogues

Connect the Scotts
The Dead Kid Detective Agency #4
By (author): Evan Munday
9781770413337 Paperback, Trade English Juvenile: Age (years) from 9 - 13 JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories Ontario Oct 02, 2018
$11.95 CAD
Active 5 x 8.75 x 0.76 in | 0.88 lb 336 pages 24 24 line drawings, black and white ECW Press

Is the fourth time a charm for October and her ghost detective friends? While investigating the cause of the long-dead Tabetha Scott’s death way back in the 1860s, October and the Dead Kids discover that Sticksville, Ontario, served as an endpoint for the Underground Railroad, the secret network by which enslaved people escaped to free states and Canada. But October Schwartz finds herself with more detective work than she can handle after some new musically inclined chums are incriminated in a robbery at a school concert.

Fraudulent occult psychics, funeral home ambushes, band wars, the spooky Sticksville fairgrounds, and a history of prejudice all converge in a climactic conclusion that hints a secret society might be behind all manner of catastrophes in October Schwartz’s not-so-boring little town.

Short Description

In her fourth gothtastic adventure, October Schwartz and her deceased pals dig up more than they bargained for as their investigation of a mysterious death in the 1860s leads them on a mad dash through the spookier side of Sticksville, past and present.

Sales and Market Bullets


  • Subject matter in the book deals with the history of slavery and the Underground Railroad

  • Connect the Scotts takes delves into racism both in the past and the present

  • Includes an educational angle about Canadian and US history

  • Evan Munday is active and influential on Twitter @idontlikemunday

  • Themed promotional materials like posters and bookmarks for stores, schools, and libraries

  • Inclusion in BEA 2018 promotion

  • Series backlist promotion in advance of publication of new title

  • Teacher’s guide available

Audience


  • For fans of Stranger Things, and Lemony Snicket, Coraline, The Graveyard Book, Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series

  • 10-12-year-olds


Evan Munday is the author and illustrator of the Silver Birch shortlisted Dead Kid Detective Agency Series, which includes The Dead Kid Detective Agency, Dial M for Morna, and Loyalist to a Fault. Evan works as publicity manager for children’s books at Penguin Random House Canada. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.

“A fairly elegant interweave of three mysteries that refuses to pull punches (historical or otherwise) regarding discrimination and with more than enough tantalizing intrigue and mortal danger to go around is enticing . . . A draw for veterans and newcomers alike.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Fans of the series will be thrilled with another spectral mystery glinting with subtle mirth.” — School Library Journal

of 27

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.