Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

LPG Loan Stars Catalogue: Fall 2018

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 25, 2018 On Sale Date: Oct 16, 2018 Carton Quantity: 12 $29.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 25, 2018 On Sale Date: Oct 16, 2018 Carton Quantity: 12 $24.95 USD
  • Catalogues

A Collins-Burke Mystery 10
Though the Heavens Fall
A Collins-Burke Mystery
By (author): Anne Emery
9781770413863 Hardcover, Dust jacket English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical Northern Ireland Oct 16, 2018
$29.95 CAD
Active 6 x 9 x 1.29 in 432 pages ECW Press
 
Arthur Ellis Award 2019, Winner

As 1995 dawns in the North of Ireland, Belfast is a city of army patrols, bombed-out buildings, and “peace walls” segregating one community from the other. But the IRA has called a ceasefire. So, it’s as good a time as any for Monty Collins and Father Brennan Burke to visit the city: Monty to do a short gig in a law firm, and Brennan to reconnect with family. And it’s a good time for Brennan’s cousin Ronan to lay down arms and campaign for election in a future peacetime government.

But the past is never past in Belfast, and it rises up to haunt them all: a man goes off a bridge on a dark, lonely road; a rogue IRA enforcer is shot; and a series of car bombs remains an unsolved crime. The trouble is compounded by a breakdown in communication: Brennan knows nothing about the secrets in a file on Monty’s desk. And Monty has no idea what lies behind a late-night warning from the IRA. With a smoking gun at the center of it all, Brennan and Monty are on a collision course and will learn more than they ever wanted to know about what passes for law in 1995 Belfast. An inscription on a building south of the Irish border says it all: “Let justice be done though the heavens fall.”

Short Description

The latest title in Anne Emery’s Collins-Burke series takes the bluesman and the father to Northern Ireland, where the recent IRA ceasefire belies Belfast’s steady criminal undertow. Monty and Brennan confront the cost of justice in Though the Heavens Fall.

Sales and Market Bullets


  • The book’s plot centers around the conflict in the north of Ireland - an ever present reality for the country

  • Though the Heavens Fall is #10 in the Collins-Burke Mystery series

  • Promotion on Goodreads.com, including potential advertising

  • Backlist promotion celebrating book #10 in advance of publication

  • Promote series and new title through our library outreach

  • We will be promoting Anne Emery’s titles through our library marketing efforts, specifically PLA

Audience


  • for readers of Stuart Neville, Adrian McKinty, Patrick Taylor

  • for viewers of 71, The Wind That Shakes the Barley, In the Name of the Father, The Crying Game, Cal, and Bloody Sunday

Named “one of Canada’s finest novelists” (Ottawa Review of Books), Anne Emery is a lawyer and the author of the Collins-Burke mystery series. She has won an Arthur Ellis Award, an Independent Publisher Book Awards silver medal, and a Dartmouth Book Award. She lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Though the Heavens Fall is her tenth novel.

"Emery populates 1995 Belfast so conscientiously and evokes its atmosphere so faithfully . . .” — Kirkus Reviews

“Fans won’t want to miss this strong installment in a fine series.” — Booklist

”As in previous Collins-Burke novels, author Emery, a lawyer herself, eventually threads the plots involving each man together, along the way demonstrating just how complex and multi-dimensional Northern Ireland’s political and personal relationships can be.” — London Free Press

“Anyone looking for a mystery series to read would be well advised to consider the Collins-Burke mystery series by Anne Emery . . . Filled with lots of suspense, a good plot and some history, Though the Heavens Fall is another excellent novel in this entertaining series!” — Hamilton Spectator

Though the Heavens Fall keeps us on our toes until the bitter end. And based on that ending, the sequel will be a must-read too.” — Atlantic Books Today

of 131

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.