Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

LPG Loan Stars Catalogue: Fall 2018

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: WORLD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Jaguar Book Group Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 04, 2018 On Sale Date: Sep 25, 2018 Carton Quantity: 24 $22.95 CAD
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: BTPS Availability: Available Expected Ship Date: Sep 04, 2018 On Sale Date: Sep 25, 2018 Carton Quantity: 24 $18.95 USD
  • Catalogues

The Realms of Ancient 2
Children of the Bloodlands
The Realms of Ancient, Book 2
By (author): S.M. Beiko
9781770413580 Hardcover, Dust jacket English Young Adult : Age (years) from 13 - 17 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Contemporary Scotland Sep 25, 2018
$22.95 CAD
Active 5 x 7.75 x 1.51 in 504 pages ECW Press
 
Aurora Award for Best Young Adult Novel 2019, Nominated

The dazzling second book in S.M. Beiko’s Realms of Ancient series

Three months after the battle of Zabor, the five friends that came together to defeat her have been separated. Burdened with the Calamity Stone she acquired in Scion of the Fox, Roan has gone to Scotland to retrace her grandmother’s steps in an attempt to stop further evil from entering the world.

Meanwhile, a wicked monster called Seela has risen from the ashy Bloodlands and is wreaking havoc on the world while children in Edinburgh are afflicted by a strange plague; Eli travels to Seoul to face judgment and is nearly murdered; Natti endures a taxing journey with two polar bears; Phae tries desperately to obtain the key to the Underworld; and Barton joins a Family-wide coalition as the last defense against an enemy that will stop at nothing to undo Ancient’s influence on Earth — before there is no longer an Earth to fight for.

Darkness, death, and the ancient powers that shape the world will collide as our heroes discover that some children collapse under their dark inheritance, and those who don’t are haunted by blood.

Short Description

In the second installment of S.M. Beiko’s Realms of Ancient series, Roan and her four friends, scattered to the corners of the globe, continue resolute in their battle against world-imperiling evil. Children of the Bloodlands brings the clash of titanic powers unforgettably to life.

Sales and Market Bullets


  • Saved from death by a powerful fox spirit named Sil, 17-year-old Roan finds herself tasked with uniting the five mysterious ancient spirit families that have maintained the balance of the world since creation: that of Deer, Seal, Owl, Rabbit, and Fox.

  • A coming-of-age tale in which Roan (a strong teenage girl with powers rooted in fire and a sword made of garnet) must come into great power while retracing her parents’ deaths and delving deeper into a world that may be against her.

  • Key themes include death, loss, mixed/non-traditional families, identity, environmental destruction, and indigenous issues.

  • Beiko’s first YA fantasy novel, The Lake and the Library, was nominated for the Aurora and Eileen McTavish Sykes Awards.

  • this book contains a prominent lesbian couple, a key character that is multi-spirited, and one asexual main character

  • deals with environmentalism and the ‘sickening of the earth’, cast is multicultural with many POC main characters

Audience

For readers of Kelley Armstrong, Leigh Bardugo, Veronica Roth, Lesley Livingston, Phillip Pullman, Maggie Stiefvater, and Marissa Meyer

S.M. Beiko is an eclectic writer and artist based in Winnipeg, Manitoba. She also works as a freelance editor, illustrator, graphic designer, and consultant in the trade book and comic publishing industries in Canada and the U.S. Her first novel, The Lake and the Library, was nominated for the Manitoba Book Award for Best First Book as well as the 2014 Aurora Award. Her fantasy trilogy, The Realms of Ancient, began with Scion of the Fox, followed by Children of the Bloodlands, and will be concluded with The Brilliant Dark (2019).

“The rewardingly complex mythology is deepened through parallel humanizing themes in the protagonists’ storylines, while game-changing action sequences unleash real consequences in the highly diverse world. A densely-packed, well-crafted sequel that will leave readers eager for the trilogy’s finale.” — Kirkus Reviews

“[An] intricately plotted and pleasantly creepy volume. Roan, with her sarcasm, intensity, and increasing world-weariness, is a compelling, realistic protagonist . . . This action-packed Canadian animal fantasy trilogy is recommended for its unique mythology and diverse characters.” — School Library Journal (online)

“The five protagonists are vibrant and well developed characters, realistically diverse . . . The world is interesting, the mythology is unique and the characters are engaging.” — CM: Canadian Review of Materials

“In book 2 of The Realms of Ancient, Beiko brings the hammer down while continuing all that I loved about Scion of the Fox — the characters, the originality, and the real-world locations. I cannot wait to read the series finale. Bravo!” — Julie E. Czerneda, author of the Night’s Edge series

“S.M. Beiko’s Children of the Bloodlands is a wild, fiery, earth-shattering, sky-scraping ride. Roan and her friends, who came together so memorably in Scion of the Fox, must now follow separate paths, which lead them into realms that are both terrifying and beautiful, and truths that hurt before they heal. Book 3 can't come soon enough!” — Caitlin Sweet, author of The Door in the Mountain and The Flame in the Maze

of 131

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.