Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Macmillan Complete Winter 19 for CataList

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
As Long as We Both Shall Live
A Novel
By (author): JoAnn Chaney
9781250076397 Hardcover, Dust jacket English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense Jan 15, 2019 Print Run: 25000
$36.50 CAD
Active 6.49 x 9.43 x 1.16 in 336 pages Flatiron Books

“Unputdownable….This novel is anything but predictable. The female characters are forces of nature, and the plot twists are deliciously demented, a laGone Girl andBig Little Lies.” —People

You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to kill them...

As Long As We Both Shall Live is JoAnn Chaney’s wicked, masterful examination of a marriage gone very wrong, a marriage with lots of secrets…

“My wife! I think she’s dead!” Matt frantically tells park rangers that he and his wife, Marie, were hiking when she fell off a cliff into the raging river below. They start a search, but they aren’t hopeful: no one could have survived that fall. It was a tragic accident.

But Matt’s first wife also died in suspicious circumstances. And when the police pull a body out of the river, they have a lot more questions for Matt.

Detectives Loren and Spengler want to know if Matt is a grieving, twice-unlucky husband or a cold-blooded murderer. They dig into the couple’s lives to see what they can unearth. And they find that love’s got teeth, it’s got claws, and once it hitches you to a person, it’s tough to rip yourself free.

So what happens when you’re done making it work?

JoAnn Chaney is a graduate of UC Riverside’s Palm Desert MFA program. She lives in Colorado with her family. She is the author ofWhat You Don't Know, which was longlisted for the Crime Writers' Association's John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Award and was one of BookRiot's Best Mysteries of the Year, andAs Long As We Both Shall Live.

One of the Best Winter Thrillers fromThe New York Times Book Review
One of CrimeReads' Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2019
PureWow: 15 Creepy New Thrillers We’re Cozying Up with This Winter
Editor’s Choice,The New York Times Book Review

“The pleasure ofAs Long As We Both Shall Live is that Chaney’s…on the run too, a half-step ahead of us.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Let’s just say thistwisty, noir-soaked book, which will appeal to fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman (not to mention James M. Cain), makes a cutting statement about the plight of even the most feminist wives….There’s never a point in which Chaney doesn’t have you in the palm of her hand.” —Chicago Tribune

“A really satisfying domestic suspense marriage thriller in the Liane Moriarty tradition….A great beach reach.” —New York Times Book Reviewpodcast

“Unputdownable...This novel is anything but predictable.The female characters are forces of nature, and the plot twists are deliciously demented,a laGone Girl andBig Little Lies.”
People

“Chaney grabs readers with her opening line: ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail.’…Marriage laid bare, with a riveting account of evasion and pursuit—and a zinger of a coda.”Booklist,starred review

Far more than a typical murder mystery. From the first propulsive line, ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan you will fail,’ to the stunning conclusion, the reader is swept along in a twisting, turning journey that is as much a treatise on marriage as on murder.” —Mystery Scene


"Chaney alternates past and present, creating an unbearably urgent narrative, and she has a shockingly firm grasp on the barbs and ennui of long-term marriage.A perfectly paced, shock-studded chiller from an author to watch."Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This book is a wicked page-turner, dripping in dark humor, and a hell of a ride you won’t realize you are on until it’s too late to get off. So strap-in, and read this before anyone spoils the fun.”
—BookRiot

“The perfect beach read, a multiple-murder and suspense saga that will keep readers engrossed and guessing."
BookPage

“This twisty thriller will keep your heart rate elevated right up to the final page.”
Bookish

“We credit Chaney in particular for giving us two great female characters—one detective and one victim (who may be much more than that).”
—PureWow

of 1272

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.