Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Putnam Trade Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Call Me Evie
By (author): JP Pomare
9780525538141 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological Mar 05, 2019
$35.00 CAD
Active 6.26 x 9.27 x 1.18 in 368 pages Putnam G.P. Putnam's Sons
A seventeen-year-old struggles to remember the tragic night that changed her life forever in this twist-filled debut novel of psychological suspense for fans of Sharp Objects and The Last Time I Lied.

Evie and her uncle Jim have just moved to an isolated cabin in a remote beach town—a far cry from their hometown of Melbourne. But Evie isn’t her real name. And Jim isn’t really her uncle.

Jim tells Evie she did something terrible back home, that he’s hiding her to protect her. But Evie can’t remember anything about that night—for all she knows, he’s lying. As fragments of her memory return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her savior…or her captor.

In a riveting novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, J.P. Pomare explores the fragility of memory and the potential in everyone to hide the truth—even from themselves.

Story Locale: Maketu, New Zealand and Melbourne, Australia

A FRESH TAKE ON A HOT CATEGORY: Readers and accounts alike remain hungry for psychological suspense, and CALL ME EVIE delivers the unpredictable read and satisfying payoff this audience wants. By choosing a teenage girl as his narrator, J.P. Pomare keeps CALL ME EVIE distinct in a market crowded with suspense centering on marriage or motherhood; his masterfully layered storyline, alternating between the past and the present, keeps the suspense taut and the reader on the edge of her seat.

UNEXPECTED TWISTS (No, really): In a genre where plot twists have become the norm and easy to predict, CALL ME EVIE brilliantly succeeds in taking readers by surprise with revelations they won’t see coming.

ELEVATED WRITING: Pomare hits the sweet spot between commercial and literary with page-turning pacing and vivid writing. His lyrical and resonant prose elevates CALL ME EVIE beyond standard psychological suspense fare.

PROMOTABLE DEBUT AUTHOR: Pomare, 26, produces the literary podcast On Writing and has a keen marketing mind. He is eager to be our fearless partner in promoting CALL ME EVIE.

Twenty-six-year-old J.P. Pomare has been short- and long-listed for a number of writing prizes, including the KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award, Ellen Kemp Memorial Writer’s Prize, the Sheila Malady Prize, and The Kingi Mckinnon Scholarship for Emerging Writers. He produces a literary podcast called On Writing, for which he has interviewed bestselling authors including Joyce Carol Oates and E. Lockhart. CALL ME EVIE, his first novel, will be published by Hachette Australia, Little Brown/Sphere in the UK, and Putnam in North America. Pomare lives with his wife in Melbourne, Australia.

Author Residence: Melbourne, Australia

Marketing: National print campaign

Op-eds and author essays

Online advertising

Online promotions

Social media promotions

JoshuaPomare.com

Facebook.com/JPPomare

Twitter.com/JoshuaPomare



Author Website: JoshuaPomare.com

Author Social Media: Twitter.com/JPPomare; Facebook.com/JPPomare

“Absorbingengrossing, and intriguing are just a few descriptors for this book. Pomare keeps readers on the edge of their seats right up to the surprising conclusion…With a story line that hooks readers immediately and twists and turns galore, this impressive debut is highly recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn and those who enjoy well-written psychological suspense tales.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“[An] outstanding debut…the final pages stun with their gallows-drop plot surprises. Almost nothing will turn out as it initially appears in this devastating novel of psychological suspense.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“This debut novel by Pomare sets him up as a writer to watch…Pomare’s writing is so crisp and his characterizations so spot-on…Readers looking for a page-turner will be happy, but so, too, will those looking for a work with deeper resonances, in this case about gaslighting and the ruthless world of teenagers. Read this one with the lights on, and keep Pomare on your radar.”Kirkus Reviews

“Literary psychological suspense as dark and fresh as midnight in winter. A corkscrew plot, prose that crackles like kindling, that merciless twist-of-the-knife finale — one of the most striking debuts I’ve read in years and years.”—A. J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

“A tight, compulsive, beautifully written thriller with echoes of Gillian Flynn, with characters that keep you guessing and a plot that keeps you turning the page.”—Christian White, author of The Nowhere Child

“I felt pure dread reading this book. Enjoyable, exquisite dread. A great read. There are so many layers and twists to this story and they are revealed in the most masterful way.”—Sarah Bailey, author of The Dark Lake

Call Me Evie i
s more than a taut, intelligent psychological thriller: at its core is the story about the way family, control, and love shapes our choices and who we are. Pomare has written a mesmerizing and heart-stopping novel.”—Sarah Schmidt, bestselling author of See What I Have Done

of 33

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.