Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Putnam Trade Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Another Word for Honor
By (author): Angela Pisel
9780735215627 Paperback, Trade English FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense Jan 02, 2080
$22.00 CAD
Cancelled 5.5 x 8.25 in 320 pages Putnam G.P. Putnam's Sons
In the vein of Jodi Picoult comes a suspenseful and morally complex family story about an American doctor and her young Afghani daughter that investigates what it means to be a parent and just how far we will go to protect what we believe to be right.

When Sidra Walker, a third-year surgical resident, overhears a terrifying threat regarding her young Afghani patient, she knows she has to act. With no plans aside from rescuing the girl from a possible honor killing, she decides to secretly smuggle the girl out of the hospital and raise her as her own.

Seven years later, her young patient, Ky, has been folded into a warm and loving family and is celebrating Sidra’s imminent marriage to Wade, the man of both of their dreams. Sidra has hidden Ky’s true origins from everyone, including Ky herself—she believes that her birth parents passed away in a car accident. But the past that Sidra thought she had put behind her comes back in a cruel way when Wade is murdered—and all of the evidence points to the possibility that Ky’s family has finally caught up with them. Suddenly, Sidra’s hidden secrets have endangered everyone that she loves.

With Wade’s murderer still at-large, Ky and Sidra flee to a remote North Carolina town. Paralyzed by grief and searching for clues about Wade’s murder, Sidra fails to see Ky’s growing unhappiness and her longing for answers about her family and country. When Ky secretly begins communicating with her birth sister, the past and present come together in a final clash, and Sidra finds herself struggling to protect the daughter that she never planned for and now will do anything to protect.

Story Locale: Suburban Chicago and North Carolina

TIMELY HOOK: More so than Angela Pisel’s debut (With Love from the Inside), Another Word for Honor has a global and timely hook—hot-button issues such as Islamaphobia, sexual assault, and adoption are all explored in a sensitive and compelling way, told through the lens of a family story. The multicultural roots of the story and the fast-moving plot give this novel a universal appeal.

STRONG DOMESTIC SUSPENSE: Another Word for Honor is quality commercial fiction that reads like a thriller—beginning with a kidnapping and continuing with a cat-and-mouse chase, the action in the read never lets up. Yet, at its heart, it is a warm and relatable family story.

BOOK CLUB APPEAL: The novel’s moral complexity and gripping plotting make this the perfect book club pick, hitting the sweet spot between commercial and literary fiction.

MOTHER-DAUGHTER STORY: Another Word for Honor is centered on the powerful and complicated mother-daughter bond between Ky and Sidra—perfect for fans of novels like Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult or The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See.

NEW TRADE PAPERBACK FORMAT: As we have seen with titles like The Girl Before and The Perfect Nanny, domestic suspense performs very well in the trade paperback format. We anticipate bringing in a fresh audience with this new format and lower price point.

Angela Pisel is the author of With Love from the Inside. She was born in the Midwest but has set up homes across the United States since marrying an Army physician. As a therapist and life coach, she has taken a special interest in mentoring women throughout various transitions in their lives.

Author Residence: Hickory, NC

Marketing: Print campaign

Local author events

Blog tour

Online promotions

Reading group guide online

Book club promotion

AngelaPisel.com

Facebook.com/Angela.Pisel



Author Website: angelapisel.com

Author Social Media: @angelapisel; facebook.com/angela.pisel
of 33

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.