Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Putnam Trade Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Grace After Henry
By (author): Eithne Shortall
9780525537861 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Women Mar 12, 2019
$22.00 CAD
Active 5.47 x 8.18 x 0.77 in 384 pages Putnam G.P. Putnam's Sons
A quirky love story set in Dublin that’s perfect for fans of PS, I Love You and Jojo Moyes, Grace After Henry is a funny, heartfelt debut novel about one woman learning what it means to move on and to let go.

“A poignant love story…Bittersweet and charming, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. ”—Shelf Awareness


When the love of her life, Henry, is killed in a freak biking accident, Grace feels like she’s lost her own shadow. In his absence, she must put her world back together: she moves into the Dublin dream house they bought together, she returns to work as a chef, she watches TV with her nosy elderly neighbor. But, through it all, she’s ever aware of the growing Henry-shaped hole in her life.

Until his long-lost twin brother knocks on her door.

Newly arrived in Ireland on his own search for answers, Andy is Henry, and yet not quite. Soon Grace isn’t sure if she’s learning to let go or becoming desperate to hold on. Grace After Henry is a funny, tender, and bittersweet story about love, loss, and second chances.

Story Locale: Dublin, Ireland

AMERICAN DEBUT OF AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER: Eithne Shortall’s first novel became an eBook bestseller in the UK in 2017 with rights sold in eight languages and to NBC Universal Studios International. Grace After Henry debuted on the Irish bestseller list in May 2018. We will build on their momentum to publish it as Shortall’s American debut.

HEARTWARMING, FUN, AND RESONANT: With the bright insight and humor of Cecelia Ahern’s P.S. I Love You and Lolly Winston’s Good Grief, together with the emotion of Jojo Moyes, Shortall’s prose is both clever and touching, and she writes about love, loss, grief, and healing with a keen sense for the human heart.

A PROMOTABLE AUTHOR WE CAN GROW: Shortall is the real deal. We’ve got a second book under contract for Spring 2020 and she has the potential to be a Putnam franchise in women’s fiction. She’s currently the chief arts writer at the Sunday Times Ireland, and through her work as a journalist, TV presenter, and radio contributor, she’s collaborated with Marian Keyes, Cecelia Ahern, and Gail Honeyman, among many others. Her star is on the rise.

TRADE PAPERBACK OPPORTUNITY: Publishing as a TPO is the perfect way to introduce Shortall to readers. As we’ve seen with writers like Taylor Jenkins Reid and Bethany Chase, this kind of moving, spirited women’s fiction sells well in paperback. It’s also a strong fit for book clubs as this story begs the question: What would you do if you were in Grace’s shoes?

RICH IRISH SETTING: Ireland comes to life through Shortall’s riotous prose. The novel packs the escapism of a delicious trip to Dublin alongside a celebration of Irish culture and a thoughtful look at its recent history.

Eithne Shortall is the arts correspondent for the Sunday Times, Ireland, and has worked as a TV and radio presenter in her native Ireland. Grace After Henry is her American debut. She lives in Dublin.

Author Residence: Dublin, Ireland

Author Hometown: Dublin, Ireland

Marketing: National print campaign

Op-eds and author essays

Online advertising

Online promotions

Social media promotions

Reading group guide online

Book club promotion

EithneShortall.com

Facebook.com/EithneShortallAuthor

Twitter.com/EithneShortall

Instagram.com/EithneShortall



Author Website: www.eithneshortall.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: eithneshortall; Facebook.com/EithneShortallAuthor; Instagram: eithne.shortall

“Engrossing, surprising, and empowering.”—Jill Santopolo, author of The Light We Lost

“Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? Shortall’s extraordinary debut is about the kind of shocking tragedy that shatters your life, about the ghosts and people we cling to for solace, and about how, when we truly open our lives to loss, life actually becomes deeper, richer, and all the more precious. A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost.”—Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You

“A witty, heartbreaking, life-affirming, gorgeous charmer of a novel about love and loss and letting go. I couldn’t put it down and I can’t wait to give copies to all the people I love.”—Nancy Thayer, author of A Nantucket Wedding

“Fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern will adore Grace After Henry, [it] brims with a lovable cast of characters, humor, and lots of heart. I recommend you have tissues at the ready and a phone within reach to call your friends! This emotionally rich, satisfying read is sure to put Eithne Shortall novels at the top of your TBR.”—Jamie Brenner, author of The Husband Hour

of 33

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.