Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Putnam Trade Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780525537878 Electronic book text, EPUB 9781984839718 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IR IS IT JP KG KH KM KP KR KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU SA SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BT BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO IQ JE JM JO KE KI KN KW KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN RW SB SC SD SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Mar 12, 2019 Carton Quantity:24
  • Catalogues

Grace After Henry
By (author): Eithne Shortall
9780525537861 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Women Mar 12, 2019
$22.00 CAD
Active 5.47 x 8.18 x 0.77 in | 0.65 lb 384 pages Putnam G.P. Putnam's Sons
“A poignant love story…Bittersweet and charming, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. ”—Shelf Awareness

Grace sees her boyfriend Henry everywhere. In the supermarket, on the street, at the graveyard.


Only Henry is dead. He died two months earlier, leaving a huge hole in Grace’s life and in her heart. But then Henry turns up to fix the boiler one evening, and Grace can’t decide if she’s hallucinating or has suddenly developed psychic powers. Grace isn’t going mad—the man in front of her is not Henry at all, but someone else who looks uncannily like him. The hole in Grace’s heart grows ever larger.

Grace becomes captivated by this stranger, Andy—to her, he is Henry, and yet he is not. Reminded of everything she once had, can Grace recreate that lost love with Andy, resurrecting Henry in the process, or does loving Andy mean letting go of Henry?

Story Locale: Dublin, Ireland

AMERICAN DEBUT OF AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER: Eithne Shortall’s first novel became an eBook bestseller in the UK in 2017 with rights sold in eight languages and to NBC Universal Studios International. Grace After Henry debuted on the Irish bestseller list in May 2018. We will build on their momentum to publish it as Shortall’s American debut.

HEARTWARMING, FUN, AND RESONANT: With the bright insight and humor of Cecelia Ahern’s P.S. I Love You and Lolly Winston’s Good Grief, together with the emotion of Jojo Moyes, Shortall’s prose is both clever and touching, and she writes about love, loss, grief, and healing with a keen sense for the human heart.

A PROMOTABLE AUTHOR WE CAN GROW: Shortall is the real deal. We’ve got a second book under contract for Spring 2020 and she has the potential to be a Putnam franchise in women’s fiction. She’s currently the chief arts writer at the Sunday Times Ireland, and through her work as a journalist, TV presenter, and radio contributor, she’s collaborated with Marian Keyes, Cecelia Ahern, and Gail Honeyman, among many others. Her star is on the rise.

TRADE PAPERBACK OPPORTUNITY: Publishing as a TPO is the perfect way to introduce Shortall to readers. As we’ve seen with writers like Taylor Jenkins Reid and Bethany Chase, this kind of moving, spirited women’s fiction sells well in paperback. It’s also a strong fit for book clubs as this story begs the question: What would you do if you were in Grace’s shoes?

RICH IRISH SETTING: Ireland comes to life through Shortall’s riotous prose. The novel packs the escapism of a delicious trip to Dublin alongside a celebration of Irish culture and a thoughtful look at its recent history.

Eithne Shortall is the arts correspondent for the Sunday Times, Ireland, and has worked as a TV and radio presenter in her native Ireland. Grace After Henry is her American debut. She lives in Dublin.

Author Residence: Dublin, Ireland

Author Hometown: Dublin, Ireland

Marketing: National print campaign

Op-eds and author essays

Online advertising

Online promotions

Social media promotions

Reading group guide online

Book club promotion

EithneShortall.com

Facebook.com/EithneShortallAuthor

Twitter.com/EithneShortall

Instagram.com/EithneShortall



Author Website: www.eithneshortall.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: eithneshortall; Facebook.com/EithneShortallAuthor; Instagram: eithne.shortall

“An engrossing, surprising, and empowering story about the complexities of love, grief, and family. The characters were so beautifully developed that by the time I finished reading, I felt like I'd known them forever.”—Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

"This is the best kind of book, with a blend of sharp humor and dark grief that strikes a pitch-perfect note of poignancy. . . . An absolute treat of a novel." Lolly Winston, author of Good Grief

“Full of heart, this bittersweet tale examines love after loss.”—Woman's World

“A poignant love story . . . Bittersweet and charming, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. “ —Shelf Awareness

“A huge hit in the U.K., Irish author Eithne Shortall’s Dublin-set romance novel allows its characters to experience grief with a mix of lightheartedness and gravity.”Marie Claire

“Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? Shortall’s extraordinary debut is about the kind of shocking tragedy that shatters your life, about the ghosts and people we cling to for solace, and about how, when we truly open our lives to loss, life actually becomes deeper, richer, and all the more precious. A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost.”—Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World

“This book is a poignant and touching account of one woman moving on after great tragedy. Shortall’s American debut does not go for easy solutions but shows how grief manifests differently for those who experience it.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Insightful...Shortall’s thought-provoking potentialities combined with her perceptive characterizations are certain to keep Grace and Andy in the reader’s mind for a long time.”—Publishers Weekly

A witty, heartbreaking, life-affirming, gorgeous charmer of a novel about love and loss and letting go. I couldn’t put it down, and I can’t stop thinking about the characters, and I can’t wait to give copies to all the people I love.”—Nancy Thayer, bestselling author of A Nantucket Wedding

“Fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern will adore Grace After Henry, a story of life after loss that brims with a lovable cast of characters, humor, and lots of heart. I recommend you have tissues at the ready and a phone within reach to call your friends! This emotionally rich, satisfying read is sure to put Eithne Shortall novels at the top of your TBR.”—Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Husband Hour

“Readers who loved Sense & Sensibility’s inquiries into the possibility of loving twice will fall head over heels for this book.” Bustle

“Charming and heartfelt, Eithne Shortall’s Grace After Henry is the unconventional love story—complete with quirky characters and tissue-worthy moments—you won’t want to miss! A lovely, moving read.”—Karma Brown, bestselling author of The Life Lucy Knew

“A touching, beautifully written story about losing love and finding it again in an unexpected way. I couldn’t put it down—I was reading the book at two in the morning with a little flashlight, so I wouldn’t wake up my husband.”—Mary Simses, author of The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Café

“Brilliant....A terrific read and superior plot!”—Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait

of 33

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.