Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Young Readers Group Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Victoria Jamieson Box Set
By (author): Victoria Jamieson
9780525554141 Undefined English Juvenile: Age (years) from 9 - 12, Grade (US) from 4 - 7 JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / General Oct 02, 2018
$32.98 CAD
Active 5.69 x 8.38 x 2 in 0 pages Dial Books for Young Readers Dial Books
A giftable set of two graphic novels from bestselling and Newbery-Honor-winning author Victoria Jamieson

Victoria Jamieson’s Newbery-Honor-winning and New York Times bestselling Roller Girl and her critically acclaimed All’s Faire in Middle School are now available together, in a slipcase set.

Roller Girl, Victoria Jamieson’s graphic novel debut, earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews. It’s an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power! For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid’s life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship…and be strong enough to be a roller girl!

All’s Faire in Middle School earned three starred reviews and was a New York Times Editor’s Choice. It perfectly—and authentically—captures the bittersweetness of middle school life with humor, warmth, and understanding. Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working at the Renaissance Faire, and she’s eager to begin her own training as a squire. First, though, she’ll need to prove her bravery. Luckily Impy has just the quest in mind—she’ll go to public school after a life of being homeschooled! But it’s not easy to act like a noble knight-in-training in middle school.

A striking package: Victoria Jamieson’s bright, kid-appealing artwork is instantly eye-catching. This box set stands out!

For all readers: Warm and funny with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice, these graphic novels are just right for reluctant and ravenous readers alike.

Great for gifting: Two full-length graphic novels in an attractive slipcase make for an ideal birthday, holiday, or any day gift!

For fans of Raina Telgemeier: Readers who love Smile, Sisters, and Drama will find kindred spirits in Victoria Jamieson’s funny, flawed, and overwhelmingly relatable heroines.

Victoria Jamieson is the creator of the Newbery Honor winner Roller Girl. She received her BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design and worked as a children’s book designer before becoming a full-time illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. She maintained a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league and has a not-so-secret past as a Renaissance Faire groupie. She lives with her family in Easton, PA.

Author Residence: Easton, PA

Praise for Roller Girl:

Five Starred Reviews

A Newbery Honor book

2016-2017 Texas Bluebonnet Award winner

A New York Times Bestseller

“Roller Girl’s message of self-discovery, friendship, and perseverance will roll its way right into your heart.”—Raina Telgemeier, New York Times bestselling author of Sisters

“This spiky, winning graphic novel captures the bittersweetness of finding a new passion and saying goodbye to your former, more uncertain self.”—New York Times Book Review

Praise for All’s Faire in Middle School:

Two starred reviews

A New York Times Editor’s Choice

An Autumn Kids’ Indie Next List top pick

A Boston Globe Best Children’s Book

All’s Faire in Middle School is a delightful, funny, and thoughtful adventure through the challenging worlds of friends and family. Huzzah!”—Jennifer and Matthew Holm, New York Times bestselling authors of Sunny Side Up

“Victoria Jamieson’s graphic novels are gateway drugs to all the best nerdy hobbies.”—Cory Doctorow

of 245

Also Available

All's Faire in Middle School Victoria Jamieson 9780525429999 $17.99 CAD Sep 05, 2017
Roller Girl Victoria Jamieson 9780803740167 $14.99 CAD Mar 10, 2015

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.