Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Young Readers Group Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Not Your Nest!
By (author): Gideon Sterer Illustrated by: Andrea Tsurumi
9780735228276 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 3 - 7, Grade (US) from P - 2 JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / General Mar 05, 2019
$23.99 CAD
Active 8.31 x 11.81 x 0.33 in | 0.92 lb 40 pages FULL-COLOR ILLUST Dial Books for Young Readers Dial Books
A hilarious and oh-so-honest look at the art of sharing, from two rising picture-book stars.

Bird is just about to put the finishing touches on her new home when she suddenly finds that her nest is already full—of someone else. So she reluctantly builds another nest. But Fox finds this new nest quite comfy, and Brush Hog loves the view from Bird’s next attempt. Soon the Acacia tree is bursting with happily nested animals of all shapes and stripes—everyone except bird!

But when Bird finally finds a way to evict her unwelcome guests, the animals realize their mistake and build a nest that’s big enough for all of them. Well, almost…

For fans of Jon Klassen and Jory John: This book shares the dry, winking humor of I Want My Hat Back, but it takes a softer, more lighthearted tack. Hand it to kids who love that series or the Goodnight Already! books.

You won’t guess the moral to this story: Rather than delivering a heavy-handed lesson about always sharing, the ending takes an unexpected twist: It’s okay to want some alone time, too!

An acclaimed artist: Andrea Tsurumi’s picture book debut, Accident!, made a big splash in 2017. It received three starred reviews, was a PW best book, and the New York Times called it a “groovy debut.”

Gideon Sterer is the author of Skyfishing and The Night Knights. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Author Residence: Brooklyn, New York

Andrea Tsurumi is an illustrator, cartoonist, and the creator of Accident! She holds a English BA from Harvard and an MFA in illustration from the School of Visual Arts. Andrea lives in Philadelphia.

Illustrator Residence: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

★ “Absurd humor and frantic frustration fit Tsurumi…like a glove…. Sterer…nails how infuriating it can feel to be on the receiving end of unabashed selfishness…highly satisfying.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review 

“Giggle-inducing.” —Kirkus

“Resembling Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back (2011) in tone but with a kinder, gentler outcome.” —Booklist

“An enormously amusing read-aloud choice.” —School Library Journal

“Sterer’sto-the-point speech-bubble text is brought to life in the richly colored illustrations,making the most of the silly interactions; Tsurumi’s nimble, energetic linesadeptly convey the characters’ range of reactions.” —The Horn Book

of 245

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.