Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Young Readers Group Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Night Music
By (author): Jenn Marie Thorne
9780735228771 Hardcover English Young Adult : Age (years) from 14, Grade (US) from 9 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Romantic Comedy Mar 19, 2019
$23.99 CAD
Active 5.78 x 8.5 x 1.29 in 400 pages Dial Books for Young Readers Dial Books
Music has always been Ruby’s first love. But has it ever loved her back?

Slip behind the scenes of the classical music world one hot, anything-can-happen, New York City summer.

“Delightful…Hits all the right notes.”—Mackenzi Lee, author of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue


Ruby has always been Ruby Chertok: future classical pianist and daughter of renowned composer Martin Chertok. But after her horrendous audition for the prestigious music school where her father is on faculty, it’s clear that music has publicly dumped her. Now Ruby is suddenly just…Ruby. And who is that again? All she knows is that she wants away from the world of classical music for good.

Oscar is a wunderkind, a musical genius. Just ask any of the 1.8 million people who’ve watched him conduct on YouTube—or hey, just ask Oscar. But while he might be the type who’d name himself when asked about his favorite composer and somehow make you love him more for it, Oscar is not the type to jeopardize his chance to study under the great Martin Chertok—not for a crush. He’s all too aware of how the ultra-privileged world of classical music might interpret a black guy like him falling for his benefactor’s white daughter.

But as the New York City summer heats up, so does the spark between Ruby and Oscar. Soon their connection crackles with the same alive, uncontainable energy as the city itself. Can two people still figuring themselves out figure out how to be together? Or will the world make the choice for them?

“Seriously swoony…I loved it.” —Rachel Hawkins, author of Royals

“Sweet and intense…[An] engrossing romance with a social conscience.” —Kirkus

“Dreamy.” —Bustle

“Utterly romantic.”—Tanaz Bhathena, author of A Girl Like That

“Full of heart and humor. It crackles with energy.” —Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of Picture Us in the Light

“Timely and romantic.”—Publishers Weekly

“Beautiful, heartfelt, aware, and raw.”—Lauren Gibaldi, author of This Tiny Perfect World

“Thoughtful, nuanced.”Booklist

A rom-com and so much more: Come for the frothy banter and swoon-worthy romance, stay for the incisive observations about privilege, race, coming of age, and coming into your own.

An interracial romance that doesn’t pull any punches: As they fall in love, Ruby and Oscar wind up challenging their own—and each other’s—preconceptions, and author Jenn Marie Thorne unpacks complex issues with grace, wit, and clear-eyed honesty.

A love letter to New York City: Night Music conjures all the possibilities of summertime in NYC with cinematic immediacy, and Ruby and Oscar’s romance blossoms with the same vibrant energy as the city itself.

Center Stage goes to the Philharmonic: Like the iconic dance film, Night Music gives readers a peek at the behind-the-scenes exploitative machinations of creating a star and conveys a powerful message about our life and times. Also—not to be missed by fans of Amazon’s Mozart in the Jungle.

Not just another teen romance: Jenn Marie Thorne’s first two novels were published to great critical acclaim. Her work occupies an exciting and special place in YA—that sweet spot between compulsively readable contemporary romance and weighty social issue books with something to say.

Jenn Marie Thorne graduated from NYU-Tisch with a BFA in drama and quickly realized she was having more fun writing plays, short films, and superhero webisodes than actually performing in them. She lives and writes in the UK with her husband, two sons, and hound dog Molly.

Author Residence: Minchinhampton, Stroud UK

Marketing: Promotion at select consumer festivals

Online promotion and social media outreach

Extensive blogger outreach

Promotion at national school and library conferences

Librarian and educator outreach



Author Website: www.jennmariethorne.com

Author Social Media: Twiter: @juniperjenny, Facebook: www.facebook.com/JennMarieThorne, Instagram: @jennmariethorne

Praise for The Inside of Out:

Selected for the Rainbow List

* “Nuanced.”—VOYA, perfect score

“Recommend to fans of John Green and David Levithan’s Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Kris Dinnison’s You and Me and Him.”—SLJ

Praise for The Wrong Side of Right:

“A real page-turner, full of romance and intrigue.”—Chicago Tribune

* “Intelligent and heartfelt.”—Booklist, starred review

“Absorbing and timely.”—Kirkus | “A smart, fresh, and engaging debut .”—PW

“Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will appreciate this well-crafted story about love and family.”—School Library Journal

of 245

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.