Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Young Readers Group Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780735228085 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $14.99 CAD 9780735228092 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9781984845597 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX MY MZ NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BT BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date:Apr 09, 2019 Carton Quantity:12 $23.99 CAD
    $17.99 USD
  • Catalogues

This Book Is Not Yet Rated
By (author): Peter Bognanni
9780735228078 Hardcover English Young Adult : Age (years) from 14, Grade (US) from 9 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age Apr 09, 2019
$23.99 CAD
Active 5.88 x 8.56 x 1.07 in | 0.96 lb 336 pages Dial Books for Young Readers Dial Books
In this enormously funny, smart, and moving contemporary YA novel, fighting for the thing you love doesn’t always turn out like in the movies.

“Hilarious, big-hearted, poignant…An unadulterated triumph.”—Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King


Movies have always helped Ethan Ashby make sense of the world. So when developers swoop in and say the classic Green Street Cinema is going to be destroyed to make room for luxury condos, Ethan is ready for battle. And so a motley crew of cinema employees comes together to save the place they love:

There’s Sweet Lou, the elderly organist with a penchant for not-so-sweet language; Anjo, the too-cool projectionist; Griffin and Lucas who work concessions, if they work at all; and Ethan, their manager (who can barely manage his own life). Still, it’s going to take a movie miracle for the Green Street to have a happy ending. And when Raina Allen, Ethan’s oldest friend (and possible soul mate?), comes back to town after working in Hollywood—cue lights and music—it seems that miracle may have been delivered. But life and love aren’t always like in the movies.

This Book is Not Yet Rated is about growing up, letting go, and realizing love hides in plain view—in the places that shape us, the people who raise us, the first loves who leave us, and the lives that fade in and fade out all around us.

“A beautifully written look at first love and first loss.”—Julie Buxbaum, author of What to Say Next

“Film aficionados and fans of John Green will especially like this one.” —Booklist, starred review

“It pulls you in, holds you…A funny and moving winner.”—Adi Alsaid, author of Never Always Sometimes

“I cannot get over how much I love this book.”—Jared Reck, author of A Short History of the Girl Next Door

“[A] sweet love story with a quest at its heart.”PW

“Reel[s] you in…Absorbing…quirky and fun.”VOYA

Funny, poignant, and oh-so-readable: Bognanni’s particular mix of humor, heartbreak, and movie trivia makes This Book Is Not Yet Rated a perfect read for fans of Nick Horny and David Arnold.

Reads like your favorite indie movie: With its eccentric multi-generational cast of characters coming together to fight for what they believe in and the will-they-or-won’t-they love story, This Book Is Not Yet Rated delivers just what you need when you reach for your favorite indie movie.

Relatable coming-of-age: First love, immense loss, and the rootlessness of not yet knowing where you belong are perfectly captured with nuance and honesty.

Acclaimed author: Peter Bognanni’s debut adult novel, The House of Tomorrow, was an Alex Award winner, an LA Times Book Prize winner, and was made into an indie film. His debut YA novel, Things I’m Seeing Without You, was called “hilarious and affecting” and drew comparisons to Nicola Yoon.

Peter Bognanni is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. His debut novel, The House of Tomorrow, won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for first fiction and the ALA Alex Award and has been adapted into a feature film. He teaches creative writing at Macalester College in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Author Residence: Saint Paul, MN

Marketing: National media campaign

Extensive online promotion and social media outreach

Promotion at select consumer festivals

Extensive blogger outreach

Promotion at national school and library conferences

Librarian and educator outreach

Praise for Things I’m Seeing Without You:

“Required reading for anyone who’s ever loved or lost someone…but especially both.”—John Corey Whaley, National Book Award finalist and winner of the Printz Award

“Bognanni nails the messiness of grief…The book will satisfy readers of realistic fiction with its dark humor, optimistic outcome, and thoughtful exploration of grief and family dynamics.”—School Library Journal

“A compelling mix of romance and soul-searching, this will be a draw for fans of Nicola Yoon.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“An original, well-told story that ties together strands of love, loss, and coming of age. Readers will not want to put down this sometimes hilarious, always affecting novel.”—VOYA

of 245

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.