Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780385545075 9780525564782 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $22.95 CAD 9781984841018 Downloadable audio file 9780385544375 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date: Mar 05, 2019 Carton Quantity: 12 $36.95 CAD
    $27.95 USD
  • Catalogues

The Devil Aspect
A Novel
By (author): Craig Russell
9780385544368 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Historical Mar 05, 2019
$36.95 CAD
Active 6.4 x 9.5 x 1 in 432 pages Doubleday
“A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller—elegant, edgy, ingenious. Craig Russell conjures not one but two unforgettable settings: Prague between the wars, pulsing with menace, and a Gothic mental asylum, as exciting a house of horrors as I’ve ever visited. You’ll enter both with dread. You’ll dwell in them with relish.”
—A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window


Prague, 1935: Viktor Kosárek, a psychiatrist newly trained by Carl Jung, arrives at the infamous Hrad Orlu Asylum for the Criminally Insane. The state-of-the-art facility is located in a medieval mountaintop castle outside of Prague, though the site is infamous for concealing dark secrets going back many generations. The asylum houses the country’s six most treacherous killers—known to the staff as The Woodcutter, The Clown, The Glass Collector, The Vegetarian, The Sciomancer, and The Demon—and Viktor hopes to use a new medical technique to prove that these patients share a common archetype of evil, a phenomenon known as The Devil Aspect. As he begins to learn the stunning secrets of these patients, five men and one woman, Viktor must face the disturbing possibility that these six may share another dark truth.
     Meanwhile, in Prague, fear grips the city as a phantom serial killer emerges in the dark alleys. Police investigator Lukas Smolak, desperate to locate the culprit (dubbed Leather Apron in the newspapers), realizes that the killer is imitating the most notorious serial killer from a century earlier—London’s Jack the Ripper. Smolak turns to the doctors at Hrad Orlu for their expertise with the psychotic criminal mind, though he worries that Leather Apron might have some connection to the six inmates in the asylum.
     Steeped in the folklore of Eastern Europe, and set in the shadow of Nazi darkness erupting just beyond the Czech border, this stylishly written, tightly coiled, richly imagined novel is propulsively entertaining, and impossible to put down.

FOR FANS OF CALEB CARR, STEPHEN KING, AND ELIZABETH KOSTOVA: The Devil Aspect weaves the best historical horror and thriller tropes into a dark Eastern European setting, appealing to fans of literary horror, serial killer novels, and psychological thrillers.

MAJOR MOVIE DEAL—SONY/COLUMBIA PICTURES: Sony went wild for this as soon as it was submitted, and it is being developed by Columbia now.

FOREIGN SALES PILING UP: The Devil Aspect has already been sold in the United States, U.K., Germany, Russia, Czech Republic, Poland, and Denmark, plus a large world Spanish deal.

AMERICAN DEBUT: The Devil Aspect is acclaimed Scottish novelist Craig Russell’s first American publication, so we have a major opportunity to launch him here.

TWO-BOOK DEAL: This is the first in Doubleday’s two-book contract with Russell.

CRAIG RUSSELL is an award-winning Scottish author whose books have been translated into twenty-five languages. His previous works include the Fabel Series of thrillers and the Lennox Series of noir mysteries. He is the winner of the 2015 McIlvanney Prize, as well as the 2008 Crime Writers’ Association Dagger in the Library prize. A former police officer, he lives in Perthshire, Scotland, with his wife.

Author Residence: Perthshire, Scotland

Marketing: Online advertising including ShelfAwareness.com, NetGalley, Facebook, Instagram, Goodreads.com, and CrimeReads.com

Facebook and Instagram adveritising

Promotional giveaways on Goodreads.com

Promotion on PRH verticals, particularly Signature

Book Trailer

Outreach to mystery and thriller bloggers, social media influencers, and booksellers

Outreach to mystery/thriller podcasts like Lore, The NoSleep Podcast, and Last Podcast on the Left

Book Club Promotion



Publicity: National Review and Media Appearances

National Online Interviews, Reviews, and Blog Coverage

Thriller and Historical Press and Media



Author Website: craigrussell.com

Author Social Media: Facebook.com/CraigRussellBooks (1.5k likes) and Twitter.com/TheCraigRussell (740 followers)

“[A] beguiling and gruesome new horror thriller…a wildly entertaining story that grabs you on Page 1 and drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming…Russell has created a truly frightening story, one that gets under your skin slowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife.”
—Danielle Trussoni, The New York Times Book Review

“[T]his gruesome historical thriller…gets under your skin slowly and then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife.”
The New York Times Book Review, Editor’s Choice 

“A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller with a one-two-three knockout of an ending that left me dazed. The brooding backdrop of a Czechoslovakia on the brink of World War II just adds another layer of atmosphere to an already nightmarish read.”
—Lincoln Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Deep Storm

“Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading…With all the lights on. Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!”
Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author of The Yard

“Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind.”
Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse

“[A] sensational serial killer novel…jaw-dropping… a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“One of the most memorable thrillers of the year; it’s also unique: the premise is strikingly original, and the mood created by the juxtaposition of the patients’ memories and the real-time horrors is utterly chilling.”
Booklist, starred review

“[A] knockout… The Devil Aspect is the best of its kind.”
BookPage

“A seasoned writer, Russell keeps the police case moving at a good clip…but nothing to match the ending, which offers more twists than a Chubby Checker album. A smart, atmospheric, and entertaining read but not for the Jung and easily Freudened.”
Kirkus

“Psychological horror and atmospheric Eastern European folklore come together in a chilling synthesis of for what might be the year’s most fear-inducing page-turner, a new gothic thriller by Scottish author Craig Russell.”
—SyFy Wire

“Seriously gothic…memorably haunting.”
—CrimeReads, Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2019

“The Devil Aspect is a masterful blend of adjacent genres. There are shades of Alan Moore and Eddie Campbell’s Jack the Ripper graphic novel From Hell and a dash of F. Paul Wilson’s The Keep and Mark Frost’s The List of Seven… Russell finds the Devil in the details—and really makes him work.”
—Criminal Element

“A rich and ridiculously entertaining brew…that unravels with plenty of shocks, twists and horror.”
—The Digital Fix

“An astonishing virtuoso piece of gothic horror writing…utterly immersive, authentically complex and completely propulsive…  a must read for all fans of literary fiction, great crime and horror writing… that will more than hold its own alongside Dracula, Jekyll and Hyde and Frankenstein.”
Live and Deadly

The Devil Aspect is definitely one of the books to read this year!”
Fantasy Hotlist

“A kaleidoscopic mélange of myth, history, politics, bigotry, psychology, romance, crime, mystery, and sublime horror with each aspect taking turns directing the action, fighting for attention, toying with readers as they struggle to anticipate the shattering denouement.”
—Rougeski Reads

of 138

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.