Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Young Readers Omni Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Afterward
By (author): E.K. Johnston
9780735231894 Hardcover English Young Adult : Age (years) from 14, Grade (US) from 9 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General Feb 19, 2019
$23.99 CAD
Active 5.81 x 8.56 x 1.19 in 352 pages Dutton Children's Books Dutton Books for Young Readers
Romantic high fantasy from the bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and Exit, Pursued by a Bear.

It’s been a year since the mysterious godsgem cured Cadrium’s king and ushered in what promised to be a new golden age. The heroes who brought home the gem are renowned in story and song, but for two fellows on the quest, peace and prosperity don’t come easily.

Apprentice Knight Kalanthe Ironheart wasn’t meant for heroism so early in life, and while she has no intention of giving up the notoriety she’s earned, reputation doesn’t pay her bills. Kalanthe may be forced to betray not her kingdom or her friends, but her own heart as she seeks a stable future for herself and those she loves.

Olsa Rhetsdaughter was never meant for heroism at all. Beggar and thief, she lived hand to mouth on the streets until fortune—or fate—pulled her into Kalanthe’s orbit. And now she’s reluctant to leave it. Even more alarmingly, her fame has made her profession difficult, and a choice between poverty and the noose isn’t much of a choice at all.

Both girls think their paths are laid out, but the godsgem isn’t quite done with them and that new golden age isn’t a sure thing yet.

In a tale both sweepingly epic and intensely personal, Kalanthe and Olsa fight to maintain their newfound independence and to find their way back to each other.

Bestselling author E. K. Johnston returns to traditional fantasy. Johnston brings her unwavering optimism, her passion for inclusivity, and her phenomenal worldbuilding to a broadly appealing YA genre.

Strong appeal for fans of her first books. This should be a hit for readers who fell in love with Johnston over LA Times Book Prize finalist The Story of Owen or Governor General finalist A Thousand Nights.

Rewriting the rule book for heroism in high fantasy. The Afterward quickly dispenses with tropes about who gets to be a knight (and who gets to cut a path through hordes of demons with a battle axe). Readers who love Brienne of Tarth in Game of Thrones or Ahsoka Tano in Star Wars will find much to cheer for as they meet Johnston’s band of lady knights.

An emotionally intense and sensitively rendered romance. Olsa and Kalanthe’s love story is intense, frustrating in the best ways, and ultimately deeply satisfying and authentically teenage.

E. K. Johnston is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of several YA novels, including the L.A. Times Book Prize finalist The Story of Owen and Star Wars: Ahsoka. Her novel A Thousand Nights was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award. The New York Times called The Story of Owen “a clever first step in the career of a novelist who, like her troubadour heroine, has many more songs to sing” and in its review of Exit, Pursued by a Bear, The Globe & Mail called Johnston “the Meryl Streep of YA,” with “limitless range.” E. K. Johnston lives in Stratford, Ontario. Follow her on Twitter at @ek_johnston

Author Residence: Stratford, ON

Author Hometown: Waterloo, ON

Marketing: National media campaign

Promotion at select consumer festivals

Online promotion and social media outreach

Extensive blogger outreach

Promotion at national school and library conferences

Librarian and educator outreach

“E.K. Johnston has a seemingly limitless range.”—The Globe & Mail

of 407

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.