Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

McClelland & Stewart, Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Magnetic Equator
By (author): Kaie Kellough
9780771043116 Paperback, Trade English General Trade POETRY / Canadian Mar 26, 2019
$19.95 CAD
Active 5.78 x 8.5 x 0.32 in 112 pages McClelland & Stewart
An original, inventive—and visually stunning—exploration of place, identity, language, and experience from the acclaimed poet, novelist, and sound performer.

The poems in Kaie Kellough’s third collection drift between South and North America. They seek their ancestry in Georgetown, Guyana, in the Amazon Rainforest, and in the Atlantic Ocean. They haunt the Canadian Prairie. They recall the 1980s in the suburbs of Calgary, and they reflect on the snowed-in, bricked-in boroughs of post-referendum Montréal. They puzzle their language together from the natural world and from the works of Caribbean and Canadian writers. They reassemble passages about seed catalogues, about origins, about finding a way in the world, about black ships sailing across to land. They struggle to explain a state of being hemisphered, of being present here while carrying a heartbeat from elsewhere, and they map the distances travelled.

Story Locale: Contemporary

Series Overview: McClelland & Stewart is committed to publishing work by Canadian poets whose work engages and excites, and who stand out because of the distinctiveness of their voices, their rigorous dedication to craft, and the scope of their imaginations.

PART OF THE INAUGURAL LIST UNDER NEW M&S POETRY EDITOR DIONNE BRAND

AUDIENCE: For poetry fans, including those who are fans of spoken word artists, and for readers of Danez Smith, Shane Book, Aisha Sasha John, and Leanne Betasamosake Simpson.

ENERGETIC, EXCITING, PROLIFIC VOICE: In addition to writing two poetry collections, Lettricity and Maple Leaf Rag, and a novel, Accordeon, Kellough has released two audio recordings, Vox: Versus and Creole Continuum. He is a practitioner of vocal sound poetry. His work multiplies and layers voice, while exploring the fundamentals of language-production.

AWARD FINALIST: A finalist for the League of Canadian Poets SHERI-D WILSON GOLDEN BERET AWARD to honour a Canadian spoken word artist who has made a substantial contribution to the development of spoken word, through the originality and excellence of his or her own writing/performance works, and through involvement in—and contributions to—the expansion of the spoken word community.

KAIE KELLOUGH is a novelist, poet, and sound performer. He is the author of the novel Accordéon, which was a finalist for the Amazon.ca First Novel Award, two books of poetry, Lettricity and Maple Leaf Rag, and two albums, Vox:Versus and Creole Continuum. He has performed and published internationally. He lives in Montréal, Quebec.

Author Residence: Montreal, QC

Publicity: Limited review coverage in outlets like the Globe and Mail

Poetry launch - Toronto

Support author events

Author Website: www.kaie.ca

Author Social Media: @kkaaiiee

Praise for Kaie Kellough:

“A black diasporic, jazzy-bluesy rumination on notions of place and identity in this 21st century. Whether commenting on encounters of racism in Calgary schoolyards or delivering brief lessons on the secret history of Canadian Blacks in B.C., Ontario, Quebec, and Nova Scotia, or ruminating on farther-flung locales like Harlem, New Orleans, and the U.K., Kellough’s poems remain rooted in personal experience, with a voice that’s sometimes acerbic, often ironic, occasionally angry, but always compassionate, a voice which carries a high level of commitment to the craft of the poet.”—Rabble.ca

of 11

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.