Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

McClelland & Stewart, Spring 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780771061486 9780771061479 Electronic book text, EPUB 9780771061509 Downloadable audio file 9780771061493 Downloadable audio file, $24.95 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:May 07, 2019 Carton Quantity:24
  • Catalogues

Dirty Work
My Gruelling, Glorious, Life-changing Summer In the Wilderness
By (author): Anna Maxymiw
9780771061462 Paperback, Trade English General Trade BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs May 07, 2019
$24.95 CAD
Active 5.74 x 8.24 x 0.78 in | 0.68 lb 288 pages McClelland & Stewart
Shortlisted for the Louise de Kiriline Lawrence Award for Nonfiction

Lands of Lost Borders meets The Electric Woman in this vibrant coming-of-age memoir about a young woman’s fierce, filthy, exhausting, and joyous experience working at a wilderness lodge.


When Anna Maxymiw accepts a summer job as a housekeeper at a fishing lodge in Northern Ontario, she has little idea what to expect. At twenty-three, she has decided to step away from her master’s degree and city life to board a floatplane bound for the remote boreal forest.

For sixty-seven days, Anna will be working and living alongside twelve strangers. Together this group of young men and women will keep the lodge running. While the fishing guides head out on the water with the fishermen who are the lodge’s guests, the women stay on land to clean and serve. Against the backdrop of a vast lake, wild storms, and hot days and eerily still nights, Anna encounters bears, bugs, and the lore surrounding the lake’s legendary pike. As the summer progresses, complex (and sometimes fraught) bonds form between the men and women who work at the lodge, the ownership of the lodge changes hands, and tensions build. And Anna notices a shift in her outlook, too: she finds herself letting go of fears and insecurities and welcoming surprises and possibilities, both good and bad, with a willingness to be changed by them.

Warm, funny, vulnerable, and wise, Dirty Work offers a singular perspective on the age-old impulse to leave familiar surroundings behind. This memoir is for anyone who has ever felt the urge to test themselves and wondered how they’d fare and who they’d be when they come out on the other side.

Story Locale: Northern Ontario

FOR FANS OF CONFESSIONAL MEMOIR: And young writers like Patricia Lockwood who tackle deeply personal, relatable material that comes from their own experiences of early adulthood. Like Lockwood, Maxymiw’s ear for dialogue is incredible, and her voice is intimate, and engaging, and she writes with rare insight and clarity that will force readers to consider their own experiences anew.

OPPORTUNTY TO REACH BEYOND ONE DEMOGRAPHIC: This honest, unglamorous look at what it’s like to work in a wilderness lodge is perfect for millennial readers, a phase of life where a summer of work away is a present reality. But there’s also opportunity to reach beyond that readership because this book will be deeply relatable for those in their thirties and up—in particular, it’s a book for people who have fond memories of a “summer away” when they were younger, whether it’s tree-planting or working as a camp counsellor.

EXQUISITE WRITING ABOUT THE NATURAL WORLD: This book is for readers of Kate Harris’s Lands of Lost Borders and Kathleen Winter’s Boundless and any reader who appreciates vivid, beautiful descriptions of the natural world.

M&S’S ENERGETIC, TALENTED YOUNG NON-FICTION WRITERS: Anna Maxymiw is one of a handful of dynamic new writers. She’s very well connected, savvy, and will be a strong promoter of her work on social media and everywhere else.

ANNA MAXYMIW’s writing has appeared in The Globe and Mail, Maclean’s, Hazlitt, and Maisonneuve, and has won a National Magazine Award. She lives in Toronto.

Author Residence: Toronto

Author Hometown: Toronto

Marketing: - influencer outreach

- early giveaways

- social advertising

Author Website: annamaxymiw.ca

Author Social Media: Twitter: @maxymiw / Instagram: @maxymiw

“What a luminous and surprising book this is. Anna Maxymiw lands in the middle of the wilderness and turns her sharp and compassionate eye on everything she sees, whether it’s a fish, bear, outhouse, or fellow housekeeper. She finds them all fascinating, and through the gift of her storytelling so do we." –Elizabeth Renzetti, author of Shrewed

“Anna Maxymiw is a beautiful writer. She weaves her memories into a vibrant and spectacular narrative that makes it impossible to stop reading. I'm in awe of her willingness to be so open and candid and honest and warm, and we're all very lucky she lets us go with her on such an incredible and transformative adventure. She also achieved the impossible: she made me want to spend time outdoors.” –Anne T. Donahue, author of Nobody Cares

“Crows, shit, water wolves, and pheromones whirl in Maxymiw’s bush camp tense with rigid gender roles, its wildness framed by surprising portraits of the two cities she left behind.” –Kathleen Winter, author of Lost in September

Dirty Work is a sparkling gem of a book, showcasing the enduring, complex magic of this country’s unforgiving yet rewarding terrain. Beyond being an exquisite writer, Maxymiw has a real gift for revealing the glory and the cruelty, the beauty and the filth of both the natural and human world. We are lucky to have her perspective and singular voice—one that’s not only refreshing, but necessary.” –Stacey May Fowles, author of Baseball Life Advice

“Anna Maxymiw's writing is utterly magnetic and captivating. Her most stunning achievement is the overwhelming generosity she injects into every word. Generosity for the sketchy airplane engines, for the bears, for the temperamental housekeepers and moody guests—generosity even for the f***ing pike. As Maxymiw opens herself up to the boreal forest, to an unforgiving wilderness, she invites us in to spend time laughing with her, crying with her, and maybe even accidentally extending some of that generosity to ourselves.” –Elamin Abdelmahmoud

"[Maxymiw] reminds us of the enormity and unruliness of the Canadian wilderness. Maxymiw writes with painterly prose and a strong sense of humour. She makes the landscape seem mythic, grotesque, boring, itchy, and magical, swallowing any contradictions whole.” --Maisonneuve

"Dirty Work is warm and wise, a funny take on summer camp from a worker's point of view." --The Sun Times (Owen Sound)

of 11

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.