Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Leads Winter 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Priory of the Orange Tree
By (author): Samantha Shannon
9781635570298 Hardcover, Dust jacket English General Trade FICTION / Fantasy / Epic Feb 26, 2019 Print Run: 75000
$40.00 CAD
Active 6.71 x 9.37 x 2.4 in 848 pages Bloomsbury Bloomsbury Publishing

TheNew York Timesbestselling "epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans ofGame of Thrones" (Bustle).

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction--but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

Samantha Shannon studied English Language and Literature at St. Anne’s College, Oxford.The Bone Season, the first in a seven-book series, was aNew York Times bestseller and the inauguralToday Book Club selection.The Mime Order followed in 2015 andThe Song Risingin 2017. Her work has been translated into twenty-six languages. She lives in London.

@say_shannon
www.theboneseason.com

- starred review from Kirkus
- starred review from Booklist
- 75k print run
- Publishers Weekly review
- over 6k copies of The Bone Season sold in HC in Canada
- received rave reviews from Karen Marie Moning, Victoria Aveyard, and more

"Mesmerizing." -Washington Post

"A timelessly relevant classic. Brilliant, diverse, feminist, subversive, thought-provoking, and masterfully told,The Priory of the Orange Tree is an absolute must-read." -Karen Marie Moning, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Highlander and Fever series

"A brilliant, daring, and devastating jewel . . . An incredible world full of depth and danger, with characters I would follow to the ends of the earth. I'm in awe of [Shannon's] talent." -Victoria Aveyard, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Red Queen series

"An epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of ‘Game of Thrones’ . . . A rich and engaging high fantasy novel that puts women and their stories front and center,The Priory of the Orange Tree will pull you into its magical world from the first page." -Bustle

"An intricately realized and feminist fantasy . . . one might even be tempted to dub Samantha Shannon, ‘The female George R.R. Martin." -Hypable

"A fascinating epic fantasy set in a rich, well-developed world. Shannon has created fertile narrative ground." -New York Review of Books

"This magnificent epic of queens, dragonriders, and badass secret wyrm-slaying priestesses is a tour de force, and my new absolute favorite epic fantasy." -Laini Taylor, NYT bestselling author of the Strange the Dreamer and Daughter of Smoke and Bone series

"Spellbinding . . . extraordinary . . . A well-drawn feminist fantasy with broad appeal for fans of the epic and readers of Zen Cho, Naomi Novik, and V. E. Schwab. Highly recommended." -Booklist, starred review

"A celebration of fantasy that melds modern ideology with classic tropes. More of these dragons, please." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"An astonishing achievement." -Marie Brennan, award-winning author of The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

"An epic fantasy destined to be a classic." -Kami Garcia, #1 NYT bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable

"The Platonic Ideal of a fantasy novel . . . This story of good and evil, struggle and triumph, love and loss and return is beautifully written: complex but clear, and utterly immersive. I loved this book." -Nicola Griffith, award-winning author of Hild

"The Priory of the Orange Tree isn't our grandfathers' epic fantasy novel. It is a clever combination of Elizabethan England, the legend of St. George and Eastern dragon lore, with a dash of Tolkien. Shannon's feminist saga has enough detailed world-building, breath-taking action and sweeping romance to remind epic fantasy readers of why they love the genre in the first place. Modern sensibilities integrate seamlessly with genre tropes . . . Readers will beg for a sequel." -Shelf Awareness

"Shannon satisfyingly fills this massive standalone epic fantasy with court intrigue, travel through dangerous lands, fantastical religions, blood, love, and rhetoric." -Publishers Weekly

of 145

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.