Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

ECW Press Spring 2019 Trade

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Mahoney’s Camaro
A Crime Novel
By (author): Michael Clark
9781770414037 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Crime May 28, 2019
$18.95 CAD
Active 5 x 7.75 x 0.73 in 320 pages ECW Press

Racing to find a killer before he strikes again, an unlikely investigator is haunted by an even more unlikely source in this gripping crime novel

“Clark writes well and has created some amusingly zany characters.” — Publishers Weekly on Clean Sweep

It’s the summer of 1985 and mechanic Steve Mahoney is dreaming big about owning his own shop. He’s getting there as slowly as possible, working one night shift at a time for a local towing company. One night, called to retrieve a car from the murky Red River, Mahoney finds the replacement body to his prized but damaged ’67 Camaro. There’s also a body inside the car, handcuffed to the steering wheel. Mahoney’s able to snap the Camaro up cheap at a salvage auction, but once he’s restored the car to its former glory, he discovers that its last driver is standard spectral equipment on his new ride, and she’s not leaving until she finds out who sent her to a watery grave.

Mahoney’s Camaro is a gritty, fast-paced crime novel that will appeal to fans of Ron Corbett and Stuart MacBride. Combining expertise in the automotive world and a passion for storytelling, Michael J. Clark delivers an action-packed joyride that will grip you until the last page.

Short Description

It’s summer, 1985, and mechanic Steve Mahoney is dreaming about owning his own shop. One night, he finds the replacement body to his prized but damaged ’67 Camaro in the river...with a body handcuffed to the steering wheel. He soon finds out he’s gotten more than he bargained for.

Sales and Market Bullets


  • Author was an automotive journalist before retiring in 2015.

  • Clark came up with the idea of the body in the car from hearing a story from the ’80s about a similar incident in his hometown of Winnipeg.

  • For fans of Stephen King’s Christine.

Audience


  • Thriller readers

  • Fans of paranormal thrillers

  • Skews male

  • Winnipeg regional appeal

Michael J. Clark began his career in the field of automotive journalism, winning national awards in Canada for his writing and photography. After retiring from reporting on all things car in 2015, Clark wrote his first novel, Clean Sweep. He lives in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

“Those looking for a giddy, goofy adventure will have fun.” — Publishers Weekly

“Clark handily maintains positive forward momentum throughout, glorifying cars and car lore the way Stephen Hunter glorifies guns, seeding his narrative, set in mid-1980s Manitoba, with generous dollops of good humor and great character turns from even the most minor members of his cast. Let's put it this way: a book that successfully evokes the films Ghost and Christine, and the novels of Thorne Smith (Topper, especially), Elmore Leonard (the criminal element involved is as engaging and sometimes more sympathetic than the book's protagonist, a truly winning lot), and Stephen King (Christine, again) is not one to be missed. So don't.” — Mystery Scene Magazine

“Clark offers a tongue-in-cheek paranormal mystery guaranteed to make you smile . . . Mahoney's Camaro is a quick, fun read, perfect for summer travel.” — Ottawa Review of Books

“A must-read book filled with action packed shenanigans, and a keeper for gear heads.” — New York Journal of Books

“Combining expertise in the automotive world and a passion for storytelling, Michael J. Clark delivers an action-packed joyride that will grip you until the last page. Haunted cars FTW!” — 49th Shelf

of 23

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.