Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

February 2019 Fiction: Canadian

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Deep River Night
A Novel
By (author): Patrick Lane
9780771048197 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Feb 12, 2019
$21.00 CAD
Active 5.2 x 7.99 x 0.94 in 416 pages McClelland & Stewart
From bestselling author Patrick Lane: In the style of Cormac McCarthy, Russell Banks, and Annie Proulx, Deep River Night is set over the course of forty-eight hours in a remote sawmill community, where violence, complicity, and inaction run deep.

World War II vet Art Kenning is the alcoholic first-aid man in an isolated sawmill village in the interior of B.C., where he dreads the sound of the five whistles that summon him to the mill floor whenever a worker is hurt. Traumatized by an incident in Holland, when he stood by while members of his unit committed a horrific act, he loses himself in drink, and in memories of the love affair he had with a woman in wartime Paris. But the sad comfort of his self-imposed detachment is shattered when one of the most powerful men at the mill arrives at his door late one evening to ask for his help. What unfolds over the course of that night and following day will force Art to confront acts of evil, both in the present and the past, as well as the tragic consequences of his own inaction.

Alternating with Art’s story are the stories of Joel, a teenaged runaway who owes his life to Art; Wang Po, the mill’s cook and a survivor of the Rape of Nanjing; Alice, a young Indigenous girl sold from a residential school; and Cliff, a Metis man with a hidden past. These lives, and more, intertwine to reveal a complex, morally ambiguous community where the undercurrents of violence and complicity are never far from the surface.

Writing with exquisite precision and emotional force, Patrick Lane gives us a novel whose darkness is fractured by moments of light. Deep River Night is a riveting story about the burden of bearing witness to a terrible crime.

Publication History: McClelland & Stewart, HC (02/2018)

AUDIENCE: For readers of Cormac McCarthy’s No Country for Old Men, Michael Punke’s The Revenant, Ian McGuire’s The North Water, Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone, Charles Frazier’s Nightwoods, Guy Vanderhaeghe’s Frontier Trilogy, and Annie Proulx’s Barkskins.

MUCH-ANTICIPATED SECOND NOVEL: Red Dog, Red Dog was a finalist for the Amazon.ca/Books in Canada First Novel Award and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, and was longlisted for the Giller Prize.

SPEAKING FROM EXPERIENCE: Lane has drawn on his first-hand experiences—both as a first-aid man in an isolated sawmill village, and as an addict—to give this novel its visceral details.

PATRICK LANE’s first novel, Red Dog, Red Dog, was a finalist for the Amazon.ca/Books in Canada First Novel Award and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, and was longlisted for the Giller Prize. Lane is one of Canada’s pre-eminent poets, and his distinguished career spans fifty years and twenty-five volumes of poetry. His memoir, There Is a Season, won the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence and the inaugural British Columbia Award for Canadian Non-fiction, and was also a finalist for the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction, the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, the Pearson Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Prize, and the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award for Non-Fiction. He has been a writer in residence and teacher at Concordia University in Montreal, Quebec, the University of Victoria in British Columbia, and the University of Toronto in Ontario. Patrick Lane lives near Victoria, B.C., with his wife, the poet Lorna Crozier.

Author Residence: Victoria, B.C.

Author Website: www.patricklane.ca

“Patrick Lane is one of the finest writers I know.”—David Adams Richards, author of Principles to Live By

“Patrick Lane offers us a wise, profound meditation on loss, longing, and the struggle for redemption…. Deep River Night is a wonder.”—Guy Vanderhaeghe, author of Daddy Lenin and Other Stories

“A mourning book, elegiac, bloody, all fire and ashes, but taking great care for what gentleness may be left in the world.”—Marina Endicott, author of Close to Hugh

“Ablaze with a savage compassion…. A gorgeous, furious achievement, a work of art of the highest order.”—Steven Price, author of By Gaslight

“A heavy novel to be sure, but in its best moments—including a final scene so perfectly executed it feels like a magic trick—it provides a weightless, ecstatic sense of lift.”—Quill & Quire

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.