Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

February 2019 Fiction: Canadian

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780735273757 9780735277595 Downloadable audio file 9780735273740 Electronic book text, EPUB 9780735277588 Downloadable audio file
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Random House, Inc. Availability: On Sale Date: Feb 19, 2019 Carton Quantity: 24 $24.95 CAD
  • Catalogues

Into That Fire
By (author): M. J. Cates
9780735273764 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Women Feb 19, 2019
$24.95 CAD
Active 6.22 x 9.21 x 1.16 in 432 pages Knopf Random Vintage Canada Random House Canada
Fans of Ian McEwan and Paula McLain will fall for this absorbing novel about love and madness, the toll of the First World War and family secrets, and an extraordinary woman’s struggle to succeed in a man’s world.

Imogen is going to hurt Quentin, and she can’t bear it. He has been her only friend and confidant during her time at medical school in Chicago, but he wants more than friendship and she doesn’t. Unlike most well-brought-up young women in 1916, Imogen does not want to be a wife—she wants to become one of the country’s first female psychiatrists. And she has just accepted a residency at the world-leading Phipps Clinic in Baltimore that will take her away from her best friend and toward that future.

Quentin is shattered by her rejection, and heads across the border to sign up with the Canadian Expeditionary Force; in one of his only cruel moments, he tells Imogen that he does not have the nerve to kill himself so he’ll let the Germans do the job for him. While Quentin encounters unthinkable horrors on the battlefields, Imogen faces her own struggles, whether it is the sexism that constrains her or the barbaric practices that are accepted as treatments and “cures” for the mentally ill. When she’s told that Quentin has been killed in France, she falls into a bleak depression over what she has sacrificed to pursue her dream, which eventually leads her to a deeper empathy for her patients and even more passion to find real ways to help them. Soon, her actions in pursuit of that goal put her on a collision course with the powers-that-be. And lead her to a further reckoning with what Quentin means to her.

Into That Fire is an engrossing novel about a remarkable woman with a haunted past trying to carve out a winning future for herself. At its heart, it’s a love story about uncovering one’s true desires.

Story Locale: Chicago, Baltimore, the battlefields of France, New York

ILLUMINATING: Just as McEwan did in Atonement, and Colm Toibin did in Brooklyn, M.J. Cates brings the era of Into That Fire to brilliant life.

WHO IS THE AUTHOR? M.J. Cates is a pseudonym for an established and prize-winning author. There will be buzz!

REAL PSYCHIATRIC HISTORY: Gripping scenes at The Phipps Clinic (Zelda Fitzgerald was a patient there) and scandalizing ones at the Trenton Hospital, which really did kill many patients with its “surgical cure.”

REAL BATTLES: One of Canada’s biggest battles of WWI, Hill 70, is stunningly depicted. Total casualties were over 9,000 and close to 2,000 Canadian soldiers lost their lives over 10 days, holding the hill against 21 German counterattacks.

M.J. CATES was born in Canada, studied psychology and literature at the University of Toronto, and has lived at various times in South Kensington, North London, and Ottawa, writing many novels and winning several awards under another name.

Marketing: Reader Group Guide for book clubs

Facebook advertising

Instagram advertising

Influencer advertising

Publicity: Review coverage in outlets like the Globe and Mail

Select blogger coverage

Pitch Anne Collins for CBC radio interview - CBC The Next Chapter (tbc)

“Scenes set on the battfields of the First World War feel as though they were written by someone who has been there…An ambitious and captivating novel.” —Winnipeg Free Press

“Will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr, Paula McLain and who-wrote-it, secret-author mysteries.” —The Globe and Mail

“The portrait that Cates paints of the ghastly mental health treatments of the early twentieth century is fascinating. But the impact of this novel is not just intellectual; it’s emotional too. A sweeping story that compels from start to finish.” —Toronto Star

“M. J. Cates blends fact and fiction in a wide-ranging story that defies categorization…it has a timeless quality, exploring ideas of reality vs. perception, friendship and fidelity, self-delusion and self-discovery, all tied together with a thread of star-crossed romance.” —The Sudbury Star  
 
“Imogen Lang, a brilliant young student of psychiatry in Baltimore during the First World War, is searching for answers to life’s most elemental questions in the troubled lives of her patients and the insights of her new profession. She is haunted by a painful past, yet that past also gifts her with particular insight and empathy. Then Imogen’s world is shattered by a horrible betrayal, which forces her into a personal reckoning that is both poignant and inspiring—and resonates loudly today. In Cates’s masterful hands, she and the other characters are revealed in bursts of gut-wrenching truths, and carried by a galloping, enthralling narrative about women, life, love, heartache and redemption.” —Lori Lansens, bestselling author of The Girls and The Mountain Story

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.