Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

February 2019 Non-Fiction: Canadian

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Evil
The Science Behind Humanity's Dark Side
By (author): Julia Shaw
9780385690294 Paperback, Trade English General Trade PSYCHOLOGY / Personality Feb 19, 2019
$24.00 CAD
Active 6 x 8.99 x 0.81 in 320 pages Doubleday Canada
An original and scientifically rigorous exploration of the darkest recesses of the human mind.

What is it about evil that we find so compelling? From our obsession with serial killers to violence in pop culture, we seem inescapably drawn to the stories of monstrous acts and the aberrant people who commit them.

But evil, Dr. Julia Shaw argues, is all relative, rooted in our unique cultures. What one may consider normal, like sex before marriage, eating meat or being a banker, others may find abhorrent. And if evil is only in the eye of the beholder, can it be said to exist at all?

In Evil, Dr. Shaw uses case studies from academia, examples from popular culture and anecdotes from everyday life to break down complex information and concepts such as the neuroscience of evil, the psychology of bloodlust and workplace misbehaviour. In grappling with thorny dilemmas—from “Would I kill baby Hitler?” to “Why do I want to murder my spouse?”—Dr. Shaw offers readers a better understanding of the world, ourselves and our Google search histories.

TOPICAL: Everyone is trying to make sense of this dark time for international affairs and U.S. politics.

FOR FANS OF: Readers have flocked to books on psychopaths and “a**ssholes,” and Evil’s broad range of fresh, engaging science should get lots of attention. Will appeal to fans of Jon Ronson and Kevin Dutton.

MEDIA DARLING: Shaw is a natural, and has been extensively featured for her research.

DON’T FORGET: Shaw’s first book, The Memory Illusion, was an international bestseller and has sold in 14 languages.

DR. JULIA SHAW is the author of the international bestselling popular science book The Memory Illusion and a senior lecturer and researcher in the Department of Law and Social Sciences at London South Bank University. Her academic work, teaching and role as an expert witness focus on different ways of understanding criminal behaviour. Dr. Shaw regularly works as an expert witness in various jurisdictions to advise on historical sexual abuse and murder cases. She has delivered training workshops for the police and military and given guest lectures at business conferences and universities around the world. Her work has been featured in such outlets as the Discovery Channel, the BBC, CNN, NPR, Der Spiegel, Russia Today, The Times (UK) and New York Magazine. A Canadian citizen, Dr. Shaw has a BA from Simon Fraser University and a PhD from the University of British Columbia.

Author Residence: London, UK

Marketing: Targeted Instagram advertising

Targeted Facebook advertising

Boosted posts on Twitter of most compelling media hits

Focus of PRHC/DDC social media accounts

Potential Spotify advertising



Publicity: National CBC Radio coverage

National print coverage

Extensive outreach to science and lifestyle media

Tour: Toronto



Author Website: drjuliashaw.com

Author Social Media: Twitter: @drjuliashaw

Praise for The Memory Illusion:

“Shaw’s debut book is a spryly paced, fun, sometimes frightening exploration of how we remember—and why everyone remembers things that never truly happened…. Shaw’s quirky charm enlivens the book throughout.” —Pacific Standard

“Truly fascinating.”—BBC Radio 2

of 38

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.