Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

February 2019 Fiction: Literary

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781984802620 Hardback, $37 CAD 9780451490780 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB 9781984883117 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Feb 19, 2019 Carton Quantity:24
  • Catalogues

The Secret of Clouds
By (author): Alyson Richman
9780451490773 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Feb 19, 2019
$22.00 CAD
Active 5.3 x 8 x 1 in 384 pages Berkley
From the #1 international bestselling author of The Velvet Hours and The Lost Wife comes a novel about a teacher who learns the value of life’s darkest moments from a boy who can’t take any day for granted…

In her second year teaching sixth-grade English, Maggie Topper is chosen for a special assignment: to privately tutor a student with serious health issues that prevent him from attending class with other kids. Although she agrees to the assignment, her decision is clouded with painful memories from her own childhood.

It isn’t easy for her to make a connection with Yuri Krasny, the son of two Ukrainian immigrants, until Maggie uncovers his passion for baseball. As she uses the sport to get Yuri more interested in her lessons, he begins to slowly open up to her. Piece by piece his story comes together, starting back when his mother, a ballerina in Kiev, met an earnest young student hoping for a better future…before a terrible accident changed their lives forever.

Yuri’s boundless curiosity and unique wisdom inspire Maggie to make difficult changes in her own life. And she’ll never realize just how strong Yuri has made her—until she needs that strength the most…

Story Locale: 1990s Long Island, NY

Alyson Richman is the international bestselling author of The Velvet Hours, The Garden of Letters, The Lost Wife, The Last Van Gogh, The Rhythm of Memory, and The Mask Carver’s Son. She lives on Long Island, New York, with her husband and two children.

Author Residence: Huntington Bay, NY

Marketing: Prepub trade advertising

Online advertising campaign

E-mail marketing campaign

ARC distribution and giveaways

IndieBound campaign

NetGalley campaign

Early reader review campaign

Social media campaign

Consumer sweepstakes

Library marketing campaign

Book club outreach

Discussion guide bound in book

Feature on Read It Forward, First to Read, Brightly, Signature Reads

Backlist promotions



Publicity: Regional author tour

National broadcast publicity

National radio publicity

National print publicity

Online publicity campaign

Author blog tour



Author Website: alysonrichman.com

Author Social Media: @aylsonrichman; facebook.com/thelostwife

Praise for The Secret of Clouds

“Alyson Richman is known for her stunning historical fiction (The Lost Wife is being made into a movie as we speak!), but her first foray into a contemporary story will make you forget about the past…. The Secret of Clouds is a moving story about the power of one person to change our lives.”?PopSugar

"Historical fiction doyenne Alyson Richman makes her foray into the contemporary with a riveting tale that explores the bond between an isolated student and his connection to the outside world: his tutor."?Instyle

“An exquisite story…Richman’s great strength in designing the emotional ebb and flow of her engaging narrative should win accolades and a heap of new readers.”?Washington Independent Review of Books

“Richman writes a captivating…contemporary novel of making unexpected friendships and living life to its fullest. For fans of Marie Bostwick and Karen White.”?Library Journal

“With lyrical writing and a compelling story…this book is tailor-made for book groups.”—Booklist

“Long renowned as a master of historical fiction, Alyson Richman spreads her wings and soars with the contemporary story…The Secret of Clouds is an unforgettable gift.”—Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan’s Tale

“A story of family bonds, heartbreak, healing and hope—one that reminds us it is not how long we live but how well we live that matters most. The tenderly written ending will bring you to tears, but in the best possible way.”—Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours

“A tender, captivating, and ultimately satisfying story about the emotional gifts exchanged between a caring teacher and a student in need. Thank you, Alyson Richman, for another heartrending tale.”—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

“Exquisite and haunting. Richman writes with the soul of a poet, and her captivating new novel enchants while tugging ever so gently at the heart. Her story stands as a reminder to never take any day for granted.”—Fiona Davis, national bestselling author of The Masterpiece

"Alyson Richman weaves an emotionally rich story of love, loss, and the resilience of the human spirit. The Secrets of Clouds will soar off the page and into your heart."—Jamie Brenner, national bestselling author of The Husband Hour

"Alyson Richman captures the gift of love—for family, and those who feel like family—with her pen dipped first in truth, then crystalline tenderness, and finally compassion. The Secret of Clouds immersed me in the world of a teacher’s caring, an immigrant family’s heroism, and a child’s courage. Richman writes like a dream."—Randy Susan Meyers, internationally bestselling author of The Widow of Wall Street

“In her new novel, Alyson Richman weaves storytelling magic with an extraordinary cast of characters: a compassionate young teacher, a precocious but ailing student, and an immigrant couple with a uniquely tragic past. Readers have come to expect Richman’s luscious prose and vivid details, but in The Secret of Clouds, she delivers even more – I was thoroughly captivated by this deeply personal tale of perseverance, acceptance, and the heart’s capacity for love.”—Lynda Cohen Loigman, author of The Two-Family House

“[A] devastating novel…bolstered by Richman’s perspective on how teachers and students can learn from each other, resulting in a heartening tale.”?Publishers Weekly

Praise for the novels of Alyson Richman

“A truly beautiful, heartfelt story… I couldn’t put it down once I started it. Ms. Richman is a very special talent.”—Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author

“Richman deftly weaves fact and fiction to create…a carefully wrought story of love, of what the heart chooses to give up, and what it chooses to keep.”—Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

“A book as full of treasures as the Paris apartment that inspired it....A masterful mix of the glamour of the Belle Epoque and the shadows of impending war.”—Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author

“Staggeringly evocative, romantic, heartrending, sensual, and beautifully written.”—John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author

“If you love graceful, mellifluous writing, you should read this book.”—Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author

“Grabs your heart and doesn’t let go…Moving, unforgettable and so expertly told.”—Sarah Jio, New York Times bestselling author

”Lyrical and rich…filled with beauty and tragedy, romance and heartbreak.”—Jillian Cantor, author of Margot

of 56

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.