Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Adult Hardcover & Trade Paperback Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Spying on the South
An Odyssey Across the American Divide
By (author): Tony Horwitz
9781101980286 Hardcover English General Trade HISTORY / United States / 19th Century May 14, 2019
$40.00 CAD
Active 6.33 x 9.5 x 1.46 in 496 pages 4 MAPS; 3 B&W PHOTOS Penguin Press
The best-selling author of Confederates in the Attic returns to the South and the Civil War era for an epic adventure on the trail of America’s greatest landscape architect.

In the 1850s, the young Frederick Law Olmsted was adrift, a restless farmer and dreamer in search of a mission. He found it during an extraordinary journey, as an undercover correspondent in the South for the up-and-coming New York Times.

For the Connecticut Yankee, pen name “Yeoman,” the South was alien, often hostile territory. Yet Olmsted traveled for 14 months, by horseback, steamboat, and stagecoach, seeking dialogue and common ground. His vivid dispatches about the lives and beliefs of Southerners were revelatory for readers of his day, and Yeoman’s remarkable trek also reshaped the American landscape, as Olmsted sought to reform his own society by creating democratic spaces for the uplift of all. The result: Central Park and Olmsted’s career as America’s first and foremost landscape architect.

Tony Horwitz rediscovers Yeoman Olmsted amidst the discord and polarization of our own time. Is America still one country? In search of answers, and his own adventures, Horwitz follows Olmsted’s tracks and often his mode of transport (including muleback): through Appalachia, down the Mississippi River, into bayou Louisiana, and across Texas to the contested Mexican borderland. Venturing far off beaten paths, Horwitz uncovers bracing vestiges and strange new mutations of the Cotton Kingdom. Horwitz’s intrepid and often hilarious journey through an outsized American landscape is a masterpiece in the tradition of Great Plains, Bad Land, and the author’s own classic, Confederates in the Attic.

BESTSELLING AUTHOR, PULITZER PRIZE WINNER: Horwitz’s seven books have sold hundreds of thousands of copies and won widespread critical acclaim.

MASTER OF HISTORICAL TRAVELOGUES: In other books, Horwitz has followed Captain Cook, conquistadors, and Confederates. Spying on the South tells the story of the antebellum South versus today.

UNTOLD STORY OF FATHER OF CENTRAL PARK: Fredrick Law Olmsted is known for founding landscape architecture, but in his youth he was also a journalist, farmer, and abolitionist.

Tony Horwitz is a native of Washington, D.C., and a graduate of Brown University and Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism. As a foreign correspondent, he covered wars and conflict in the Middle East, Africa, and Eastern Europe, mainly for the Wall Street Journal. Returning to the U.S., he won a Pulitzer Prize for national reporting and wrote for the New Yorker. He has also been a fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study and president of the Society of American Historians. Tony’s books include the national bestsellers Confederates in the Attic, Blue Latitudes, Baghdad Without a Map and A Voyage Long and Strange. He and his wife, novelist Geraldine Brooks, have two sons and live in Massachusetts.

Author Residence: Martha’s Vineyard, MA

Marketing: National advertising campaign

Outreach to history, politics, and civil rights communities

Comprehensive online and social media campaign

Academic marketing and library promotions



Publicity: Pre-publication buzz campaign

National author tour

National and regional review coverage

National broadcast campaign

Radio satellite tour

Political and history media and print features

Op-eds at publication



Author Website: www.tonyhorwitz.com/

Author Social Media: Twitter @TonyHorwitz

Pre-publication blurbs:

“Like his classic Confederates in the Attic, this book will be read, remembered, and treasured.”—Jon Meacham, Pulitzer-Prize-winning historian and author of The Soul of America

Spying on the South kept me turning the pages to see what frightening and funny revelation was coming next.”—Ian Frazier, author of Great Plains and Travels in Siberia

of 383

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.