Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Adult Hardcover & Trade Paperback Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
The Brink of Being
Talking About Miscarriage
By (author): Julia Bueno
9780143133230 Paperback, Trade English General Trade HEALTH & FITNESS / Women's Health Jul 02, 2019
$22.00 CAD
Active 5.09 x 7.7 x 0.58 in 320 pages Penguin Books
“Wise and compassionate…a profound game-changer of a book.”—Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You

Though approximately one in four pregnancies ends in miscarriage, it remains a rarely talked about, under-researched, and largely misunderstood area of women’s health. This profoundly necessary book—the first comprehensive portrait of the psychological, emotional, medical, and cultural aspects of miscarriage—aims to help break that silence.

With candor, warmth, and empathy, psychotherapist Julia Bueno blends women’s stories (including her own) with research and analysis, exploring the effect of pregnancy loss on women and highlighting the ways in which our society fails to effectively respond to it. The result is a galvanizing, urgent, and moving exploration of a too-often-hidden human experience, and a crucial resource for anyone struggling with—or seeking to better understand—miscarriage.

THE FIRST OF ITS KIND: All of the books currently available on this subject are either self-help guides or memoirs. In the tradition of The Noonday Demon, The Emperor of All Maladies and My Stroke of Insight,The Brink of Being is the first book to take an interdisciplinary approach to this major, pervasive health issue, blending individual stories with scientific and historical research to achieve a wide-ranging narrative as informative as it is moving.

THE LAST TABOO IN WOMEN’S HEALTH: With prominent people like Ariel Levy, Ali Wong, Gabrielle Union, and Mark Zuckerberg beginning to write and speak publicly about their experiences with it, miscarriage is becoming less taboo, but we still have a long way to go in understanding and supporting women through this devastating experience—both from a medical standpoint and a societal one. This book both encourages and facilitates greater understanding of and openness around a women’s health issue that affects hundreds of thousands each year.

AUTHOR HAS DEDICATED HER LIFE TO THIS ISSUE: After Julia Bueno’s first miscarriage, she began to volunteer for the Miscarriage Association in the UK, where she campaigned for miscarriage education, and soon quit her job in tech to retrain as a psychotherapist. Having spent the past fifteen years working with women struggling with infertility, miscarriage, and pregnancy loss, she is a true authority on this issue, and her expertise and empathy are apparent on every page.

Julia Bueno is a psychotherapist who specializes in working with women who have experienced pregnancy loss or struggled to conceive. Her writing has been published in The Times (UK), Express, Therapy Today, and welldoing.org, among others. She lives in London with her husband and two sons.

Author Residence: London, United Kingdom

Marketing: Social media and online promotion

Academic marketing and library promotions

JuliaBueno.co.uk / Twitter / Instagram



Publicity: Print and online reviews and features

National radio interviews

Health and parenting media attention



Author Website: JuliaBueno.co.uk

Author Social Media: Twitter: @JBueno_UKCP; Instagram: @Julia_Bueno_Therapist

Advance praise for The Brink of Being:

[A] profound game-changer of a book that can not only support women, but can help reshape a society that often ignores or sweeps women’s issues under that proverbial rug.“—Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Is this Tomorrow

”The sort of book that women have long been searching for…Thanks to Bueno’s radical empathy and openness, the reader comes away more consoled than heartbroken, and more curious than afraid.“—Meaghan O’Connell, author of And Now We Have Everything

”A thoughtful work that identifies and honors an important passage of life for a great many women."—Julia Leigh, author of Avalanche

of 383

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.