Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Adult Hardcover & Trade Paperback Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
CAT IN THE STACKS MYSTERY 11
The Pawful Truth
By (author): Miranda James
9780451491121 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Cozy / Cats & Dogs Jul 16, 2019
$35.00 CAD
Active 6.22 x 9.31 x 1.04 in 304 pages Berkley
When Charlie Harris decides to go back to school, he and his Maine Coon cat, Diesel, find themselves entangled in a deadly lovers quarrel on campus in the latest installment of the New York Times bestselling series.

In addition to his library duties and his role as doting grandad, Charlie has enrolled in an early medieval history course offered by young, charismatic professor Carey Warriner. Charlie feels a bit out of place- his fellow classmates are half his age- except for Dixie Bell Compton, another ’mature’ student. When Charlie hears an angry exchange between her and their professor, his interest in piqued. He’s even more intrigued when she shows up at his office asking for a study partner. Charlie turns her down and is saddened to learn just a few days later that Dixie has been killed.

Charlie wonders if Professor Warriner had anything to do with Dixie’s death. Warriner is married to a fellow professor who happens to be a successful author. There are rumors on campus that their marriage was on the rocks. Was Dixie’s death the result of a lovers’ triangle gone bad? Charlie soon discovers that the professor’s wife may have some secrets of her own and his suspect list is only getting longer.

As he and Diesel step further into the tangled web of relationships, someone else is viciously killed. Whose jealousy finally erupted into murderous rage? Was it a crime of passion or is there another more sinister motive? Charlie races to unravel this mystery: and to draw out the culprit, he may just have to put his own life on the line…

Story Locale: Fictional town of Athena, MS

Series Overview: A charming Southern cozy mystery series featuring a cat who likes walks and a librarian who knows how to search for clues…

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES: After 3 New York Times bestsellers in mass market we put the series into hardcover starting with Arsenic and Old Books, so this novel is the sixth hardcover in the series and eleventh in the series overall

LONG-TERM SUCCESS STORY: Miranda James is a beloved Prime Crime author who has hit the New York Times list with both the Cat in the Stacks series and his Southern Ladies mysteries

NEW YORK TIMES REVIEWED SERIES: Marilyn Stasio said of Twelve Angry Librarians, “Let us now praise the cozy mystery, so comforting on dark days, so warming on chilly nights—the literary equivalent of a cat”

DELIGHTFUL BLEND OF COZY THEMES: Books, cats, and a small Southern town will appeal to readers of Ali Brandon, Carolyn Hart, Leann Sweeney, Sofie Kelly, and Lillian Jackson Braun

Miranda James is the New York Times bestselling author of the Cat in the Stacks Mysteries, including Six Cats a Slayin’, Claws for Concern, and Twelve Angry Librarians, as well as the Southern Ladies Mysteries, including Fixing to Die, Digging Up the Dirt, and Dead with the Wind. James lives in Mississippi.

Author Residence: Jackson, MS

Marketing: Online advertising campaign

E-mail marketing campaign

ARC distribution and giveaways

Early reader review campaign

Social media campaign

Consumer sweepstakes

Feature on First to Read



Publicity: National print publicity

Online publicity campaign

Author blog tour



Author Website: catinthestacks.com

Author Social Media: Facebook.com/MirandaJamesAuthor

Praise for the New York Times bestselling Cat in the Stacks Mysteries

“Courtly librarian Charlie Harris and his Maine Coon cat, Diesel, are an endearing detective duo. Warm, charming, and Southern as the tastiest grits.”—Carolyn Hart, New York Times bestselling author of the Death on Demand Mysteries

“Combines a kindhearted librarian hero, family secrets in a sleepy Southern town, and a gentle giant of a cat that will steal your heart.”—Lorna Barrett, New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries

“Ideal for Christie fans who enjoy a good puzzle.”—Library Journal

“Humor and plenty of Southern charm…Cozy fans will hope James will keep Charlie and Diesel in action for years to come.”—Publishers Weekly

of 383

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.