Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin: Adult Hardcover & Trade Paperback Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
The Faded Sun Trilogy Omnibus
By (author): C. J. Cherryh
9780756411961 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure Jun 11, 2019
$29.00 CAD
Active 5.2 x 8 x 1.6 in 784 pages DAW
Now in trade paperback, all three books of the epic science fiction Faded Sun trilogy—Kesrith, Shon’jir, and Kutath—collected in one volume.

They were the mri—tall, secretive, bound by honor and the rigid dictates of their society. For aeons, this golden-skinned, golden-eyed race had provided the universe mercenary soldiers of almost unimaginable ability.

But now the mri have faced an enemy unlike any other—an enemy whose only way of war is widespread destruction. These “humans” are mass fighters, creatures of the herb, and the mri have been slaughtered like animals. Now, in the aftermath of war, the mri face extinction.

It will be up to three individuals to save whatever remains of this devastated race: a warrior—one of the last survivors of his kind; a priestess of this honorable people; and a lone human—a man sworn to aid the enemy of his own kind. Can they retrace the galaxy-wide path of this nomadic race back through millennia to reclaim the ancient world that first gave them life?

Story Locale: Outer space

Series Overview: The Alliance-Union Universe, C.J. Cherryh’s vast and seminal universe of spacefaring alien species, includes the Faded Sun trilogy, the Chanur novels, the Morgaine series, and many other works of science fiction.

NOW IN TRADE PAPERBACK following an earlier release in mass market

OMNIBUS EDITION of an acclaimed science fiction trilogy

HUGO AWARD WINNER: C. J. Cherryh has twice won the Hugo for Best Novel with Downbelow Station and Cyteen and once for Best Short Story with “Cassandra”

AWARD NOMINATED TRILOGY: Kesrith, the first book of the trilogy, was nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, and Locus awards for Best Novel

SFWA GRAND MASTER: Cherryh was named a recipient of the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master award and honored at the 2016 Nebula Awards ceremony for her contributions to the field of science fiction

CONSISTENTLY STRONG HARDCOVER SALES across her Alliance-Union and Foreigner series, after nearly 20 entries in the latter series

SFWA Grand Master C. J. Cherryh has written more than seventy books, including the highly popular Foreigner science fiction series. She won the Hugo Award for her novels Downbelow Station and Cyteen, and her short story “Cassandra.” She has also won the Campbell Award, Locus Award, and more.

Author Residence: Spokane, WA

Praise for the Faded Sun trilogy

“This is a powerful story…inspiring in its determination and feeling of strange loyalties and stranger courage. It sticks in the mind long after the last page is finished.”—Analog

“Carefully wrought…Cherryh demonstrates an almost clinical eye for detail, creating an alien race in depth.”—Publishers Weekly

“The Faded Sun Trilogy has an air of being something that was, that is, that could still be. This book is timeless and enduring.”—SF Site

of 383


Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field

Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.