Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Young Readers Omni Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780451481139 9780451481122 Electronic book text, EPUB 9781984889348 Downloadable audio file
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AS CA GU MP PH PR UM US VI For sale with non-exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BT BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FM FO FR GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NC NE NF NI NL NO NU OM PA PE PF PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SD SE SG SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF WS YT Not for sale in: AG AU BB BD BM BN BS BW BZ CC CX CY DM FJ FK GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MS MT MU MV MW MY MZ NA NG NP NR NZ PG PK PN SB SC SH SL SO SZ TC TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU YE ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Jun 18, 2019 Carton Quantity: 12
  • Catalogues

The Art of Breaking Things
By (author): Laura Sibson
9780451481115 Hardcover English Young Adult : Age (years) from 14, Grade (US) from 9 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Sexual Abuse Jun 18, 2019
$24.99 CAD
Active 5.88 x 8.56 x 1.26 in 400 pages Viking Children's Books Viking Books for Young Readers
In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent.

Weekends are for partying with friends while trying to survive the mindnumbingness that is high school. The countdown to graduation is on, and Skye has her sights set on escaping to art school and not looking back.

But her party-first-ask-questions-later lifestyle starts to crumble when her mom rekindles her romance with the man who betrayed Skye’s boundaries when he was supposed to be protecting her. She was too young to understand what was happening at the time, but now she doesn’t know whether to run as far away from him as possible or give up her dreams to save her little sister. The only problem is that no one knows what he did to her. How can she reveal the secret she’s guarded for so long?

With the help of her best friend and the only boy she’s ever trusted, Skye might just find the courage she needs to let her art speak for her when she’s out of words. After years of hiding her past, she must become her own best ally.

Laura Sibson worked for years as a career counselor for undergraduates before getting her MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. When she’s not writing, counseling, or drinking impossibly strong coffee, you can find her running miles around her home in Philadelphia, walking her dog, or ingesting pop culture (along with great takeout) with her family.

Author Residence: Philadelphia, PA

Marketing: National media campaign

Consumer advertising campaign

Promotion at select consumer festivals

Online promotion and social media outreach

Blogger outreach

Promotion at national school and library conferences

Librarian and educator outreach



Author Website: laurasibson.com

Author Social Media: @LauraSibson

Raves for The Art of Breaking Things:

“The next time you think you know all about the school slut, the druggie, the vandal—think again. People are more complex than their reputations, and nowhere is that more apparent than in Laura Sibson’s powerful novel about female empowerment.”
—Leila Sales, author of This Song Will Save Your Life

The Art of Breaking Things is a precious and daring work; an ode to the healing powers of the creative spirit. Skye breaks your heart just before she mends it back together. From the beginning, readers will believe in Skye because of how deeply and empathetically Sibson depicts Skye’s artistic vision and genuine, searching soul.”
—Cordelia Jensen, author of Skyscraping and The Way the Light Bends

“This book is a battle cry for the silent, scared, and shattered places inside us. Unflinching and lionhearted, this powerful novel is going to change lives and heal hearts.”
—Heather Demetrios, author of Bad Romance

“Sibson has created a flawed and likable narrator who attempts to work through cause and effect, shame and secrecy, avoidance and obligation. With layered nuance, the novel brings to light the impact of sexual assault and the importance of consent.... Triumphant.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson.”—Booklist

of 350

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.