Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

March 2019 Comic & Graphic Novels

more
GLEIPNIR 1
Gleipnir 1
By (author): Sun Takeda
9781632367631 Paperback, Trade English General Trade COMICS & GRAPHIC NOVELS / Manga / Horror Mar 19, 2019
$16.99 CAD
Active 5.7 x 8.16 x 0.58 in 192 pages Kodansha Comics
A dark and sexy body-horror action manga perfect for fans of Prison School and High School of the Dead!

Shuichi Kagaya an ordinary high school kid in a boring little town. But when a beautiful classmate is caught in a warehouse fire, he discovers a mysterious power: He can transform into a furry dog with an oversized revolver and a zipper down his back. He saves the girl’s life, sharing his secret with her. But she’s searching for the sister who killed her family, and she doesn’t care how degrading it gets: She will use Shuichi to accomplish her mission…

Story Locale: Present-day Japan

Series Overview: Shuichi Kagaya is an ordinary high school kid in a boring little town. But when a beautiful classmate is caught in a warehouse fire, he discovers a mysterious power: He can transform into a furry dog with an oversized revolver and a zipper down his back. He saves the girl’s life, sharing his secret with her. But she’s searching for the sister who killed her family, and she doesn’t care how degrading it gets: She will use Shuichi to accomplish her mission…

Gleipnir has all the tropes of a wholesome manga adventure: A friendly alien, a boy who turns into a cute dog, a girl with a quest…but it twists them around into a dark and uncomfortable metaphorical story about adolescence, sexual awakening, and familial abandonment.

Attractive, detailed, sexy, and gruesome art will reel in fans of horror franchises like Five Nights at Freddy’s and fanservice-heavy manga like High School of the Dead and Prison School.

A character dynamic straight out of “manic pixie dream girl” comedies, but with a sneering, dominating subversion of stereotypes.

Ages 18 and up for explicit nudity and gruesome violence.

Sun Takeda is the author of Meet Me at the End of the World and Haru and Natsu among other manga. Gleipnir is Takeda’s first manga to be published in English.

Author Residence: Japan

Author Hometown: Japan

Marketing: Advertising in Diamond Previews



Publicity: Announcement at Anime Expo 2018 (110,000 attendees expected)

Promotion on Kodansha Comics’s Tumblr (14,600 followers), Facebook (13,100 likes) and Twitter (32,000 followers)…and growing every day

Promotion on Kodansha’s email newsletter (17,000 subscribers and counting) and comic shop newsletter

of 191

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.