Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
FITZGERALD-TROUTS, THE
Shout Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts
By (author): Esta Spalding Illustrated by: Lee Gatlin
9780735264519 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 8 - 12, Grade (US) from 3 - 7 JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings Jun 04, 2019
$19.99 CAD
Active 5.75 x 7.88 x 1.08 in 352 pages SPOT ART THROUGHOUT Tundra Books
The third book in a Dahl-esque middle-grade series by award-winning poet and screenwriter Esta Spalding.

The plucky Fitzgerald-Trout siblings (who live on a tropical island where the grown-ups are useless but the kids can drive) are back! After losing the boat that had become their home, oldest Fitzgerald-Trout, Kim, has put finding a home back on her to-do list. When her sixth-grade history assignment offers a clue about the ruins of a volcanic house built by an explorer on Mount Muldoon, she and her siblings set out to find it.

The castle they discover surpasses their wildest dreams. But having a permanent home offers more challenges than the Fitzgerald-Trouts expect, especially when they begin to suspect their home is haunted. The siblings must figure out how to fix the cracks in their family foundation before one of them is lost for good.

THIRD IN THE SERIES BUT WORKS AS A STANDALONE: Shout Out is the third and final book in the Fitzgerald-Trouts series!

BLENDED FAMILY: A story about loosely related siblings, home and the meaning of family—perfect for fans of The Penderwicks series.

HUMOROUS AND THOUGHTFUL: Lots of laughs, but also includes a heartwarming message about family and the importance of sticking together.

KID POWER!: The homeless children in this story don’t have many resources other than their smarts and their love for one another, but they rise up to the challenge of their situation—and the awful adults in their lives—with pluck and aplomb.

BROAD APPEAL: There’s something for everyone—boys and girls will love this fantastic cast of characters.

EYE-CATCHING ONE-COLOR (BLUE) TEXT AND ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT

FITZGERALD-TROUTS DESTINED FOR THE BIG SCREEN! Film rights to the series have been sold to 3311 Productions.

US EDITIONS: Look Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts and Knock About with the Fitzgerald-Trouts were published in the US by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

ESTA SPALDING is the author of two books for young readers—Look Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts, which was shortlisted for both the Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award and the BC Red Cedar Award, and Knock About with the Fitzgerald-Trouts—as well as several novels and poetry books for adults. She is a full-time television writer who wrote for HBO’s Masters of Sex, and has garnered many screenwriting awards. When she’s not writing, she kayaks, bakes, and assembles whale skeletons with her husband, a marine biologist. She lives in California with her familly.

Author Residence: Venice, California

Author Hometown: Boston, Massachusetts

LEE GATLIN has been drawing as long as he can remember. Born and raised in south Alabama, he is an illustrator and cartoonist based in the Mississippi Delta. He is the illustrator of the forthcoming Monster School by Kate Coombs (August 2018, Chronicle). You can find his weekly cartoons in Athens, Georgia's Flagpole Magazine, and more of his work at neilaglet.tumblr.com or leegatlin.com.

Illustrator Residence: Leland, Mississippi

Marketing: Include in Booklist or SLJ MG webinar

Bookmarks with all three books for Festival of Trees/Canada/US trades

ARCS for TLA

Re-purpose activities & website



Publicity: Pitch to LA Festival of Book

Consider LA book launch

Find out when/if she’s going to BC/Guelph and work with her there



Author Website: estaspalding.com / neilaglet.tumblr.com

Author Social Media: @EstaSpalding / @neilaglet

PRAISE FOR KNOCK ABOUT WITH THE FITZGERALD-TROUTS:

“With its dry humor, over the top storyline and whimsical illustrations by Sydney Smith that capture the offbeat tone of the text, this page-turner is bound to delight the imagination of readers aged 8-12.”—CM Magazine

PRAISE FOR LOOK OUT FOR THE FITZGERALD-TROUTS:

Nominated, Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award, 2017

Nominated, Red Cedar Award, 2017

“Have you ever wanted to live on an island filled with selfish grownups and blood-sucking iguanas hiding in a dark and mysterious forest? Me neither. But the brave and inventive Fitzgerald-Trouts have such fascinating lives that I just might reconsider—as soon as I read this glorious book again, at least twice. I salute thee, Fitzgerald-Trouts!”—Lemony Snicket

“Spalding, a poet and screenwriter making her children’s book debut, balances the direness of their situation with over-the-top characters and humor-driven narration. If the story’s magic lies in its Dahl-esque approach to topics like homelessness and parental neglect, its heart lies in the relationship between these four mutually devoted children.”—Publishers Weekly

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.