Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9780735265370 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $11.99 CAD 9780735269132 Downloadable audio file, $19.99 CAD 9780735269149 Downloadable audio file 9780735265363 Electronic book text, Reflowable, , EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Lexile measure: HL610L
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Aug 06, 2019 Carton Quantity:12
  • Catalogues

A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying 1
A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying
By (author): Kelley Armstrong
9780735265356 Hardcover English Juvenile: Age (years) from 10 - 14, Grade (US) from 5 - 9 JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic Aug 06, 2019
$19.99 CAD
Active 5.94 x 8.56 x 0.95 in 288 pages B&W ILLUSTRATIONS AT BACK Puffin Canada
 
Silver Birch Award for Fiction 2020, Nominated
Monster hunting isn’t for the faint of heart—the first in a brand-new middle-grade series by NYT bestselling author, Kelley Armstrong.

Twelve-year-old Rowan is next in line to be Queen; her twin brother, Rhydd, to be Royal Monster Hunter. Rowan would give anything to switch places, but the rule is, the oldest child is next in line, even if she is only older by two minutes. She resigns herself to admiring her royal monster hunter aunt’s official sword and having tea with dignitaries with her mother, the queen. But a tragic event breaks up longstanding rules, and now Rowan finds herself in hunt of a dangerous gryphon.

Accompanied by a feisty and determined baby jackalope and a giant wolf that barely tolerates her, she sets off on a journey that will see her join forces with other unlikely allies: a boy who has ambitions of his own to hunt monsters, and a girl from a nearby clan with hidden motives for befriending Rowan. It will take all of Rowan’s skills, both physical and diplomatic, to keep this journey on track. The future of the kingdom depends on it.

Series Overview: This series follows Rowan, a princess who must train to become the kingdom’s royal monster hunter after a tragic event befalls the previous hunter. This is the first of two books; the second book will pub in August 2020.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR!

FIRST NOVEL IN A BRAND-NEW SERIES AIMED AT MIDDLE GRADE READERS: Kelley has co-written a middle grade series (Blackwell Pages, Little, Brown) with Melissa Marr, but after several YA thriller novels, this is her first foray back to a younger age.

EXCITING ADVENTURE: Non-stop action, plus lots of different monsters—some overly affectionate, some grumpy and some downright dangerous—makes for a compelling journey!

PERFECT FOR BOTH BOYS AND GIRLS: Rowan is a strong female protagonist, whose yearning for adventurous monster slaying will appeal to both girls and boys.

IMPRESSIVE SOCIAL MEDIA FOLLOWING: 37.2k Twitter followers, 64k Facebook followers and a large presence on Tumblr.

BONUS BACK MATTER: There will be an eight-page field guide to some of the monsters in the story, with illustrations by Xaviere Daumarie, who has provided illustrations for other Kelley Armstrong books, including two graphic novels.

KELLEY ARMSTRONG is the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of three trilogies for teens: the Darkest Powers; Darkness Rising and Age of Legends, as well as several thriller and fantasy series for adults and three YA thrillers (The Masked Truth, Missing and Aftermath). She is also the co-author (with Melissa Marr) of the Blackwell Pages series, a middle-grade fantasy series based on Norse gods. The Masked Truth received a starred review from PW (“overflowing with twists”), while Missing received a starred review from VOYA (“a compelling thriller that keeps the reader hooked until the end”). Visit Kelley online at kelleyarmstrong.com

Author Residence: Aylmer, Ontario

XAVIERE DAUMARIE is a French artist who has created designs and illustrations for several book series by Kelley Armstrong: Women of the Otherworld, including two graphic novels, Becoming and Bounty Hunt; Age of Legends; Cainsville; and The Blackwell Pages series by K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr. She lives in France.

Illustrator Residence: France

Marketing: Lots of ARCs

Pitch OwlCrate early

Consider Camp Penguin Tent activity

Pitch a middle grade geek box to Indigo for summer reading

Include in Booklist or SLJ MG webinar- maybe with Kelley joining in

Use the 8 illustrated monsters to introduce the creatures in a count-down

Pitch for Amazon Vine

Consider Goodreads ad

Facebook ads

Corporate gift guide

Include in fall previews

Promo piece: ribbons for trade shows

Paper promo piece (exclusive map/art print from illustrator or accordian slayer guide with clue in it)



Publicity: Festival pitch



Author Website: www.kelleyarmstrong.com

Author Social Media: @KelleyArmstrong

One of the School Library Journal’s Best Middle Grade Books of 2019
One of the Ontario Library Association’s 2019 Top Ten Titles

PRAISE FOR A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying:


". . . [A] fast and fun read, a great read-a-like for Tamora Pierce’s 'Tortall' series." --STARRED REVIEW, School Library Journal

"A fresh take on familiar fantasy creatures and situations." --STARRED REVIEW, Shelf Awareness

"A rousing romp for monster hunters and monster lovers alike." --Kirkus Reviews

"A gripping middle grade debut." --Publishers Weekly

“Armstrong’s characters challenge gender norms, and her writing attends to themes of social justice and animal welfare, relying on strong episodic tension to drive the narrative. Highly Recommended.” --CM Magazine

“A 100% engaging romp for fans of fantasy and feisty heroes!” --49th Shelf

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.