Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781770498457 Hardback, $19.99 CAD 9781770498440 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Reading Levels

    Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient: S
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: On Sale Date:Jan 02, 2080
  • Catalogues

Downside Up
By (author): Richard Scrimger
9781770498433 Paperback, Trade English Juvenile: Age (years) from 10, Grade (US) from 5 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Death, Grief, Bereavement Jan 02, 2080
$10.99 CAD
Cancelled 5.13 x 7.25 in 272 pages Tundra Books
A humorous and heartbreaking middle-grade novel about loss for readers of The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen and The Thing About Jellyfish.

Fred is a sixth-grader reeling from the loss of his beloved dog, Casey. Every day he walks home from school bouncing Casey’s old worn-out tennis ball. One day, the ball falls down a sewer grate, and Fred can’t bear to leave it down there. He pries open the grate and stumbles down. Through the sewer, Fred enters a parallel universe: Casey is alive, his mom and sister are happier, and there’s a version of Fred who’s happier too. Spending time with Casey, Fred feels joy for the first time since his dog’s death, but he slowly realizes that the loss of Casey is masking an even greater loss: the death of Fred’s father. Fred brings his sister, Izzy, to this upside-down world of lost things in the hope of finding their father and bringing him back. Can everything that is lost be found again?

RICHARD SCRIMGER is the award-winning author of twenty books for children and adults. His works have been translated in many languages and have been critically acclaimed around the world. His first children’s novel, The Nose from Jupiter, won the 10th Annual Mr. Christie’s Book Award. His novel From Charlie’s Point of View was a CLA Honor Book and was chosen as one of the “Best of the Best” by the Chicago Public Library. Richard’s latest, Viminy Crowe’s Comic Book (co-authored with Marthe Jocelyn), was listed as a Top Shelf Honoree by VOYA magazine. His books Ink Me and The Wolf and Me are part of the Seven series (Orca) with six other well-known authors.

Author Residence: Toronto, ON

Author Hometown: Toronto, ON

Publicity:

Author Website: www.scrimger.ca

Author Social Media: twitter.com/richardscrimger

PRAISE FOR Downside Up:

"As the dimensional differences increase and the author introduces more and more fantastical elements, readers have a sure footing in their emotional connection to Fred, allowing the author to introduce some strange, Miyazaki-esque ideas and imagery with ease." --Kirkus Reviews

"A thought-provoking and ultimately hopeful work. Fred’s authentic voice provides a balm to those struggling to understand loss and inspires all to view the world with fresh eyes."
--School Library Journal

"What Scrimger does with Downside Up is present a story with just enough quirk and humour to balance the more serious issues. Whether a child has experienced the loss of a loved one or not, this book will resonate with its universal message of finding ways to cope with difficult situations." --Quill & Quire

"Downside Up is a brilliant, gripping . . . book." --CM Magazine

of 25

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.