Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Orca Loan Stars Jr. through June 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
Amber Fang 1
Amber Fang: Hunted
By (author): Arthur Slade
9781459822696 Paperback, Trade English Young Adult : Grade (CAN) from 8 - 12, Grade (US) from 8 - 12, Reading age from 12 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Vampires Apr 16, 2019
$14.95 CAD
Active 5.5 x 8.25 x 0.5 in 192 pages FSC certified – mixed sources C016245 Orca Book Publishers
Amber has a thirst for knowledge. And blood.

Amber Fang enjoys life's simple pleasures. A perfect evening for her includes a good book, a glass of wine and, of course, a great meal, preferably straight from the jugular.

Raised to eat ethically, Amber dines only on delicious cold-blooded killers. But confirming that her chosen victims deserve to die takes time. And patience. So it's a good thing Amber is studying to be a librarian. Her extraordinary research skills help her hunt down her prey, seek out other vampires and stay on the trail of her mother, who has been missing for over two years now.

But one day while Amber is stalking a rather tasty-looking murderer, things go horribly wrong. Amber has walked into a trap. The hunter becomes the hunted.

Now on the run, Amber receives the perfect job offer out of the blue. Someone wants to pay her to kill (and eat) the world's worst criminals.

It sounds too good to be true.

Amber Fang: Hunted is the first book in this exciting new vampire series.

Arthur Slade is a Governor General's Award-winning author of many novels for young readers, including the Amber Fang series and Modo: Ember's End, a graphic novel based on the characters from The Hunchback Assignments trilogy. Raised on a ranch in the Cypress Hills of Saskatchewan, Arthur now makes his home in Saskatoon.

Key Selling Points

An independent young vampire is offered a job as an assassin for an elite secret society while studying to be a librarian, in this campy paranormal series. Pithy, sarcastic protagonist.

For fans of Vampire Academy and Jennifer L. Armentrout

Arthur Slade won TD Children's Lit Award for steampunk novel The Hunchback Assignments and a GG for fantasy novel Dust

Ship potential (romance) between characters

Marketing and Promotional Plans

Print and online advertising campaigns

Promotion at national and regional school, library and trade
conferences

Extensive ARC distribution, including NetGalley

Festival pitches

Blog and social media promotion

"Enthralling, witty, briskly paced and highly original, Amber Fang: Hunted is bestselling author Arthur Slade at his finest. I can't wait for the next book in the series!" - A.J. Banner, bestselling author of The Good Neighbor

"Arthur Slade's trademark humor imbues this book about a plucky vampire librarian; it's a romp of a read, and I kept thinking it would also make a great tv series. I had so much fun reading this!" - Susin Nielsen, author of Optimists Die First & We Are All Made of Molecules

"An interesting approach to a vampire narrative…A recipe more typical of a spy thriller and one that is made tangy with the liberal sprinkling of paranormal drama…Imagine Buffy the Vampire Slayer—except Buffy is the vampire and has the research skills of Giles." - Kirkus Reviews

"Slade's vampire mythos is interesting, and he ends this fast-paced, entertaining story in the right place to keep interest piqued for the series' next installment…With short sentences, simple language, and a plot that will appeal to older readers, this is a good choice for reluctant teen and even adult readers." - Booklist

"A pithy and kickass protagonist…[in] a world of supernatural and political intrigue framed as a librarian fantasy adventure." - The Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

"Slade has left many tantalizing loose ends to be followed up in subsequent novels…Amber's intelligence, physical prowess and fierce independence comprise a complex, unique and very cinematic superhero. Excellent." - Resource Links

"A tongue-in-cheek vampire/secret agent mash-up…This series will appeal to readers who like making fun of over-used tropes and don't want a lot of description or character angst to get in the way of the action. Highly Recommended." - CM: Canadian Review of Materials

"Fast and funny, this book will entice those who wished Buffy was the vampire." - School Library Journal

"A YA novel for young adults testing the turbulent waters of ethics, morality, geopolitics, history, social media, and popular culture."" - Saskatoon Star Phoenix

of 22

Also Available

Modo: Ember's End Arthur Slade 9781459817210 $14.95 CAD Feb 20, 2018

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.