Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Berkley & NAL Mass Market June 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
CAT IN THE STACKS MYSTERY 9
Claws for Concern
By (author): Miranda James
9780425277799 Paperback, Mass market English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Cozy / General Jun 04, 2019
$10.99 CAD
Active 4.19 x 6.75 x 0.8 in 304 pages Berkley
Charlie Harris and his Maine Coon cat, Diesel, are embroiled in a new mystery when a cold case suddenly heats up in the latest installment of the New York Times bestselling series.

Charlie Harris is busy enjoying his new grandson when a mysterious man with a connection to Charlie’s family starts visiting the library, bringing with him troubling questions about an unsolved murder…

Charlie may be a proud new grandfather, but he and Diesel still have work to do at Athena College and the small Mississippi town’s public library. He’s too busy to deal with true-crime writer Jack Pemberton, who wants Charlie as the subject of his latest book—and who won’t take no for an answer.



A more appealing proposition for Charlie is spending time helping a kind, elderly man navigate the library’s genealogical database. But he’s shocked when he learns that the visitor’s search is focused on a member of his own family: his late aunt’s husband.

Charlie befriends the man and considers inviting him to stay in his home, but he’s soon given reason to question that notion. Jack is certain that Charlie’s new houseguest was involved in a shocking homicide that took place years ago in a small town near Athena. As this cold case heats up, Charlie and Diesel have to uncover a killer who may already be too close to home….

Story Locale: Fictional town of Athena, MS

Series Overview: A charming Southern cozy mystery series featuring a cat who likes walks and a librarian who knows how to search for clues…

MASS MARKET REPRINT OF THE LATEST IN THE SERIES: ninth novel in the New York Times bestselling series

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES: After 3 New York Times bestsellers in mass market we put the series into hardcover starting with Arsenic and Old Books, so this novel is the third hardcover in the series and ninth in the series overall

LONG-TERM SUCCESS STORY: Miranda James is a beloved Berkley Prime Crime author who has hit the New York Times list with both the Cat in the Stacks series and his Southern Ladies Mysteries

NEW YORK TIMES REVIEWED SERIES: Marilyn Stasio said of Twelve Angry Librarians, “Let us now praise the cozy mystery, so comforting on dark days, so warming on chilly nights—the literary equivalent of a cat”

DELIGHTFUL BLEND OF COZY THEMES: Books, cats, and a small Southern town will appeal to readers of Ali Brandon, Carolyn Hart, Leann Sweeney, Sofie Kelly, and Lillian Jackson Braun

MORE BOOKS ON THE WAY:We plan to publish two original hardcovers in this series a year

Miranda James is the New York Times bestselling author of the Cat in the Stacks Mysteries, including Twelve Angry Librarians, No Cats Allowed, and Arsenic and Old Books, as well as the Southern Ladies Mysteries, including Fixing to Die, Digging Up the Dirt, and Dead with the Wind. James lives in Mississippi.

Author Residence: Jackson, MS

Marketing: Social media campaign

Publicity: National print publicity

Online publicity campaign

Author blog tour

Author Website: catinthestacks.com

Author Social Media: Facebook.com/MirandaJamesAuthor

Praise for the New York Times bestselling Cat in the Stacks Mysteries

“Let us now praise the cozy mystery, so comforting on dark days, so warming on chilly nights—the literary equivalent of a cat.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Courtly librarian Charlie Harris and his Maine Coon cat, Diesel, are an endearing detective duo. Warm, charming, and Southern as the tastiest grits.”—Carolyn Hart, New York Times bestselling author of the Death on Demand Mysteries

“Combines a kindhearted librarian hero, family secrets in a sleepy Southern town, and a gentle giant of a cat that will steal your heart.”—Lorna Barrett, New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries

of 15

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.