Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Berkley & NAL Mass Market June 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
SUN EATER 1
Empire of Silence
By (author): Christopher Ruocchio
9780756413019 Paperback, Mass market English General Trade FICTION / Science Fiction / Space Opera Jun 04, 2019
$11.99 CAD
Active 4.19 x 6.75 x 1.63 in 768 pages DAW
Now in mass market, this galaxy-spanning debut merges the best of space opera and epic fantasy in the first novel of the Sun Eater series.

It was not his war.

The galaxy remembers him as a hero: the man who burned every last alien Cielcin from the sky. They remember him as a monster: the devil who destroyed a sun, casually annihilating four billion human lives—even the Emperor himself—against Imperial orders.

But Hadrian was not a hero. He was not a monster. He was not even a soldier.

On the wrong planet, at the right time, for the best reasons, Hadrian Marlowe starts down a path that can only end in fire. He flees his father and a future as a torturer only to be left stranded on a strange, backwater world.

Forced to fight as a gladiator and navigate the intrigues of a foreign planetary court, Hadrian must fight a war he did not start, for an Empire he does not love, against an enemy he will never understand.

Story Locale: Outer space

Series Overview: The Sun Eater series follows antihero Hadrian Marlowe as he recounts the tale of his controversial life in a galaxy-spanning novel that combines the best of space opera and epic fantasy.

MASS MARKET EDITION of a hardcover original

FIRST IN A QUARTET: The Sun Eater series will chronicle the life of Hadrian Marlowe, a controversial figure revered and despised across the galaxy

DEBUT AUTHOR whose manuscript generated a great deal of interest among multiple publishers

THE NAME OF THE WIND MEETS SPACE OPERA: Empire of Silence begins the story of a son of privilege whose downfall is a galaxy-spanning tale

GENRE-BENDING NOVEL: Though it is an intergalactic epic, it begins on a medieval fantasy-style world, blending ideas from multiple genres to appeal to fans of Darkover and C.S. Friedman’s Coldfire trilogy

Christopher Ruocchio could read almost before he could speak, and so when he realized he would never be an astronaut, he decided to be a novelist. He began writing when he was eight years old, and sold his first novel at twenty-two. He is also the Assistant Editor at Baen Books and a graduate of North Carolina State University. Empire of Silence is his debut novel.

Author Residence: Raleigh, NC

Marketing: E-mail marketing campaign

Social media campaign

Feature on Unbound Worlds

Author Social Media: Twitter @TheRuocchio

Praise for Empire of Silence

Empire of Silence is epic science fiction at its most genuinely epic. Ruocchio has made something fascinating here, and I can’t wait to see what he does next.”—James S.A. Corey, New York Times-bestselling author of The Expanse novels

“Christopher Ruocchio’s Empire of Silence is epic-scale space opera in the tradition of Iain M. Banks and Frank Herbert’s Dune, without being a clone of either of them. His is a welcome new voice in science fiction.”—Eric Flint, author of the bestselling 1632 series

Empire of Silence has the sweep and political complexity of Dune (though no sandworms). It builds to a blazing climax, followed by a satisfying conclusion. I recommend the book.”—David Drake, bestselling author of the RCN Series

Empire of Silence is a rich tapestry of future history and worldbuilding, a galactic-sized story of a hero, a tyrant, but portrayed as a man.”—Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times-bestselling author of The Dark Between the Stars

of 15

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.