Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

Penguin Canada, Summer 2019

  • Thumbnail View
  • Scrolling view
  • Grid view
more
  • Other Formats

    9781984890542 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: CA Not for sale in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date: Aug 06, 2019 Carton Quantity: 24
  • Catalogues

Ellie and the Harpmaker
By (author): Hazel Prior
9780735238077 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Women Aug 06, 2019
$24.95 CAD
Active 6.09 x 9 x 0.89 in 336 pages Penguin Canada Viking
A heart-warming, utterly charming debut, rich with vibrant characters and a lush setting, that reminds us that sometimes, you don’t find love—love finds you.

Dan Hollis lives a simple, solitary, but contented life, taking pleasure in the beautiful landscape around him and in his work. For the past twenty-three years he has been making gorgeous Celtic harps, each unique and built entirely by hand. In his barn tucked into the woods of Exmoor, he can be himself, untroubled by social situations that he doesn’t always get right or understand.

Ellie Jacobs is a lonely housewife who seeks solace in her daily walks and in the poetry she keeps secret from her controlling husband Clive. One day Ellie stumbles across Dan’s barn by chance and is stunned by the enchanting workshop. Dan, taken by her enthusiasm for his harps—and her cherry-coloured socks—spontaneously gives her a beautiful cherrywood harp, and Ellie finds she has a deep desire to learn to play it.

Clive refuses to let her keep the harp, but Ellie finds she cannot forget either it or its maker, and so she begins to take lessons in secret at the barn, where Dan keeps the harp for her. Gradually drawn into Dan’s infectious delight in the countryside they both love, his peculiar charm, and methodical eccentricity, Ellie starts to dream of escaping her loveless marriage and refinding joy. But when she discovers an important secret relating to Dan, she must make one of the biggest decisions of her life: keep it from him and risk their friendship, or unpend his carefully constructed world and change the course of both of their lives forever?

Story Locale: Exmoor, England

Publication History: Original Trade Paperback

HAZEL PRIOR is a harpest who lives on Exmoor with her husband and a huge ginger cat. Originally from Oxford, she has toured extensively with singing groups and has played at many festivals and theatres. She has published stories in literary magazines and has won numerous writing competitions in the UK. Ellie and the Harpmaker is her debut novel; she is working on her second.

Author Residence: Exmoor, England

Author Hometown: Oxford, England

Marketing: Pre-sale Instagram advertising



Pre-sale Facebook advertising



Google Search ads



On sale Instagram advertising



On sale Facebook advertising- Sponsored influencers $2000



Final copy influencer mailing



Sponsored influencers



Publicity: Review coverage in Toronto Star, Chatelaine etc.



Summer reading round ups

Praise for Ellie and the Harpmaker:

How I loved this book! An uncommonly lovely story told with elegance, insight, and so much heart. Hazel Prior’s brilliant debut will delight.” —Kristan Higgins, New York Times bestselling author of Good Luck With That

“‘Ellie and the Harpmaker’ is uplifting escapism…fresh and sweet, rejuvenated by a set of unusual characters . . . Prior’s lyricism feels like a warm song. This is a story that will make you want to take a walk through the woods and collect pebbles from a stream, then go home to dine on plum-jam sandwiches. And maybe, like the old harpist’s mandate, shed a tear and laugh a little.” —Washington Post

“With the character-driven charm of Liane Moriarty's and Sara Baume's novels…delightfully heartwarming . . . guaranteed to tug at readers' heartstrings.” —Booklist

"A beautiful love song of a story, wonderfully told with a warm heart and much hope. Hazel Prior’s writing is a lyrical delight.” —Phaedra Patrick, international bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

“Wow, what a love story. Ellie and the Harpmaker is uplifting and full of heart, and I couldn’t put it down! Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.” —Jo Thomas, author of Late Summer in the Vineyard

“Prior’s debut resonates with a clear voice, depicting love evolving from a friendship based upon genuine acts of kindness . . . Ellie and Dan, both delightful, down-to-earth characters, selflessly put each other’s needs ahead of their own, and fans of fast-paced romantic stories will enjoy watching them discover true happiness together." —Publishers Weekly

"A wonderful, genuine, heartwarming, funny, and beautifully written book. If you love Kate Atkinson, Jojo Moyes, or Gail Honeyman, you will fall in love with Ellie and the Harpmaker." —Rebecca Tinnelly, author of Never Go There

"A lyrical, almost fairytale-like novel, as resonant and mysterious as a Celtic harp. The novel shines with all the grace and harmony of a handmade instrument, and shows us what can happen when a woman yearning for meaning meets a solitary man dedicated to his craft . . . and they both decide to open their hearts to possibility." —Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Carousel of Provence

“A melodious and heartwarming debut about love, friendship, and a secret that could change everything. This one is special.” Emily Liebert, USA Today bestselling author of Some Women and Pretty Revenge

“The assembly of words casts a kind of spell . . . Enchanting.” —The Calgary Herald

of 16

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.