Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2019 Fiction: Canadian

more
A Lane Winslow Mystery 6
A Deceptive Devotion
By (author): Iona Whishaw
9781771513005 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths Apr 23, 2019
$16.95 CAD
Active 5 x 7.5 x 0.1 in 392 pages TouchWood Editions

Wedding bells, a grisly murder, and a defecting Russian spy bring drama to King’s Cove in the newest Lane Winslow mystery, a series that the Globe and Mail calls “terrific.”

A wedding is on the horizon for Lane Winslow and Inspector Darling. As one of the few Russian speakers in her community, Lane is obliged to act as translator and hostess for Countess Orlova, an elderly Russian woman who has tracked her missing brother to the Nelson area. Nelson PD investigates, but then the murder of a lone hunter in the hills above King’s Cove takes top priority.

Darling works the case with a Constable Oxley—a newcomer to the area, assigned in Constable Ames’ temporary absence—and a British agent contacts Lane to warn her to be on the lookout for a fleeing Russian defector. Bound by the Wartime Secrets Act, Lane is conflicted about keeping the information from Darling, especially when it begins to put a strain on their relationship.

Fans of Maisie Dobbs and the Kopp Sisters will delight in this rousing adventure of intrigue and espionage.

Iona Whishaw is a former educator and social worker whose mother and grandfather were both spies during their respective wars. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia with her husband. Visit her at ionawhishaw.com.

BASIC MARKETING & PROMO 
  • National, regional and subject specific print features, excerpts and review coverage
  • Publicity and promotion in conjunction with author's speaking engagements
  • Outreach to subject specific organizations, markets and festivals // national and regional author tour
  • Blogger outreach, online ads and social media campaigns
  • Paid advertising

EXPANDED MARKETING & PROMO
  • Targeted media: Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Globe and Mail, Library Journal, Vancouver Sun, The Bay Observer, Reviewing the Evidence, Crime Reads, Crime Fiction Lover
  • Outreach to festivals. Pitches to Vancouver Writers Fest, Sunshine Coast Festival of the Written Arts, Words on the Water, Galiano Literary Festival, Elephant Mountain Literary Festival, Victoria Writers Festival, North Shore Writers’ Festival, Calgary Word Fest, International Festival of Authors, Kingston Lit Festival,  Women Killing It
  • Paid advertising in Shelf Awareness, Library Bound, United Library Services

MARKETING + PROMO DELIVERABLES
  • ARCS
  • Electronic galleys
  • Bookmark
  • Press release

BISAC CODES
  • FIC022040      FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • FIC022060      FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical

BISAC REGIONAL THEMES
  • 4.0.0.0.0.0.0 North America
  • 4.0.2.0.0.0.0 Canada
  • 4.0.2.0.2.0.0 British Columbia

BISAC MERCHANDISING THEMES
  • TP090     TOPICAL / Women's Interest

  • THEMA SUBJECT CODES
    • FFS
    • FFD 
    • FFH



    For more information contact
    Info@touchwoodeditions.com

    “Engrossing and deftly plotted, the latest Lane Winslow Mystery is sure to enthrall readers. Filled with rich history, clever intrigue, and subtle romance, this series is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Elia MacNeal.”

    - Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries and the Verity Kent Mysteries

    "Whishaw’s intricately plotted fifth Lane Winslow mystery opens with a bang. . . Whishaw brings all the narrative threads together for a satisfying finale. Progress in the often fraught personal relationship between Lane and Darling will please series fans."
    - Publishers Weekly

    “If you’ve yet to meet Lane Winslow, erstwhile spy and reluctant detective, you’re in for a treat. Iona Whishaw writes with an eye for the telling detail; she conjures a vanished British Columbia out of thin air. Complex, suspenseful, and deeply felt, this is a smart series for the ages.”
    - Francine Mathews, author of the Nantucket Mysteries

    "There’s no question you should read it—it’s excellent . . . . While you could wait forever to read the series from the start (many books, little time, etc.), the taste offered by A Sorrowful Sanctuary of Lane Winslow and her companions pretty much guarantees you won’t be waiting much longer to go back to the beginning and read everything about them."
    - Toronto Star

    “Captures the tone and depth of a mystery entwined in a story about people taking painful steps forward with post-WWII life. Vivid plotting, inventive dialogue in a setting that puts you right in the action. This is one of the best series currently in print.”
    - Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews blog

    "Full of history, mystery, and a glorious BC setting . . . a wonderful series."
    - Sleuth of Baker Street bookstore

    of 39

    Also Available

    A Sorrowful Sanctuary Iona Whishaw 9781771512893 $16.95 CAD Sep 25, 2018
    It Begins in Betrayal Iona Whishaw 9781771512619 $16.95 CAD Apr 10, 2018
    An Old, Cold Grave Iona Whishaw 9781771512404 $16.95 CAD Sep 26, 2017
    Death in a Darkening Mist Iona Whishaw 9781771511711 $16.95 CAD Apr 11, 2017
    A Killer in King's Cove Iona Whishaw 9781771511988 $16.95 CAD Oct 04, 2016

    Register

    Step 1 of 2

    Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
    * Indicates required field




    Step 2 of 2

    Forgotten Password

    Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

    Forgotten Password

    An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.