Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2019 Fiction: Literary

more
The Book of Dreams
A Novel
Large type / large print edition
By (author): Nina George
9781984846761 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / Literary Apr 09, 2019
$39.00 CAD
Active 6.09 x 9.18 x 1 in 480 pages Large Print Random House Large Print
Warm, wise, and magical—the latest novel by the bestselling author of THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP and THE LITTLE FRENCH BISTRO is an astonishing exploration of the thresholds between life and death

Henri Skinner is a hardened ex-war reporter on the run from his past. On his way to see his son, Sam, for the first time in years, Henri steps into the road without looking and collides with oncoming traffic. He is rushed to a nearby hospital where he floats, comatose, between dreams, reliving the fairytales of his childhood and the secrets that made him run away in the first place.
 
After the accident, Sam—a thirteen-year old synesthete with an IQ of 144 and an appetite for science fiction—waits by his father’s bedside every day. There he meets Eddie Tomlin, a woman forced to confront her love for Henri after all these years, and twelve-year old Madelyn Zeidler, a coma patient like Henri and the sole survivor of a traffic accident that killed her family. As these four very different individuals fight—for hope, for patience, for life—they are bound together inextricably, facing the ravages of loss and first love side by side.
 
A revelatory, urgently human story that examines what we consider serious and painful alongside light and whimsy, THE BOOK OF DREAMS is a tender meditation on memory, liminality, and empathy, asking with grace and gravitas what we will truly find meaningful in our lives once we are gone.

Story Locale: England

HUGE INTERNATIONAL SUCCESS: The Book of Dreams received great reviews in Germany, sold nearly 50,000 copies since its Spring publication, was on Der Spiegel bestseller list, quickly sold in translations, and has recently been released in paperback.

NINA GEORGE’S MOST MAGICAL AND LITERARY YET: This is a deceptively simple and accessible story, and the translated pages promise precisely the kind of warmth, charm, and resounding sense of humanity that makes Nina’s titles instant favorites here and around the world.

BUILDING ON AN ESTABLISHED AND SUCCESSFUL PLATFORM: The Little Paris Bookshop has sold nearly 600,000 copies to date, and The Little French Bistro has sold 50,000 while continuing to sell. The Book of Dreams offers us another opportunity to continue building Nina George as a household name, and in its enlivening of Nina’s familiar themes and featuring a fresh cast of characters, will attract a new readership in addition to all of Nina’s loyal fans.

CROSS PROMOTION: Simultaneous publication with the Crown hardcover. Also available as an unabridged audiobook from Random House Audio.

NINA GEORGE is the author of the bestselling international phenomenon The Little Paris Bookshop, as well as numerous other books that have been published around the world. She also works as a journalist, and advocate for writer and women’s rights. She lives with her husband in Berlin and Brittany, France.

Author Residence: Berlin, Germany and Brittany, France

Marketing: Digital advertising campaign

Social media promotion on Crown’s pages and author’s Facebook and Twitter (@Nina_George)

Targeted buzz mailings to author’s VIPs

Enrollment in early reviewer programs

Features on ReadItForward.com and Signature-Reads.com

Library and academic marketing



Publicity: Feature on the RH Large Print website

Tie in with Crown’s plans:

National publicity

National review and feature attention

National/regional NPR campaign

Praise for The Book of Dreams:

“An effective exploration of connections that transcend physical boundaries…a poignant story about longing, nostalgia, and the pain of missed opportunities.”—Kirkus Reviews

“An empathetic and emotionally stunning novel. Never preachy or maudlin, this deep dive into some of life’s most haunting questions will appeal to fans of Isabel Allende and Mary Simses.”—Booklist

“Captivating… This exploration of unfinished relationships has a haunting, evocative quality, and is a perfect, conversation-starting selection for book groups.”—Publishers Weekly


Praise for The Little Paris Bookshop
 
New York Times Bestseller
 
“If you’re looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel…Everything happens just as you want it to…from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure.” —Oprah.com

“The settings are ideal for a summer-romance read…Who can resist floating on a barge through France surrounded by books, wine, love, and great conversation?” —Christian Science Monitor

“[A] bona fide international hit.” —New York Times Book Review

“A story that reflects all the romance and sweetness of Paris itself.” —San Francisco Book Review

“The Little Paris Bookshop is an enchantment…the next best thing to booking a trip to France.” —Sarah Pekkanen, author of Catching Air

of 75

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.