Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2019 Fiction: Mystery & Detective, Thrillers

more
  • Other Formats

    9781524743895 Paperback / softback, Trade, , $23 CAD 9781984841865 Downloadable audio file, $27 CAD 9781524743901 Electronic book text, EPUB
  • Sales Rights

    For sale with exclusive rights in: AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
  • Supply Detail

    Distributor: Penguin Random House Availability: Available On Sale Date:Apr 09, 2019 Carton Quantity:12
  • Catalogues

Confessions of an Innocent Man
A Novel
By (author): David R. Dow
9781524743888 Hardcover English General Trade FICTION / Thrillers / Crime Apr 09, 2019
$36.00 CAD
Active 6.26 x 9.32 x 0.99 in | 1.08 lb 304 pages Dutton
A thrillingly suspensful debut novel, and a fierce howl of rage that questions the true meaning of justice.

Rafael Zhettah is a guilty man: He betrayed his wife and has taken two people prisoner, executing an extraordinary and calculated act of revenge. Rafael Zhettah is an innocent man: He has been wrongly imprisoned for the crime that has destroyed his life, the murder of his beloved wife.

When a universally admired Austin billionaire, a dedicated humanitarian and patron of the arts, is found bludgeoned in her home, her husband Rafael, fifteen years her junior, the son of poor Mexican immigrants, a cook, is the obvious and only suspect. He is tried, convicted, and sentenced to death; sent to death row where monsters like him belong. The only problem: He’s completely innocent. Six years pass, when overlooked DNA evidence saves him from execution at the eleventh hour. He vows to use his regained freedom to take revenge on the people and the system that stole years of his life.

This is a heart stoppingly suspenseful, devastating, page-turning debut novel. A thriller with a relentless grip that wants you to read it in one sitting. David Dow has dedicated his life to the fight against the death penalty, to right the horrific injustices of the death penalty regime in Texas. He delivers the perfect modern parable for exploring our complex, uneasy relationships with punishment and reparation in a horrifically unjust world.

DEBUT FICTION: Dow is the author of several critically acclaimed works of nonfiction on the death penalty, and death row inmates. This is his first novel.

CRITICAL ACCLAIM: Dow’s book The Autobiography of an Execution was an NBCC finalist and won the B&N Discover Prize for nonfiction.

20 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE: Dow has been at the forefront of the fight against the death penalty for twenty years; this book rings with authentic anger from his personal experience.

RELEVANT ISSUE: This stands to become an essential work, tackling a tough social issue with grace and expertise.

David R. Dow is the Cullen Professor at the University of Houston Law Center, and the Rorschach Visiting Professor of History at Rice University. A graduate of Rice and Yale, Dow’s areas of expertise include constitutional law and theory, contract law, and death penalty law. Working with students in his death penalty clinic, Dow has represented over 100 death row inmates during their state and federal appeals. He is also the founder and director of the Texas Innocence Network.

He lives in Houston and Park City, Utah, with his wife Katya, their son Lincoln, and their dogs Delano and Soul.

Author Residence: Houston, TX; Park City, UT

Marketing: National print and online features and reviews

20-city radio satellite tour

Author op-eds

Tie-in to author speaking events

Online and social media promotion

Academic Marketing

Twitter.com/DrDow



Author Social Media: twitter.com/drdow

Praise for Confessions of an Innocent Man

"Best Mystery Books of 2019"The Wall Street Journal

“Every person wrongfully convicted of a crime at some point dreams of getting revenge against the system. In Confessions of an Innocent Man, the dream comes true and in a spectacular way. As I zipped through the pages, I kept thinking, ‘This book is too thin. I want more.’ ”—John Grisham, New York Times bestselling author of The Reckoning

“Mr. Dow [is] a born writer if ever there was one.”The Wall Street Journal

“Suppose you were arrested, tried, and sentenced to die for a murder you didn’t commit, then vindicated and freed at the last possible minute. What would you do? Would you try to go back to the old life you’d nearly lost? Or would you punish those who’d stolen it from you? In Confessions of an Innocent Man, David R. Dow, who knows more about death row than any other person who’s never lived there, puts you in the place of a victim of the system whose soul has been shriveled by rage, then invites you to take a look in the mirror. The result is a terrifying modern-day revenger’s tale, one whose furious, irresistible momentum will sweep you up—and make you think.”Terry Teachout, drama critic for The Wall Street Journal

“An impressive fiction debut....The plot is a page-turner, and the addition of Dow’s knowledge of the legal machinery of death and his nuanced characterization of his lead elevate this above similarly themed legal thrillers.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[Confessions of an Innocent Man] explores wrongful convictions, the death penalty and appeals process, life on death row, and exoneration. It’s also about duplicity—the honest and hardworking man becoming a criminal only after a wrongful conviction; a legal system that seems too often to pit police, prosecutors, and judges against the truth—and features an ingenious, well-planned, and perfectly executed revenge. This fast-paced legal thriller powerfully captures themes of love, surrender, despair, and vengeance. It will appeal to fans of Phillip Margolin and George Pelecanos, and pair nicely with Anthony Ray Hinton’s memoir The Sun Does Shine.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“A debut novel that's a page-turner with a message....[Dow’s] criminal justice work is a clear influence on this novel, and his passion bleeds through on every page. The claustrophobic nature of prisons, the routine cruelty, the anonymous suffering, the decrepit conditions—they all come through in straightforward, well-written prose. . . . A solidly suspenseful novel.”Kirkus Reviews

“This thought-provoking debut...[an] absorbing tale of misfortune takes readers inside the mind of a good man who’s desperate to prove his innocence as well as inside the world of a maximum-security prison and the horror that is death row. . . . The questions of who gets justice and why court procedure seems to take such precedence over individual lives will stay with readers after the satisfying ending to this surprising read.”—Booklist

“A powerful, thought-provoking debut thriller that’s not to be missed...Taking readers inside [his protagonist] Rafael mindset, Dow projects his anguish and pain, prompting an emotional response from readers who, with every page, will find themselves holding their breath as he sets out to right wrongs in his own way, cheering him on as he goes. The characters are well-developed, the pacing is fast, and the story is absolutely stunning. Confessions of an Innocent Man is a red-hot debut that falls somewhere between a work of psychological suspense and a legal thriller, and should attract fans of both.”—The Real Book Spy on Crime Reads

of 158

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.