Add Best Comp

Add comparable title

Remove comparable title

April 2019 Fiction: Romance

more
BRANCH AVENUE BOYS, THE 2
Know Your Place
By (author): Shelly Ellis
9781496718976 Paperback, Trade English General Trade FICTION / African American / Women Apr 30, 2019
$21.95 CAD
Active 5.44 x 8.24 x 0.76 in 304 pages Kensington Dafina
Success didn’t come easy for three best friends from the streets. And now dangerous choices and reckless desire will push their bond to lethal limits…
 
A stint at the Branch Avenue Boys’ Youth Institute taught Ricky, Derrick, and Jamal to unite when the going got tough. But fallout from their very different adult lives is making loyalty something they can’t afford—and igniting drama they never saw coming…
 
Arrested during a city-wide raid, Ricky must inform on D.C’s drug king pin, Dolla Dolla—and find the woman who loved and betrayed him. But revenge is a slippery slope that’s putting a target on his back…
 
Institute head Derrick hopes reuniting with his fiancée will keep his secret affair with a colleague in the past. Unfortunately, one of his students is hiding Dolla Dolla’s major stash—and Derrick’s attempt to do the right thing will have shattering consequences…
 
Jamal’s backroom deal with D.C.’s corrupt mayor is giving him everything he thought he wanted: money, power, and women. But murder and the unexpected return of the woman he’s always loved is getting him in way over his head. His attempts to manage the damage will put him and his friends at killer odds to be the last man standing…
 
“Ellis makes a promising start in her new Branch Avenue Boys series, which expertly melds elements of gritty urban fiction with contemporary multicultural romance and tells a captivating tale from three different perspectives…Corruption, greed, lust, and betrayal set the stage for this edgy, romantic, diverse series, which is sure to please fans of De’Nesha Diamond and Victoria Christopher Murray.”
—Booklist

Story Locale: major city

Focusing on three men on the come up, Know Your Place will appeal to fans of Power and Empire, capitalizing on fan-interest in anti-heroes.

Another Woman’s Man was nominated for a NAACP Image Award in 2014.

The Best She Ever Had was nominated for a 2015 RT Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Multicultural Romance.

Can’t Stand the Heat, the first book in the Gibbons Gold Diggers series, received a Starred Review from Publishers Weekly.

Shelly Ellis was featured on USAToday.com’s Happily Ever After blog and has been asked to contribute material to RT Book Reviews magazine.

Shelly Ellis is an award-winning journalist who earned her journalism degree at the University of Maryland, College Park. Her novel, Another Woman’s Man, was nominated for a 2014 NAACP Image Award. The romance and women’s fiction author is also a film buff and amateur painter. She lives in Upper Marlboro, Maryland, not far from Washington, D.C., with her husband. Visit her online at www.shellyellisbooks.com.

Author Residence: Upper Marlboro, MD

Marketing: Advance reading copies

Print and online advertising

Publicity outreach for reviews, roundups, and feature coverage

Sophisticate’s Black Hair Dafina Reads Bookclub Pick

Cafe Mocha Radio Partnership

Early reviewer promotions through Goodreads and NetGalley

Social media campaign including advertising, giveaways, and promotions

Praise for Shelly Ellis

“Secrets abound in this full-bodied tale.” - USAToday.com on Best Kept Secrets

“Sizzling chemistry ignites between the main characters, developing from a slow simmer as anticipation and plot build to a full rolling boil. The book features sparkling dialogue, delicious romance, and a masterfully constructed story with a strong, well-developed cast of characters whose varying viewpoints provide depth and layering.” - Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW for Can’t Stand the Heat

“Soap opera fans will love this solid work by an author who continues to shine.”- Library Journal on Bed of Lies

of 35

Register

Step 1 of 2

Thanks for signing up! Please tell us a little about yourself.
* Indicates required field




Step 2 of 2

Forgotten Password

Please enter your email address and click submit. An email with instructions on resetting your password will be sent to you.

Forgotten Password

An email has been sent out with instructions for resetting your password.